We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful view, wonderful hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Lake Louise
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful view, wonderful hospitality”
Reviewed December 27, 2010

We came to Lake Louise for Christmas, and it may be the most magical place in the world for the most magical holiday of the year! We had a lakeview room and were extremely reluctant to ever close the curtains. The view was magnificent -- a wall of glacier-covered mountain peaks enclosing the lake. With the light on the mountains constantly changing, it's hard to get tired of a sight like that. The large ice sculpture of the hotel and the hotel guests ice skating on the lake made it even more picturesque. All day on Christmas there were horse-drawn sleighs pulling up in front of the lake to unload one group of passengers and take on another group. It was all right out of a Christmas card.

The hotel is a lovely property, and when it's all decked out for Christmas, it positively glistens. The staff could not have been more wonderful; even though they were working on Christmas Eve and Christmas Day, rather than enjoying those times with their own families, they were cheerful and helpful. On Christmas Eve there was a visit from Santa Claus in the lobby, then a complimentary reception with cocktails and hors d'oeuvres (the mini bison pot pies were outstanding), then caroling.

Guests tended to be happy and pleasant as well. There were lots of families with children decked out in their holiday best and on their best Santa-is-coming behavior. Fairmont is pet friendly, so everywhere we looked there were doggies dressed up in Christmas bows or vests.

We ate Christmas Eve dinner in the Fairview Dining Room. In retrospect, that might have been a mistake. The food was fancy and chef-y, but not necessarily more tasty than more ordinary dinners. Moreover, you pay for the fussy presentation, both in money and in time. Our three-course dinner lasted two and a quarter hours, and not because we ate slowly. The wait between courses was way too long -- 45 minutes between the main course and dessert, for instance. While that's acceptable if you're ordering souffle or if you've asked for something special, it's way too long for regular menu dishes incorporating already-made mousse, shortbread and sorbet.

Overnight, Santa came for everyone -- when we got up on Christmas Day, we found the hotel had hung a stocking on the door of each guest room. Ours included two tangerines, some cookies, a piece of stollen, two candy canes, a deck of playing cards, a slinky, and a card featuring a view of the hotel.

We had the hotel's regular breakfast buffet, then tea in the Fairview Dining Room for lunch. For Christmas dinner we had fondue in the Walliser Stube, a much better experience than the previous night's dinner in the Fairview Dining Room. The thin slices of beef and bison from the meat portion of our dinner were tender and tasty, the cheese fondue was delicious, and we were only sorry we didn't have enough room to eat every last bit of the beautiful chocolate fondue.

Hardly any hotel chain tops Fairmont for making guests feel welcome, and this was a splendid visit. Having discovered it, we can hardly wait for our next Christmas there.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dunwoody_Granny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,956 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,786
    1,300
    520
    244
    106
See reviews for
1,501
3,037
166
291
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,915)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
204 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2010

So if you tell someone in the know that you visited Lake Louise, they will typically tell you to "make sure you visit the Chateau Lake Louise..." or something to that effect. Better yet, why not stay there? Well, yes, it is expensive, but it is a worthy splurge.

I stayed there with my wife and 20-year-old son during early ski season. We used a President's Club coupon to upgrade our room to a suite, then asked for a lake view one bedroom suite (larger and more expensive), which they accommodated based on availability on check-in. Regardless, join President's Club if you are ever staying at a Fairmont to at least get the free Internet access, as well as several excellent coupons.

The suite was quite large (corner of the Glacier Wing of the hotel, left side facing Lake Louise) with an excellent view. Note that there are four different wings to the hotel. The Paynter Wing is the center of the hotel and how houses the common areas such as restaurants and some conference rooms. Barrett Wing has the oldest hotel rooms and was reconstructed in 1925 when the original Rattenbury building burned. It is located to the right as you face the lake and has the uneven floors that are characteristic of Fairmont's collection of old classic hotels. The Glacier Wing (where we stayed) was built in 1987 and the Mount Temple Wing (with no views of Lake Louise, only terretorial views) was built in 2004. See our attached pics for a view of the one-bedroom suite as well as some views out the windows.

The Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise is quite large and looks surprisingly modern for a classic hotel. The original chalet was built in 1890, but due to a series of fires and reconstruction, what remains looks rather current. It has a beautiful location, perhaps one of the best in the world (if you like alpine lakes). Victoria Glacier is 10KM/6 miles from the hotel and easily visible.

There is a very nice pool, jacuzzi (quite large), steam room and exercise facility in the hotel. Parking is $25 a day to self-park. The only downside to self-parking is that they make you enter one level above the lobby, while the valet parking is at the lobby level in the garage, which is a flaw in my book--why not have the valets go up and down the flight of stairs rather than the hotel guests?

Overall, an excellent stay and enjoyed by everyone in our party. Definitely a memory maker.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jonvilliers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2010

We went here for our honeymoon instead of Costa Rica, our original choice. It was incredible. We had a suite with a sitting area facing out to the lake and the glacier. Every single person there knew us by name. The drive there from the Calgary Airport is breathtaking. Really the only negative is getting charged by the Banff National Park just to get to the hotel. But we're not opposed to contributing to this amazing part of Canada. Restaurants are great. Clearly it's not a place you stay if you're looking for "value". But if you want gorgeous views, impeccable service and an incredible hotel experience, this is it.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TxGrlOutDoors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2010

Hotel is up market, well run and staff fantastic, rooms a little small and dated but view over lake has a WOW factor. We were there in winter, close to ski fields, skating, walks on edge of lake, close to some amazing areas like Jasper national park and Banff national park, just awesome!

Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MadaBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macomb, Illinois
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2010

My husband and I stayed for three nights at the hotel. It was a memorable and wonderful stay as we were celebrating our 25th wedding anniversary. When we walked into our room, there was a bottle of champagne and a note from the Hotel Manager congratulating us and thanking us for celebrating our anniversary at Lake Louise. This was a special touch and that in addition to the view was literally breathtaking and made our stay so special. The staff was wonderful and accommodated us for dinner despite the time and were helpful at every turn regarding information. The trails from the hotel are spectacular and are not to be missed. We had a grand time here and wouldn't hesitate to return!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SuzTim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly Hills, California
1 review
Reviewed November 23, 2010

We love this hotel-- I took the family out to Banff and Lake Louise. The hotel is beautiful, and it's so wonderful with the convenience of the pool and is directly in town within walking distance of everything-- shops, restaurants, and a beautiful view. In July, it's still quite cool, and so we had to have jackets during the day. Beautiful scenery of the lake and you can rock climb as well.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ernern2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peace River
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2010

Booked this hotel on a buy two nights get one free and was a very nice way to get a good deal. This is a very classy hotel and is as close as you will get to old world class. The service is awesome. The Walliser is great. Room service is a good deal. You really have to think about where you are staying to appreciate the price. Will stay here again for sure if we get a good deal. The one bedrooms are beautiful. Never would have guessed we would have go this for the price.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MRSJAD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Louise hotels
1.8 mi away
Mountaineer Lodge
Mountaineer Lodge
#4 of 5 in Lake Louise
1,237 reviews
0.3 mi away
Deer Lodge
Deer Lodge
#5 of 5 in Lake Louise
1,535 reviews
1.7 mi away
Lake Louise Inn
Lake Louise Inn
#3 of 5 in Lake Louise
2,292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Baker Creek Mountain Resort
Baker Creek Mountain Resort
#3 of 10 in Lake Louise
712 reviews
0.9 mi away
Paradise Lodge & Bungalows
Paradise Lodge & Bungalows
#1 of 10 in Lake Louise
680 reviews
6.4 mi away
Moraine Lake Lodge
Moraine Lake Lodge
#2 of 10 in Lake Louise
696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise

Property: Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
Address: 111 Lake Louise Drive, Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta T0L 1E0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Lake Louise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Lake Louise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise 4*
Number of rooms: 550
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by some of the most breathtaking scenery in the world, the iconic Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise resort is nestled deep within Banff National Park, a UNESCO World Heritage Site. Enveloped by soaring mountain peaks, the majestic Victoria Glacier and a glistening emerald lake, the natural beauty of this destination permeates every nook of the historic resort - originally built as a base for outdoor enthusiasts and alpinists. The Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise is a year-round luxury resort which specializes in offering extensive Guided Mountain Heritage programs, unparalleled skiing in the winter, exceptional food and beverage experiences and a new spa, The Spa at the Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fairmont Hotels, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Jetsetter, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise Hotel Lake Louise
Chateau Lake Louise
Fairmont Lake Louise
Lake Louise Fairmont
Fairmont Hotel Lake Louise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing