We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The view..” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Lake Louise
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Kenosha, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
104 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“The view..”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

I had always wanted to go to the Canadian Rockies, mainly because of the iconic photos of Lake Louise. We arrived mid week to stay for one night. The location was more stunning than any photo. We checked in and were offered a lake view room, for $100 more. Since we splurged on the room, we said no. Such a shame they don't upgrade anyone to these rooms with a view. In hindsight, if we had had a lake view room, I would probably not have gotten up and went outside to view the sunrise. The reflection of the mountains on the turquoise colored lake, with red canoes in the distance, was the view I based our trip on. We took the red canoe ride and it was a highlight of our whole trip. I wlll always remember the overwhelming smell of the pine trees. Our hotel room was small, but nice. The robes were a nice touch. We had a great dinner in the Glacier Saloon. There were quite a few shops with a variety of unique items. I would highly recommend staying here in order to experience the sunrise.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Binnidm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FCLL, General Manager at Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
One of the most amazing way to experience the views (in the summer) is to join us for a Sunrise Canoe. Though it's a bit early, there is nothing like watching the sun rise over the mountains and creep across the lake, changing the colour from a dark blue to emerald. I hope we can welcome you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,910 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,751
    1,291
    518
    244
    106
See reviews for
1,488
3,013
163
289
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,901)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dragoer, Denmark
Level Contributor
49 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

On our way to Jasper we stopped at Lake Louise in order to have an upgrade to a room with lake view. We accepted the offer and walked around on a pre tour. We had a light meal at their self service restaurant which should be open 24/7. We had to write a written claim about the experience we had. I cannot remember last time we did that. If ever. Next day we checked in and we came to our room with high expactions, however, the lake view was limited due to very dirty windows. First we asked the check in desk to fix it. After some hours we asked the concierge to have the windows cleaned and finally it was done. But but a check with the card for the door showed that the window had "frozen" dust which could be visible when shaving the dust with the card. Or else the room was clean. We had a wonderful stay with the most beautiful lake in the world. It was superb water with mountains on both sides. Fantastic photos. ONLY Nærøy fjord in Norway share this 1 place for me. Hotel Stallheim is close to Nærøy fjord. It is the view from the beginning of the fjord and the way to Sognefjord I find to match Lake Louise. No other lake in Canadian Rockies match Lake Louise. I saw top 10 during my stay.

Room Tip: Fairmont Gold rooms might have bigger bath rooms. Worth to spend some extra at this Lake. Once in a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Harald Cees C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FCLL, General Manager at Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. I know that you also completed a JD Power survey for us, which I also greatly appreciate. As my assistant mentioned to you, we have deep cleaned the room in your guest room and have scheduled window cleaning for the entire hotel. We greatly appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia City IN
Level Contributor
176 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

Staying at Chateau Lake Louise was on our "bucket list" when we retired and decided to take a trip out west. The day of our arrival, we got up early and hiked the Trail to the 6 Glaciers and the Tea House...steep climb up but well worth the view of the hotel from the other end of the lake. When we checked in, we knew that we were getting a king room overlooking the lake with the option of an upgrade for $29. (We are Presidents Club members of Fairmont). When we arrived, we were told there were no upgrades available, but they had already upgraded us to the "Presidential Suite". This place was HUGE!! It had a very big living room with double doors to the biggest balcony at the Chateau. Yes...the decor needs an upgrade and the balcony needs some concrete work, but the view was amazing!!! The bedroom was also huge with everything you could want. There were 2 complete bathrooms!!! What a wonderful upgrade!

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view room...you won't be disappointed!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

The hotel and surrounding gardens areas are beautiful. The staff is very helpful and polite. We really enjoyed the swimming pool and our walk around the lake. A wonderful place to stay, but it is pricey.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth11180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
86 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

After a rough check in we enjoyed our stay here. We were given the wrong room key and plumbing work was going on in the room once we got in to the room. It took rather a long time to sort out...they gave us a free $20 canoe rental to make up for it. The room was small the bath early 50s era tiny. The view was stunning. The grounds are beautiful flowers adding color to the fabulous natural setting. Service in the dining areas was slow but the food was good. dinner in the main dining room was very good and very expensive. The large tour groups staying and roaming around in groups somewhat takes away from the luxury of the hotel. Lake Louise is beautiful.

Room Tip: Lake view worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank southtripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

This was our 2nd hotel of the trip. I expected a lot from this hotel and I wasn't disappointed. We pulled up in front of the hotel, had the car valet parked while we were registering. We were told straight away that we had been up graded to a Fairmont Gold Room - I didn't realise that this meant more than just a better room. The Fairmont Gold rooms are all on Level 7 - where there is also a Fairmont Gold Lounge. This gives you the feeling of being utterly spoiled and treated like Royalty. This entitles you to free wifi in the lounge and they serve free canapes and soft drinks from 5.00pn to 7.00pm. We thought this was a nice touch before going and getting changed for dinner. We spent 2 nights here and I can say the whole of the stay was just as impressive, it was the first time I have stayed in a Fairmont Hotel and if you can afford the price, then you will be in for a very special stay. The Lake is lovely, the food was excellent and the service was exceptiona and if I ever return to the area again, I would like to stay here again that is for certain.

Room Tip: The Fairmont Gold experience was excellent - but we were up graded for free!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicki1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

We did not stay at the hotel but ever since seeing pictures of it years ago I wanted to indulge in an ELEGANT coffee in the lounge overlooking the wonderful view. The front desk had said this was possible but the staff at the lounge/bar said we could have a coffee in the Deli or lunch in the lounge. I pleaded and was allowed to have coffee in the bar just where I wanted to be. They were not busy and we were not there for more than half an hour so I felt justified in standing my ground. Grateful that a compromise was reached. It made an old lady's holiday!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eileen193
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FCLL, General Manager at Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
I'm so pleased you were able to experience coffee in the Lakeview Lounge. We do try to reserve some tables for our in-house guests, but can certainly sometimes make an exception if it is not busy. Thank you for your visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Louise hotels
1.7 mi away
Post Hotel & Spa
Post Hotel & Spa
#1 of 5 in Lake Louise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 894 reviews
1.8 mi away
Mountaineer Lodge
Mountaineer Lodge
#4 of 5 in Lake Louise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,222 reviews
0.3 mi away
Deer Lodge
Deer Lodge
#5 of 5 in Lake Louise
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Lake Louise Inn
Lake Louise Inn
#3 of 5 in Lake Louise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,240 reviews
3.9 mi away
Moraine Lake Lodge
Moraine Lake Lodge
#2 of 10 in Lake Louise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
0.8 mi away
Paradise Lodge & Bungalows
Paradise Lodge & Bungalows
#1 of 10 in Lake Louise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise

Property: Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
Address: 111 Lake Louise Drive, Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta T0L 1E0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Lake Louise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Lake Louise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise 4*
Number of rooms: 550
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by some of the most breathtaking scenery in the world, the iconic Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise resort is nestled deep within Banff National Park, a UNESCO World Heritage Site. Enveloped by soaring mountain peaks, the majestic Victoria Glacier and a glistening emerald lake, the natural beauty of this destination permeates every nook of the historic resort - originally built as a base for outdoor enthusiasts and alpinists. The Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise is a year-round luxury resort which specializes in offering extensive Guided Mountain Heritage programs, unparalleled skiing in the winter, exceptional food and beverage experiences and a new spa, The Spa at the Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Fairmont Hotels and Jetsetter so you can book your Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise Hotel Lake Louise
Chateau Lake Louise
Fairmont Lake Louise
Lake Louise Fairmont
Fairmont Hotel Lake Louise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing