We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Incredible Hotel in an even more Incredible Location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Lake Louise
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
212 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Incredible Hotel in an even more Incredible Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2014

I stayed here for 3 nights for a business conference and had an absolutely amazing time. The view from all of the public rooms, in particular the Victoria Ballroom, are stunning. From the windows we could see the ice sculptures and the lake in all of its glory. Every single lunch, dinner and brunch was exceptional, especially considering that some of the meals were a buffet. Everything was cooked perfectly and I was certainly well fed over the weekend.

The staff cannot do enough to help you and the facilities are pretty good, however the swimming pool is a little small (not that you want to spend too much time in the pool when there is a beautiful area outside to explore.

We rented ice skates from the hotel for $11 for 2 hours which is pretty incredible, and it was my first experience on a natural ice rink! There is also a frequent shuttle bus to the ski slopes which is very useful.

If you have the money to stay here even for just one night, I would definitely recommend it. The food, service, location and hotel itself cannot be faulted.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ForYourEntertainment
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FCLL, Manager at Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on Trip advisor. We are delighted that you found our colleagues to be helpful and engaging and that you enjoyed your time on Lake Louise. We look forward to welcoming you back one day soon!

The Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,898 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,743
    1,288
    517
    244
    106
See reviews for
1,484
3,008
163
287
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,895)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northants
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014

We stayed for one night at The Chateau and it wasn't long enough! We had paid for a deluxe mountain view room with 2 queen beds but it was more like a suite. We expected the accommodation to be good but what surprised us was how welcoming the hotel is to the children and how especially attentive they were to my daughter who has food allergies. The concierge manager, Carl had been very helpful when we were planning our stay and suggested that we registered her allergies on her profile. This meant that when I rang room service to ask if my daughter could eat the chocolate treats and biscuits in the room, they knew of her allergies, listed them off and assured me they were safe for her to eat. It was the same in the restaurant. Because we had prebooked our table the waitress, Jodie, already knew of my daughter's allergies. After our main course she heard us discussing the fact that we wanted to skate and suggested that we could take a break, go skating and come back for dessert. This worked perfectly and the food was very good. We forgot to pre order room service breakfast but this wasn't a problem: our order came quickly and was delicious. The valet parking worked well and we were pleased that we were able to leave our skis on the roof rack which made life easier in the morning. All the staff we encountered were charming and helpful. Looking forward to a return stay when we have more time to try the spa!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FCLL, Manager at Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay at The Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise and also for taking the time to write your review. I am delighted that your family holiday was such a success and that you enjoyed the time in Lake Louise. Carl and Jodie will be thrilled to hear they have contributed towards your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back one day soon!

The Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,284 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 317 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014

No location could be better. Many other contributors have waxed lyrical :) We stayed a week ago and ate in the Glacier Saloon where the food did take longer to arrive than it should (around 40 mins after the server had been to us twice to apologise for the delay). However, they did the right thing by waiving the charge which I respect and acknowledge.

One gripe I had was that we did pay through the nose for a bottle of wine at lunch in their little temporary lounge but we had such a great view that we felt justified at this expense. However, and this is the gripe, we were surprised that the same prices were charged in the Glacier Saloon (which has no view at all).

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank david n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FCLL, Manager at Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. We value your feedback and will review this with our Restaurant team. We hope to welcome you back again in the future.

The Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014

It was our first time here and we had a fantastic time. Food was great, wine was great, service was great. The director of pet relations (golden lab) was my favorite employee of all. It is an amazing place to fall in love. We had a gorgeous room overlooking the lake, walks at sunset, cocktails to die for. Friendly staff. Room service was very fast and open up late. I didn't have boots with me but the hotel has everything you need so I was able to find something I really liked. They even have a photo place where you can go and get photos put on keychains etc. which was nice because I could get my man a little souvenir made while we ate and surprise him with it as a thank you.

It is expensive but honestly for amenities like that in the setting well worth it.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathleeny85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FCLL, Manager at Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Thank you so much for staying with us. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your time at The Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise. We hope to welcome you back in the future!

The Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calgary
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

First time at this great hotel and was greeted and helped the moment we stepped in. Geoff at the front desk was so good and helped us check in out room very quickly. Room was a bit small but clean and very enjoyable. We were upgraded to the lake view room which was awesome. Food was a bit on the high side but was very tasteful. We will definitely be staying here again in a few months!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank in_style900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FCLL, Manager at Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience. We are delighted that you had great stay and hope to welcome you back to The Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise in the near future. Geoff will be very happy to hear he has contributed towards your stay.

The Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

We've just returned from our annual trip to Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise and it just gets better and better. We have been going for the Ice Magic Festival for many years. It is mind boggling to me that this location is as exciting years later as it was on our first visit in 1993.
As an ice skater,I feel that I have been put on God's own rink and allowed the privilege of being in the prettiest place in the world. The majestic mountains and glaciers are "as good as it gets".
The hotel is wonderful. This is a place of old world elegance with all the up to date needs fulfilled. The staff could not possibly be more gracious and helpful. And I mean helpful!!! There is nothing they will not get accomplished for you.
The restaurants offer beautiful ambience with superb food to a simpler spot with just old fashioned good comfort food. There is a place for all moods of dining.
Please treat yourself to the pleasure of a lakeview room. I spent hours just sitting in a chair looking out at that magnificent view. As I said, it doesn't get better than this.
Chateau Lake Louise you are the best !

Room Tip: choose a lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank orangecat0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FCLL, Manager at Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We are very happy to read that you enjoyed your time at The Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise. We look forward to welcoming you back to our winter wonderland for your next getaway soon!

The Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2014

Stayed only one night at the Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise and from our arrival to departure our experience was absolutely faultless. All the staff, from the concierge/valet parking to the staff I. The restaurants were all so warm & friendly.. I couldn't fault the service they provide (which is exactly what you expect for $500 a night). We initially booked a Lake View room ( after reading numerous reviews about value for money) and upon arrival we were informed we'd been selected for a complimentary upgrade to a Junior Lake View suite. The room was incredible and the view was amazing (The sunset was stunning!). We had a welcoming platter on arrival and chocolates and 'fold down' with water an out room cleaned while we were at dinner. We had dinner st the Wallister Stube and while it is on the pricey side, it's fine dining & the meal was delicious. The service there was top notch... It's great for couples looking for a romantic dinner.
While we didn't have the time for any activities, LOTS of people were around with cross country ski gear... A popular activity clearly. There is also a ice hockey rink and a skating rink with a big ice castle in the middle and while we didn't make us of it, we watched many people out our window skating around.
There are plenty of restaurants to eat and and lots of shops to look around at. The hotel jtself is huge and really nice to walk around (and get lost!) and admire the architecture.
Overall, the experience was exactly as you would expect such a hotel to be. Definitely recommend a lake view room. I cannot wait to return in summer when the snow and ice has melted and can have spectacular views of the turquoise blue lake... The view of the mountains is already hard to beat but I think in summer it would be even more beautiful.

Would definitely stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Definitely pay the extra money for a lake view room, you won't be left disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ZoeR17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FCLL, Manager at Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to write a review. We are so pleased to read that you enjoyed your time with us in the mountains. Our team always enjoy receiving comments and will be delighted to hear that they contributed to your stay. We very much look forward to welcoming you back for the summer season.

The Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Louise hotels
1.8 mi away
Mountaineer Lodge
Mountaineer Lodge
#3 of 5 in Lake Louise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,220 reviews
0.3 mi away
Deer Lodge
Deer Lodge
#5 of 5 in Lake Louise
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,513 reviews
1.7 mi away
Lake Louise Inn
Lake Louise Inn
#4 of 5 in Lake Louise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Paradise Lodge & Bungalows
Paradise Lodge & Bungalows
#1 of 10 in Lake Louise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
3.9 mi away
Moraine Lake Lodge
Moraine Lake Lodge
#2 of 10 in Lake Louise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
4.1 mi away
Baker Creek Mountain Resort
Baker Creek Mountain Resort
#3 of 10 in Lake Louise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise

Property: Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
Address: 111 Lake Louise Drive, Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta T0L 1E0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Lake Louise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Lake Louise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise 4*
Number of rooms: 550
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by some of the most breathtaking scenery in the world, the iconic Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise resort is nestled deep within Banff National Park, a UNESCO World Heritage Site. Enveloped by soaring mountain peaks, the majestic Victoria Glacier and a glistening emerald lake, the natural beauty of this destination permeates every nook of the historic resort - originally built as a base for outdoor enthusiasts and alpinists. The Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise is a year-round luxury resort which specializes in offering extensive Guided Mountain Heritage programs, unparalleled skiing in the winter, exceptional food and beverage experiences and a new spa, The Spa at the Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Fairmont Hotels, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise Hotel Lake Louise
Chateau Lake Louise
Fairmont Lake Louise
Lake Louise Fairmont
Fairmont Hotel Lake Louise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing