We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a nice place to stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Baker Creek Mountain Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Baker Creek Mountain Resort. What a hidden treasure it was.
In the middle of the woods this lovely resort has a number of cabins but there are rooms in the lodge as well. All of it well kept and looked after.
At the entrance of the complex there are some wooden red top buildings which are the reception, the bistro (a restaurant and a bar) and the lodges.
There is an ice skating rink too and of course the parking because you can’t park by the cabins but you can get there to unload your car.

The staff (that we wittnessed are mainly foreign but speak very good English) was good, quick and friendly. Not once we had to wait for the receptionist to appear from somewhere.
Snow shoes, ice skates, cross country ski’s and a guitar were available from the reception. From the premises you could follow some trails on snow shoes. Great fun!
The gym is unexpectedly large. Sauna and steamroom are very pleasant.

The cabin (No. 6) was rustic and well equipped, cosy and comfortable and with enough logs to keep the fire going. More wood could be bought.

Room 31 had a jacuzzi, shower, no bath. There was a small kitchenette with microwave and enough plates, cutlery etc. for 2 people. If you didn’t want to go out for dinner this would give you enough possibilities to prepare/heat up something in the room but I would suggest to at least eat once in the restaurant or the bar, we found it fantastic!.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Claudia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (901)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

571 - 577 of 901 reviews

Reviewed March 23, 2013

We chose to stay at Baker Creek cabins rather than in Banff because of other travellers reviews, and we weren't disappointed. Of all the places we stayed in 4 weeks there are only 3 we would return to and this would be one of them. The cabins were in a fantastic setting, they were cosy, yet roomy enough for us and our 2 boys. Staff were wonderfully friendly and the breakfast in the restaurant was a great start to our day. Inbetween Banff and Lake Louise, it was a perfect out-of-the-way location for some peace, but close enough to do all the things in those locations we wanted to see. In the end we didn't stay in Banff - the standard of accommodation there was lacking - Baker Creek Cabins were far superior to anything there (and we checked out many options!) The trains came by about 3 times a day - and they were one of the highlights - watching the long trains chuff through the snow was rather magical - rather romantic! The only thing that would add to the accommodation facilities wise, was a guest laundry. Trekking into Banff was a pain each day to get the washing done (an unfortunate must-do when you travel with kids) so it would be fantastic next time to have something at the cabins..... then we wouldn't have had to leave at all!! Thankyou for our stay - we wouldn't hesitate to return, and to recommend the cabins to other travellers. We wish we'd scheduled more time there.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SkyeGaff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Wonderful cabins in a quiet area away from the hustle and bustle of Banff, very comfortable rustic setting. Close to wonderful hiking, skiing, snow shoeing and cross country skiing. Highly recommended for out of province visitors.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Annette K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Have just returned from a weekend with my nieces and nephews in two cabins at Baker Creek. I had been to this place years ago and it was a delight to return. The cabins are comfortable, well cared for, and the fireplaces are a particular treat.

This is a wonderful family business and guests are made to feel like part of the family.

Izzy the house cat is on greeting duty.

The stars are spectacular and I hope to return again soon.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cjm562
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We stayed here for the second time for Valentines Day.

Our first stay (last year) was in a one bedroom cabin with a wood burning fireplace. It was beautiful, rustic, cozy and had a great little kitchen. We had an amazing Valentines dinner in their Bistro, we snowshoed the following morning and overall had a wonderful time.

This year, we stayed in a Trapper Cabin (thank you Baker Creek). The cabin was more than we expected. A jacuzzi tub, queen bed, wood burning fireplace, kitchenette, bathroom, dining area and two leather chairs in front of the fireplace.

The cabin is tastefully decorated and has a cozy rustic feel with modern amenities. There is a deck with a gas BBQ too.

This year we had the standard menu from the Bistro instead of their Valentines Day special as we stayed the night before Valentines Day (the staff did offer to do their special menu, but we thought we would try their standard). The meal was great and the wine was delicious.

During our stay, the staff were friendly, courteous and polite at all times.

Around the chalets you can snowshoe, cross country ski and skate on their frozen pond. Lake Louise ski area is a short drive away and Sunshine Village is very close too.

I would definitely recommend Baker Creek to anyone who is looking for an authentic experience in the Rockies. It is great for couples looking for a romantic retreat, however it is also great for families looking for a ski weekend without the tourist resort feel of Banff or Lake Louise. I live locally and the Rockies are beautiful in summer too. I would imagine a stay in the cabins during the summer is beautiful, picturesque and great for hikers and anyone looking for some time away.

We will be making this a part of our Valentines Day routine for years to come.

Thank you to all of the staff for making our trip memorable.

Room Tip: The one bedroom cabin is great for families with younger children. The Trapper Cabin is wonderful f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pamster200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

This place is terrific. It has really nice cottages. The rooms, kitchen, fireplace...everything was very nice. Its location is mind blowing. There is a river at the backside of the property, you can spend hours there. A train passes near the chalet few times a day. Lake louise is a short drive away. Will go back again. Had a wonderful time.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AbhijitRayNoida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

This place is really nice.. we visited in the winter just before Christmas and the view as well as the vistas were breath taking. The road to get there was well managed and we had no problem even when there was 120cm of snow around.
Yes as others mention there is a train that runs close-by, but my wife and I found this to be no problem and not disturbing at all.. as a matter of fact the lonely train whistle in the distance was rather nice.
Breakfast was also very good.

there is only 2 things that we were not completely satisfied with… the wifi is free but it is via satellite (nothing the resort can do about that due to it's location) so that means during certain times when 1 or more persons were on-line.. the connection resemble that of 1980's dial up speed.. LOL
also.. the restaurant for dinner were occasionally very non flexible, not allowing us to have the pub menu in the restaurant even though the pub (where we wanted to be ) was full of non revenue patrons.. (people with more than enough kids) so there was no seats and absolutely no flexibility.
Would we stay again ??? of course with no question.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank B787skipper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Louise
7.0 mi away
Mountaineer Lodge
Mountaineer Lodge
#4 of 5 in Lake Louise
1,439 reviews
24.5 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
7.7 mi away
Deer Lodge
Deer Lodge
#5 of 5 in Lake Louise
1,761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
7.4 mi away
Lake Louise Inn
Lake Louise Inn
#3 of 5 in Lake Louise
3,110 reviews
7.2 mi away
Paradise Lodge & Bungalows
Paradise Lodge & Bungalows
#1 of 10 in Lake Louise
759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baker Creek Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baker Creek Mountain Resort

Address: Bow Valley Parkway, Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta T0L 1E0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Lake Louise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Lake Louise
Price Range: $126 - $336 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Baker Creek Mountain Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Baker Creek Mountain Resort is the best kept secret in the Canadian Rockies. Our Cabins/Chalets are located along the scenic Bow Valley Parkway, a stretch of mountain road that connects Banff and Lake Louise. "A little harder to find.....but the better places usually are." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Baker Creek Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baker Creek Chalets Hotel Lake Louise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing