We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb. Didn't want to leave.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Baker Creek Mountain Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
178 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Superb. Didn't want to leave.”
Reviewed June 6, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 4 nights in May along with our two sons aged 6 and 9. The closeness to nature and room to explore was ideal for us all. Was quiet yet only 15mins from lake Louise itself. We went skiing and did the Banff and Glacier tourist items.

Everyone was so friendly and the restaurant offers good food at a sensible price so we ate there twice during our stay.

We were even lucky enough to see a Grizzly and Black bear on our last day.

A truly memorable stay - thank you!! We will definitely be back.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Kev-B-Lin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

713 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    512
    152
    32
    10
    7
See reviews for
190
370
11
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
King City, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2014

Spent 2 nights in a 2 bedroom Cabin at this resort May 31 and June 1 (my second stay in 10 years) and was once again very happy with my stay.
Management is so friendly and helpful.
The Cabin had a great wood burning fireplace, small kitchen and a great porch to relax and view the mountains, nearby creek and trains ramble by.
The beds were comfortable as were the coaches and rocking chair. The unit was clean and well appointed.
My favourite touch were the numerous wooden swings placed around the property, classics!

We ate at the onsite eatery and found the food acceptable, with good local draft beer on tap.

This place is set back far enough from the road so as not to hear any traffic and I liked the policy of not allowing cars to be parked near the cabins as I dislike the sounds of car doors opening and closing in the morning while I am still sleeping. Drive up, unload your car and then park out near the road. Great idea.
I will definitely stay here again.
The Spa in the main building is closed in the summer months, that would be my only complaint.

Room Tip: Enjoy the outside fire pits to meet fellow travelers in the evening while have a glass of wine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NobletonCows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2014

We coudn't have chosen a better place for our honeymoon!
Baker Creek Resort is just perfect for all kinds of travellers. The place is incredibly clean, confortable, the chalets in the middle of the forest and close to the creek are just beautiful.
The staff is so friendly, they make you feel as you are part of the family. Jam and Heather made our honeymoon stay just perfect and we are so looking forward to come back next year.

Room Tip: Be aware of the bears =) You don't have to go far to see lots of wild life.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Camiranda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North West
Level Contributor
68 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2014

Driving from Calgary to Jasper early May took us through some of the worst snow falls for years in the first week of May. After driving through a white out for a couple of hours we were more than happy to see the Baker Creek Chalets appear through the snow. The weather certainly made the site like a Christmas postcard and the welcome and check in was laid back and easy despite the weather. Our room was in one of the lodges with a jacuzzi bath (way OTT but different!) a gas log fire and lots of space all round - very cosy with lovely views out into the snow. We took a short trip to Lake Louise dodging fallen tress on the road and got back to Baker Creek to find the power off due to snow taking down trees and power lines. The staff had a generator to keep water running but we had no power for around 12 hours afternoon onwards. Candles appeared when it went dark from reception. We were concerned we would get very cold but the insulation on the wood buildings must have been excellent and we managed well without heat (the gas fire had electric gas valves) until 4 in the morning. The small bistro on site managed to provide a basic dinner menu without power and recovered well enough to find us breakfast the next day after the trauma of the power cut although I'm told they normally only do an evening meal. The food turnedout to be OK on the next evening we were there.
Overall a memorable stay for us in the snow we didn't expect!. I'm sure in good weather it's a lovely site in quite deep woodland but outside of the room, facilities are limited and Lake Louise is basically one hotel and a few shops so don't rely on that for much. Baker Chalets fitted well with the flavour of the drive up the east of the Rockies - in the woods, timber built and quite remote so we enjoyed the stay but be prepared for not much apart from the accommodation. Overall standards were OK and the limited staff coped well with basic needs. I'd recommend the place but be aware of what it is - a group of timber chalets and lodges in the woods 15 minutes drive from anywhere - oops forget there is a rail line along the back which has a typical slow Canadian freight train occasionally - didn't bother us but could be heard. It's a place you'll remember!

Room Tip: You have a choice between an individual lodge and a room in a chalet. Lodges probably better for big...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dashwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waalwijk, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
241 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here in September for 3 nights. It is not cheap but it is really worth it. We really felt secluded from the hustle and bustle of Banff and Lake Louise. We really enjoyed the jaccuzi, we used it every night ;-). We only had breakfast once but it was overpriced. Banff NP is a place of overwhelming beauty but the crowds were generally thicker than in other parks in BC and Alberta. We saw almost no wildlife here. To see bears etc you can better go to Jasper or Vancouver Island.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Erik M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
Reviewed May 31, 2014

My husband and I celebrated our one year anniversary there last weekend. We stayed in the Trapper's cabin...wood burning fireplace, double jacuzzi..wish I was there still! It was clean, cozy, romantic...and you can't beat the scenery of the mountains. We loved how there were no televisions and I was happy to get no cell service as well! The staff were very friendly and the restaurant was quite tasty!! Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrslaukinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
145 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2014

My wife and I had booked into Baker Creek Chalets/Bistro for a romantic birthday celebration this past weekend. We had a wonderful time relaxing and reading in and around Chalet #1 – which is a cute and quaint 1 bedroom loft (definitely book the Chalets on the creek side # 1 - #4). Unfortunately the hiking trails were still fairly snow covered so we couldn’t go hiking. We even had a Fondue party the Saturday evening with friends from Canmore and Lake Louise.

The dinner at the Bistro was fantastic and service professional (thank you Sydney and to the new girl – sorry never got her name). The dinner portions were surprisingly big with many Gluten Free and Vegan option. The only criticisms related to the breakfasts (we opted for the Bed and Breakfast special which was good value as you get to choose from about 95% of the items on the menu with only a slight up charge for the items that are not included with the B & B special), the portions were NOT as generous as the dinner portions (could have included some toast with some of the menu items, i.e., Temple Mtn Hash, and hash browns with the Huevos Rancheros – both were still very good by the way), also, the food wasn’t as warm as it could have been – but not enough to give a bad review…

Over all, The Baker Creek Chalets & Bistro was a fantastic weekend away, with warm, friendly and helpful staff. We will definitely book again, next time in the winter so we can get some great ski touring & Xc skiing in and retire in a cozy chalet.

Room Tip: Book a creekside chalet #1 - #4.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1_4_adventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Louise hotels
7.0 mi away
Mountaineer Lodge
Mountaineer Lodge
#4 of 5 in Lake Louise
1,237 reviews
7.7 mi away
Deer Lodge
Deer Lodge
#5 of 5 in Lake Louise
1,535 reviews
8.0 mi away
Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Lake Louise Inn
Lake Louise Inn
#3 of 5 in Lake Louise
2,292 reviews
7.2 mi away
Paradise Lodge & Bungalows
Paradise Lodge & Bungalows
#1 of 10 in Lake Louise
680 reviews
5.1 mi away
Moraine Lake Lodge
Moraine Lake Lodge
#2 of 10 in Lake Louise
696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baker Creek Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baker Creek Mountain Resort

Property: Baker Creek Mountain Resort
Address: Bow Valley Parkway, Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta T0L 1E0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Lake Louise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Lake Louise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Baker Creek Mountain Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Baker Creek Mountain Resort is the best kept secret in the Canadian Rockies. Our Cabins/Chalets are located along the scenic Bow Valley Parkway, a stretch of mountain road that connects Banff and Lake Louise. "A little harder to find.....but the better places usually are." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Baker Creek Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baker Creek Chalets Hotel Lake Louise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing