We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel but one major problem!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Lake Louise
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Hotel but one major problem!”
Reviewed June 25, 2014

Fabulous location, great staff and facilities, but we had one huge problem during our stay - the room was at a constant 28 degrees the whole time. There are no cooling system in the rooms. We had our fan on and the window open the whole time we were there (it was about 1 degree overnight, 14 degrees during the day) and the room never cooled down. I can only imagine it was the hotel's central heating that was causing our room to be so hot as the thermostat was turned off. We reported it to Maintenance but they couldn't do anything about it apparently. It really ruined our experience there, as we could hardly sleep! Such a shame.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
6 Thank Amy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,922
    1,341
    539
    249
    107
See reviews for
1,534
3,168
172
297
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,974)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2014

A fairytale location.

Our room had the perfect view of the frozen lake surrounded by the magical mountains and clouds. The huge window helped us view natures spectacular masterpiece.
A perfect way to put your feet up and relax.
The staff was helpful in suggesting the food options since we are vegeterians.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adhvaryul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2014

We booked as individuals rather than as part of a tour group, at the Fairmont Chateau looking forward to kayaking on Lake Louise, followed by a relaxing steam in the spa, as promoted in the web pages of the chateau. Unfortunately, the web pages failed to let us know that the lake may be frozen at the end of May, despite kayaking being promoted as commencing from spring, and the spa was not available because it was being renovated. We were upgraded to the 7th floor club membership, which was actually essential to avoid overwhelming crowds in the main reception area. The seventh floor had a lounge with complimentary snacks and breakfast. Without this we would have been subjected to the crowded bus tour groups and queues, and long waits to get a table for breakfast. Not what you expect at a luxury hotel. However, the private concierge services promoted as part of the 7th floor club, were not as attentive as one would expect. And the lounge did not have a pleasant aspect. The toiletries and teas provided in room are excellent, our bathroom was lovely, the bedding excellent, and quality of furnishings very good, but the promised mountain view was a glimpse, and mostly we saw the car park. Restaurant service was terrible, with general staff seeming to be chatting to each other rather than focused on guests, utterly unknowledgeable, and slow, except when it came to their attempts to improve their tip, when they were over familiar and intrusive. There were some exceptions at more senior level, with some absolutely outstanding service from a senior member of the breakfast staff, who went out of his way to sympathetically cater to our complex dietary needs. We ate all our meals in the hotel, and we found lunch and dinner very average. .
Overall the Fairmont website promotion is misleading: it does not deliver what it promises. These are luxury prices, with main street, unacceptable crowding, average to poor food, and inadequate servicing. If however, you drop your expectations, and are willing to pay more than the hotel is worth to be right on Lake Louise, then go for it. Lake Louise itself is very beautiful, and walking around it is glorious, even when it is frozen over in May. Check out the lake early in the morning, before the tour bus crowds arrive. The walk for about 7 kilometres to an excellent tea house at the top, was wonderful, and my spouse wants to return just to experience that again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dawn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FCLL, Manager at Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We value your feedback and would like to follow up with you directly. Please contact us at chateaulakelouise@fairmont.com and it will be our pleasure to assist you.
We hope to welcome you back in the future.

The Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2014

If you visit the Lake Louise Area, you must stay here. No ifs, ands, or buts. While pricey, the Fairmont Lake Louise, presents an astounding location with gorgeous interior design. The restaurants in the promenade all have picturesque views of the lake. When booking, opt for the Deluxe Rooms, which are in the new wing of the Chateau. The Deluxe Room wing is set back from the lake but arguably has better views of the lake than the standard Fairmont rooms because of large windows in each room (Around 3 times as large as the tiny windows in the Fairmont room, which require you to position yourself just right to get a halfway decent view of the lake). The Deluxe Rooms are also much larger and comfortably fit a desk, office chair, large chair with ottoman, and two queen beds, with plenty of room to spare.

We've mistakenly stayed at several other properties in the area, and while some are nice, they can't compare to the Chateau.

Room Tip: Go for the Deluxe Rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mateo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FCLL, Manager at Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your recommendations. I am glad to hear that you have chosen The Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise as your hotel of choice in the Lake Louise area. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2014

Stunning place - Lake Louise is absolutely amazing. We had a lovely room overlooking the lake. We caught the sunrise over the mountain , turning the top of the mountain a pink/red colour which is reflected onto the lake. We have never seen anything so beautiful -all from our bedroom window.
Worth getting up early for if the weather is good.

Room Tip: Get a lake view room and enjoy
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CE4562
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FCLL, Manager at Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Thank you for your review! The sunrises in Lake Louise are truly spectacular and I am happy to hear that you got to witness it from your guest room. Come back and see us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2014

We spent one night only (alas) at this beautiful hotel in mid may. The room was wonderful with the most spectacular view of the lake. The staff were great, the room was clean and the surroundings spectacular. I would highly recommend at least one night stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a lake view. It is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunny079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FCLL, Manager at Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review! I am happy to hear that The Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise and our destination made a strong impression. Until next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Helens, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2014

Before arrival were told there was a planned power outage but generators were providing electricity. On our arrival around 7.00pm one generator broke down. We were kept in the foyer until after 8.00 when I demanded we be allowed to go to our room. My travelling companion attempted to buy us a glass of wine but we were not allowed to drink it unless we were in the bar. We were trying to access our room so no drink. Eventually we were allowed to our rooms via 6 flights of stairs. We had no room key, no lights and no phone. At 10.00 it was getting dark and still no luggage, we managed to attract attention about 10.30 and eventually had our luggage delivered. We asked for a torch so at least we could see, but alas this very expensive hotel does not carry enough torches for all its rooms, my biggest nightmare in strange hotels is fire and I always familiarize myself with escape routes. This wasn't possible as we had no idea where we were and of course the worst happened. At 3.00am the fire alarms went off ,luckily it was only a false alarm as we were trapped. Next morning at breakfast I found the staff aloof and quite rude, my companion was directed to the incorrect eatery. There was no apology from any staff, even when we finally got our room key after breakfast so we could get back to our room. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone until the staff are trained in what to do in an emergency

Room Tip: Get a room on the first floor so you aren't forgotten when the power is off, at least you will o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kathy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FCLL, Manager at Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We value your feedback and would like to follow up with you directly. Please contact us at chateaulakelouise@fairmont.com and it will be our pleasure to assist you.
We hope to welcome you back in the future.

The Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Louise hotels
1.8 mi away
Mountaineer Lodge
Mountaineer Lodge
#4 of 5 in Lake Louise
1,281 reviews
0.3 mi away
Deer Lodge
Deer Lodge
#5 of 5 in Lake Louise
1,593 reviews
1.7 mi away
Lake Louise Inn
Lake Louise Inn
#3 of 5 in Lake Louise
2,521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
HI Lake Louise Alpine Centre
HI Lake Louise Alpine Centre
#5 of 10 in Lake Louise
264 reviews
0.9 mi away
Paradise Lodge & Bungalows
Paradise Lodge & Bungalows
#1 of 10 in Lake Louise
682 reviews
8.0 mi away
Baker Creek Mountain Resort
Baker Creek Mountain Resort
#3 of 10 in Lake Louise
775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise

Property: Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
Address: 111 Lake Louise Drive, Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta T0L 1E0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Lake Louise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Lake Louise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise 4*
Number of rooms: 550
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by some of the most breathtaking scenery in the world, the iconic Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise resort is nestled deep within Banff National Park, a UNESCO World Heritage Site. Enveloped by soaring mountain peaks, the majestic Victoria Glacier and a glistening emerald lake, the natural beauty of this destination permeates every nook of the historic resort - originally built as a base for outdoor enthusiasts and alpinists. The Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise is a year-round luxury resort which specializes in offering extensive Guided Mountain Heritage programs, unparalleled skiing in the winter, exceptional food and beverage experiences and a new spa, The Spa at the Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Fairmont Hotels, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Ctrip TA, TravelUp, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise Hotel Lake Louise
Chateau Lake Louise
Fairmont Lake Louise
Lake Louise Fairmont
Fairmont Hotel Lake Louise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing