We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not worth the money” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Lake Louise
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not worth the money”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

Got a view of a roof top with a generator going all night. Cupboard door hanging loose & bed was not a queen, but a double that I had to put a pillow down one side to keep myself from rolling out. Paid $600 per night. What a rip off.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gloria W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FCLL, General Manager at Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
I am very sorry that your stay did not meet your expectations. The guest room you describe is absolutely not to our standards. I will speak with our Executive Housekeeper to ensure every room in this hotel is checked and any issues rectified.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,910 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,751
    1,291
    518
    244
    106
See reviews for
1,488
3,013
163
289
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,901)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

My husband and I booked this hotel for our anniversary. We had a great first impression with this hotel. We lost our camera somewhere in the lobby; luckily Holly at the reception found it and kept it for us until we got back. I can't tell how grateful I was! Then it comes to the room itself... I am not expecting Asian kind of luxury standards but when we tried to open the mini-bar, it has a lock on it, we then turned the keys and finally opened it, IT WAS EMPTY! Called the so called Royal service, they told me it's only a cooler not a minibar and it is the same throughout the entire hotel. ONLY MOTELS DO THAT! Is this really a Fairmont??!!!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sodasoda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FCLL, General Manager at Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
I'm pleased you enjoyed your stay, though am very sorry you were not informed prior to arrival that the hotel does not stock its mini-bars. At many Fairmont Resorts, this is only done upon request; city-centre properties do stock them at all times.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

Stayed for two nights in late July with my husband and two children (aged 6 and 8). Absolutely magnificent hotel. Amazing reception/lobby and shops are exquisite (nice to look through but beyond our budget). We had a deluxe Lakeside room. I would definitely recommend this room as the windows were huge and provided the most spectacular view. Room was spacious and comfortable. Bed was a little soft but that was just our preference. Late checkout ie 12 noon allowed us time to have a huge walk around the lake without having to pack up and find storage for our luggage. Saloon bar/restaurant was good - meals were huge! Would recommend booking or trying to have dinner early as we could not get a table until after 9pm.

Only disappointing part was that we arrived around 5pm (after a day of driving and sightseeing) and informed that our room wasn't ready. Used the time to park the car and return to reception and then waited a further 15 minutes. We were all rather desperate to get to our room to freshen up and relax. By the time we got to our room it was almost 6pm.

Room Tip: Deluxe Lakeside Room have the huge windows capturing the lake perfectly
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FCLL, General Manager at Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay! We do recommend our guest make advance dining reservations at all times, though especially in the summer, as it is quite busy. I'm very sorry your room was not ready upon arrival - I have spoken with our Director of Front Office to ensure this doesn't happen again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
79 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

This place is just magnificent! Too bad we only stayed there only one night. The service seemed to able to read minds and was very, very professional. The food was excellent (at Lago Ristorante). Everything was just topped by the beautiful setting of lake and mountains. We definitely fell in love with this place.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NDeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FCLL, General Manager at Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Lago, our seasonal Italian restaurant, really is a treat to experience; I will certainly share your kind comments with the team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bellevue WA
Level Contributor
102 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 459 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

No question about it . . . Lake Louise is truly picturesque, and the Fairmont Chateau has the catbird seat on its shores.

Know ONE thing up front, however . . .
book the lake view side on the Concierge Floor,
or seek elsewhere.

Also, this 7th floor is for you if you do NOT enjoy chaos or a herded feeling lobby check-in lines utilized for the rest of the hotel guests.

And,
if you choose the Concierge Floor, be sure to be accompanied to your room, as keys sometimes do not work.
The whole concept of 'concierge' is privileged treatment and no hassle, and indeed in this venue it is totally worth the extra cost.

This is a LARGE hotel, with bus loads arriving daily, as well as private car guests, which results in much pressure on the facilities. If you cannot afford the Concierge Floor, please consider choosing the Post Hotel or another facility nearby, as you'll receive more personal attention and/or less hassle and crowding.

The Chateau Fairmont Lake Louise is a magnificent facility, with many restaurants, shops, and gorgeous walks or hikes just out the door, though you will have to thread your way through and past other milling and photographing guests in the public areas.
Know this, and you will not be disappointed.

Our Concierge Floor lake view room was exquisite . . . two stunningly appointed queen beds, a sitting area with two leather chairs, table and lamp, and two huge windows, which were able to be opened for fresh air, and viewed out onto the lake and mountains.
Gorgeous bathroom with huge tub, separate shower, private toilet closet, and marble everywhere . . .
IF it had a view of the lake,
I would never have left ~~!!! heh

Though the weather was quite cool outside, it was warm in the room. Happily, however, the wall thermostat allows both heating and cooling, and the ability to choose temperature preference, so comfort is easily attainable.

We dined at the Fairview . .. forget it . .. the view from your room will be as good or better,
and the food was non-memorable.

Unexpectedly enjoyed the downstairs pub for good drinks, truly enjoyable service, and a fine
game of unskilled pool.

For visitors who plan to travel from Europe or other distant locales, please be aware that
(apart from the Concierge Floor) this is a LARGE venue, with hoards of new guests every day,
which will NOT have the personal feeling of a boutique European city hotel, though that is 'almost' attainable on the Concierge Floor.
Having said this, however, we were somewhat surprised that there isn't an age limit for
babies and/or children on this floor, even . . . so it's the luck of the draw at whether you will
experience any of the 'screaming/crying/screeching' behaviour of small ones!

Excellent signage from Calgary Airport via TransCanada Highway.
Would be hard to get lost!
A delightful hotel experience~~!!

Room Tip: Insist on lake view side of Concierge Floor for best enjoyment and value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank ch00seyon3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FCLL, General Manager at Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you for your very thorough review. Our Fairmont Gold floor does offer a "hotel within a hotel" experience, which is certainly an excellent experience, especially with a Lakeview. I hope we can welcome you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alix, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

The setting is absolutely breath taking!! Prepare to participate in the outstanding outdoor activities including hiking, gondola rides, horseback ect. One tip - Pack snacks! Food is over priced and overrated.

Room Tip: Ensure you get lakeside view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannfull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FCLL, General Manager at Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
There are countless activities to enjoy in the forest surrounding Lake Louise and in Banff National Park. I'm happy you had a chance to experience so many! I will review our menu options with our Executive Chef to make sure they are exceeding the expectations of our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow,Scotland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

Very small room on 5th floor with view of the carpark..had expected a lake view...very disappointing....Fairmont in Banff much more friendly and welcoming....one of the outdoor bar staff at Lake Louise more interested in their tip than providing good service to the customer. Waste of money...should have stayed in the Deer Lodge around the corner...

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Donna2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FCLL, General Manager at Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
I'm very sorry that we did not meet your expectations. I will certainly review with my team the importance of providing friendly and welcoming service to each and every one of our guests. Also, while we do our best to ensure everyone has a view of the lake, it is sometimes not possible in the summer when the hotel is sold out. To ensure a view of the lake, I strongly recommend booking a Lakeview Room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Louise hotels
1.7 mi away
Post Hotel & Spa
Post Hotel & Spa
#1 of 5 in Lake Louise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 894 reviews
1.8 mi away
Mountaineer Lodge
Mountaineer Lodge
#4 of 5 in Lake Louise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,221 reviews
0.3 mi away
Deer Lodge
Deer Lodge
#5 of 5 in Lake Louise
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Lake Louise Inn
Lake Louise Inn
#3 of 5 in Lake Louise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,238 reviews
3.9 mi away
Moraine Lake Lodge
Moraine Lake Lodge
#2 of 10 in Lake Louise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
0.8 mi away
Paradise Lodge & Bungalows
Paradise Lodge & Bungalows
#1 of 10 in Lake Louise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise

Property: Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
Address: 111 Lake Louise Drive, Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta T0L 1E0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Lake Louise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Lake Louise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise 4*
Number of rooms: 550
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by some of the most breathtaking scenery in the world, the iconic Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise resort is nestled deep within Banff National Park, a UNESCO World Heritage Site. Enveloped by soaring mountain peaks, the majestic Victoria Glacier and a glistening emerald lake, the natural beauty of this destination permeates every nook of the historic resort - originally built as a base for outdoor enthusiasts and alpinists. The Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise is a year-round luxury resort which specializes in offering extensive Guided Mountain Heritage programs, unparalleled skiing in the winter, exceptional food and beverage experiences and a new spa, The Spa at the Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Fairmont Hotels, Priceline, HotelsClick, Agoda, Orbitz, Jetsetter, Hotel.de, HRS, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise Hotel Lake Louise
Chateau Lake Louise
Fairmont Lake Louise
Lake Louise Fairmont
Fairmont Hotel Lake Louise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing