We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay in Lake Louise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Lake Louise
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed July 6, 2014

The hotel is expensive but it makes you feel really staying in Lake Louise - a lovely and beautiful place. Service was good. Most staff were very friendly. Good food served in restaurants. Room is not big having regard to the price. I experienced difficulties in adjusting room temperature and found it a bid too warm in a Summer stay. The problem was solved by opening the window, and it remained quiet.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts
Thank Sung Hau W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FCLL, Manager at Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2014

Hello Sung Hau W,

Thank you for sharing your comments with us! I am please to hear that you enjoyed your time in Lake Louise and that our staff had provided friendly service!

Should you have further comments or inquiries please feel free to email us at chateaulakelouise@fairmont.com.

On behalf of the team at The Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (6,961)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,174 - 4,180 of 6,961 reviews

Reviewed July 6, 2014

We had an awesome trip in Banff / Lake Louise, but i would not put the Chateau as a contributing factor in that comment. Put aside the price, since we are fine paying for a good time, but the value wasnt there. We had a room for 559 a night (one night free plus credit for use on-site). The room was small (as expected), but suprisingly hot with no ac and no way to fully open window and no window fan (really?). Further the hotel and common areas were too croweded, making it a hassle to pop in for a quick drink or ask a question. The restaurant food was bland and expensive and service was slow. The conceirge people were awesome, freindly and insightful - helped us book great excustions. At the end, i would pass. I don;t mind paying for a 5 stay hotel / experience, but this one was a three.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kpconno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FCLL, Manager at Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2014

Hi kpconno,

Thank you for sharing your experience and taking the time to write a review. I am disappointed to hear that your stay with us what not what you had hoped for. I will be sure to share your comments with our teams within the hotel to help improve upon our guest experience here at The Chateau.

This summer we are offering priority guest access to activities, such as the boat house for canoeing adventures. We also off the exclusive Mountain Adventure Program that allows our guests the ability to tailor an activity away from the hotel area.

Should you have further comments or inquiries please feel free to contact us at chateaulakelouise@fairmont.com.

On behalf of the General Manager
The Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2014

This is an iconic property in an amazing setting which has got a little complacent. The biggest beef were the lifts which were either not working or very slow which is a major issue given the number of punters it handles. Room and food were reasonable but it did not have the same class as Banff and at the risk as sounding like a snob, it attracts a more downmarket noisy and running around screaming type of person. Better than the YMCA but relying on its position and its relative isolation rather than the standards expected in a Fairmont property.

Room Tip: Amazing views and the village is a CAD 10 per person cab ride away (one way) so your stuck there. Ta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thegrayghost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FCLL, Manager at Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2014

Hello thegrayghost,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I am disappointed to hear that your experience to Lake Louise was not what you had hoped for. I certainly understand the comments you have made and will be sure to share your feedback with our teams in the hotel.

Please know that we are always looking for better ways to improve our guest experience throughout their stay. One of the ways we do so is by offering exclusive activities through our Mountain Adventure Program, which allows our guests to tailor a guided experience, be it a hike, canoe ride etc. away from the daily crowds.

Should you have any additional comments or inquires please do not hesitate to contact us at chateaulakelouise@fairmont.com.

On behalf of the General Manager,
The Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2014

Since we were on a tour, we only stayed at the Chateau overnight. But - I was there long enough to realize that the view from our window was one of the most beautiful on earth. The Fairmont is located so that you have that view from most vantage points. The hotel itself isn't bad, either. Our room, although older and not air conditioned, was spacious and well appointed, with a large marble bathroom. There are a wide variety of dining options, that are, as usual, overpriced but most have THE VIEW. The staff is efficient and very helpful and the hotel is just plain fun to roam around in. It's older and has that grand hotel feel. Don't forget to pat the yellow lab that lounges around waiting for attention.

If you can, take a walk around the lake and enjoy the scenery.

On the downside: unless you are driving, you will be virtually stranded at the hotel. There is no shuttle service and cab drivers are notorious pirates. Don't try to walk it, either. It's several miles of dangerous road. So, if you want fine dining, make your reservations well in advance of arrival and do make reservations for other restaurants as soon as you arrive. But, what the heck, you don't have to go anywhere. There's a lot of fun to be had at the Chateau and, as always, there's THE VIEW.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChollyBoombats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FCLL, Manager at Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2014

Hello ChollyBoombats,

Thank you for sharing your experience and feedback on our hotel! We certainly agree with you and think that we are lucky enough to have one of the nicest backyards in the world! You've pointed out some great features of our hotel including the countless dining options and our lobby ambassador Marcus.

In regards to transportation to the village, our guest services team, with some advanced notice, is always willing to provide a ride to guests looking to dine in the village. I apologize that you felt as if you could not explore the areas away from the hotel.

Should you have any additional comments or inquires please do not hesitate to contact us at chateaulakelouise@fairmont.com.

The Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2014

If you are in Lake Louise then you have to stay at the Chateau. Located in front of the famous Lake Louise this place is the ultimate in luxury accommodation. We were here during the Christmas/ NY's period and the atmosphere was amazing. We had a great room facing the mountains and the great lake. The rooms are comfortable and clean. It is kept warm during the winter periods and the bathroom is nice as well. Bathrobes and slippers keep you feeling special throughout your trip after a hot bath/ shower and sitting with a cup of coffee in your room looking at the frozen lake.

The restaurant also serves great food and drinks. Have to try Canadian Ice Wine as well to spoil yourself. If you happen to be there during the winter period then you need to get out there and ice skate on the lake. Then in the morning after breakfast stroll across on the lake from one end to another and take some memorable shots.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RegNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FCLL, Manager at Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2014

Hello RegNZ,

I am thrilled to hear that you got to experience Christmas and New Years in Lake Louise! Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback to others looking to stay throughout this time period. Ice skating is an absolute must for avid skaters or a great bucket list item for those who have never skated before.

Should you have any additional comments or inquires please do not hesitate to contact us at chateaulakelouise@fairmont.com.

On behalf of the General Manager,
The Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2014

We stayed at Palliser and Banff Fairmont Hotels and the Customer Service was exceptional so we expected the same treatment at Lake Louise but it was quite disappointing especially given the price. It took an hour to get our luggage to our room after checking in. Then later in the evening we went to the Gold Club Lounge for appetizers and the tables were not cleared and cleaned when people were finished. We had trouble finding an empty table that was cleaned. Then when we returned from dinner we stopped in Gold Lounge again (8:30 pm) for a small sweet bite and some citrus water and we asked the server if she thought she would be putting out some sweets and she said "she would get to it in a minute".

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2014

My fiance and I stayed at the Fairmont for four days and thought the property and staff were very lovely. We stayed on the "Fairmont Gold" floor (the 7th floor) and had wonderful views of the lake. The complimentary breakfast and the evening cocktail reception was quite good and the breakfast in particular powered us through the days of hiking. We didn't try all of the restaurants, although the sandwiches from the Deli were pretty good and the saloon was totally mediocre. I think I had read somewhere on the reviews that the Nespresso caplets were not replaced during the stay but we didn't find that at all. Again, I think you get a little extra TLC for the Fairmont Gold but we did find the hotel staff uniformly nice.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gracemoses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FCLL, Manager at Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience!

I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your time in Lake Louise and that your experience on Fairmont Gold was a pleasant one. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Warmest Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Louise
1.8 mi away
Mountaineer Lodge
Mountaineer Lodge
#4 of 5 in Lake Louise
1,458 reviews
0.3 mi away
Deer Lodge
Deer Lodge
#5 of 5 in Lake Louise
1,780 reviews
1.7 mi away
Lake Louise Inn
Lake Louise Inn
#3 of 5 in Lake Louise
3,244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8 mi away
Baker Creek Mountain Resort
Baker Creek Mountain Resort
#3 of 10 in Lake Louise
929 reviews
13.9 mi away
Emerald Lake Lodge
6.4 mi away
Moraine Lake Lodge
Moraine Lake Lodge
#1 of 10 in Lake Louise
790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise

Address: 111 Lake Louise Drive, Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta T0L 1E0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Lake Louise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Lake Louise
Price Range: $258 - $893 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise 4*
Number of rooms: 552
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by some of the most breathtaking scenery in the world, the iconic Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise resort is nestled deep within Banff National Park, a UNESCO World Heritage Site. Enveloped by soaring mountain peaks, the majestic Victoria Glacier and a glistening emerald lake, the natural beauty of this destination permeates every nook of the historic resort - originally built as a base for outdoor enthusiasts and alpinists. The Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise is a year-round luxury resort which specializes in offering extensive Guided Mountain Heritage programs, unparalleled skiing in the winter, exceptional food and beverage experiences and a new spa, The Spa at the Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Fairmont Hotels, HotelPower, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise Hotel Lake Louise
Chateau Lake Louise
Fairmont Lake Louise
Lake Louise Fairmont
Fairmont Hotel Lake Louise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing