We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Cabins”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Baker Creek Mountain Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

Just spent two nights at Baker Creek Chalets. The cabin was adorable and decorated like Ralph Lauren western. The cabin was spotless and had everything we needed including a microwave, refridgerator, and coffee pot. After reading the other reviews, it's true the train tracks are close and at times loud, especially at night with the windows open. The entire area began to be developed over 130 years ago thanks to the Canadian Pacific Railroad and their presence is still here. It's just a fact and while floating on the river or hiking, you most likely will hear or see a train. We enjoyed our stay and would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mamagirl31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (907)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

537 - 543 of 907 reviews

Reviewed August 25, 2013

We thought we had booked a place closer to Lake Louise (the lake, not the town) and were a bit disappointed at first to learn it was about 15 km away, right off of Highway A-1. However, after visiting Lake Louise, we were absolutely delighted to be in this secluded and quiet lodge on a rushing creek, away from all the tourists. The staff was most friendly and helpful, our room (#33) was amazing (we had all the amenities we need to enjoy the outdoors with two outside decks, a comfortable living room, two bedrooms, two bathrooms and a nicely equipped kitchenette). The grounds were absolutely beautiful with places to sit and enjoy the creek and/or enjoy a fire in the fire pit. We felt like we had hit the jackpot at places to stay! The only downer was that the internet was almost non existent. We went into town every day to the International Hostel and paid $5 for 24 hours. It was well worth it. We have stayed at many places throughout our travels and Baker Creek Mountain Resort was one of the best!

Room Tip: Room 33 is right next to the creek and you can listen to the water all night as you sleep. Was awes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BarDen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

We spent 4 days here in August, 2013.

The cabins are wonderful - small and cozy, but big enough that you feel you can stretch out in them too. The beds are good - although the twin beds in the loft are a bit hard for an adult to get comfortable in them.

There are a few trails that start across the highway, but they aren't terribly well documented. Most trailheads are a 10-15 km drive to reach. (But, it's darn nice to be able to hit the trailhead by 9AM and be coming off the trail when most people are just getting started)

The Bistro / Cafe on site is decent - at least for breakfasts and lunches. The food is good, and the prices aren't too bad for the breakfast/lunch hours. The dinner menu, while good felt a little overpriced. If you're going to drop over $50/person on dinner, there are better options in Lake Louise - which is only 15 minutes up the highway. (The food is good, we just felt that it was somewhat overpriced on the dinner menu)

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michelle_GS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We only stayed here one night while passing through to BC but we wished we would have spent a few days here.
There is a small creek along the side of the resort and there are lots of places to hike around.
There is a shared firepit area that we spent some time at and we met some very nice people who were also staying there.
The restaurant at the hotel is wonderful and we all had a great meal. You need to make reservations as it is very busy and people come from Lake Louise to eat there.
All in all this is a great place to stay and we will stay here again in the future.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank ParsonsFamily5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Baker Creek Chalets are a wonderful Rocky Mountain experience. They are located on the Bow Valley Parkway just a few kilometres from Lake Louise Village and Ski Resort. the beds, decor and extras are done with care and style. They are so roomy and comfortable. the grounds are well maintained and near the bubbling creek where fire pits are available and swings to enjoy the views and peacefulness of the surroundings. the Baker Creek Bistro is a great place to eat and features fine dining at it's best. this property is well priced for the excellent value that the guest receives. We go back often to savour it's rustic hospitality. A real gem of the. Rockies.

Room Tip: request the private cabins by the creek. The lodge rooms are also great if cabins unavailable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JeanineCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Forget the price, sometimes you simply want to see how to live your life, this is it. Marvellous cabins, professionally outfitted to make you feel as if you've been a bear trapper all your life. The multiple little touches constantly catch your eye and impress. The whole site is a work of art and blends into the mountains to give a cabin fervour to your whole day. The staff are friendly, helpful yet not imposing. You feel utterly in control of your time there but with the reassurance of high quality accommodation which is simply better than all the rest. An amazing chalet on the old parkway 10 minutes from Lake Louise right on the Bow Valley River. The 2 night we stayed here with our 3 kids will not be forgotten and will be hard to match, ever. Do not miss it.

Room Tip: Request a loft room with a ladder, the kids (and parents!) love it. Book early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Family W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We spent 2nights here recently in Jacuzzi suite #24. The room/suite was very clean, tastefully decorated in the rustic log cabin theme. Well equipped with things such as a microwave, kettle, coffee maker, fridge & crockery.
All the staff we met we're very friendly and they added to the casual mountain mood of this beautiful resort.
The only reason I don't give Baker Creek Resort 5 stars is because of the noise from the trains..one night there were 6 that passed by .Although we didn't mind the noise at all, others might not be too happy with the roar of trains in the early hrs of the morning.
Don't stay in what can be too busy Lake Louise or Banff..try Baker Creek Resort!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sunlover57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Louise
7 mi away
Mountaineer Lodge
Mountaineer Lodge
#4 of 5 in Lake Louise
1,442 reviews
24.5 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
7.7 mi away
Deer Lodge
Deer Lodge
#5 of 5 in Lake Louise
1,765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8 mi away
Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
7.4 mi away
Lake Louise Inn
Lake Louise Inn
#3 of 5 in Lake Louise
3,122 reviews
7.2 mi away
Paradise Lodge & Bungalows
Paradise Lodge & Bungalows
#1 of 10 in Lake Louise
759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baker Creek Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baker Creek Mountain Resort

Address: Bow Valley Parkway, Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta T0L 1E0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Lake Louise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Lake Louise
Price Range: $125 - $345 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Baker Creek Mountain Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Baker Creek Mountain Resort is the best kept secret in the Canadian Rockies. Our Cabins/Chalets are located along the scenic Bow Valley Parkway, a stretch of mountain road that connects Banff and Lake Louise. "A little harder to find.....but the better places usually are." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Baker Creek Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baker Creek Chalets Hotel Lake Louise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing