We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Luxury stay in the mountains” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Lake Louise
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
East Coast Canada
Level Contributor
184 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Luxury stay in the mountains”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

Our family stayed at this hotel for 2 nights on the gold floor. If you are going to splurge for accommodation in the mountains this is one of the 2 places in our opinion to do it. The view from our room was stunning. I could have sat all day in the very comfy chair in our room and just looked at the Victoria glacier and the turquoise lake water. Definitely get a room with a view of the lake ( what would be the point otherwise?) and if you can splurge for the gold floor it is so worth it to have your breakfast and snacks at 6pm as well as the private concierge and private check in on the 7th floor. Our room was spacious and greatly contributed to our feeling of luxury in the mountains. Valet parking was 35 per day and staff looked after the parking chaos- again if you can splurge for it, it's nice! There were ALOT of tour buses and visitors to the lake area and you really noticed this 9 am until 8, so the gold floor was an added benefit to escape the crowds. We canoed early in the morning around 830 and escaped the line ups for boats. Canoes were 45 per hour or you could also rent by the half hour for less. Also, we really enjoyed cocktails in the Lakeview Lounge at the end of the day overlooking the Victoria glacier and Lake Louise. This was one of our best family hotels stays on our vacation and we would definitely return.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank EastCoastCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FCLL, General Manager at Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
We do our best to offer an exceptional experience with matching service, and I'm thrilled that's what you received. It is certainly busier in the summer than the rest of the year, but the Fairmont Gold Lounge certainly offers a calm place to relax. We look forward to welcoming you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,898 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,743
    1,288
    517
    244
    106
See reviews for
1,484
3,008
163
287
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,895)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Regina Beach, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

Extremely overpriced and commercialized. 35.00 to park your car per day! There's many trails and waterfalls to see for free ! No air conditioning! Hopefully you don't get a room facing the front of the hotel as you hear nothing but busses and car alarms. Skip this hotel, the Fairmont in Jasper is much better!!

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the mountains, not the busy parking lot! Be prepared to pay $$$$$$
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenda2890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

Lake Louise is very, very beautiful location and the hotel is sited with amazing views. I had a Mountain View room, but what I had was a view of mostly a blank wall and the parking garage for $600! If you go, the lake view rooms are he only way to go. Also one of the smallest rooms that I have ever booked. I should have realized what the 250 sq ft shown on the website really meant. No air conditioning also made my MT view room a constant 78-80 degrees with exposure to most of the days sun on that side of the hotel.
Overall the hotel is nice but really a 3 star hotel at 7 star cost in both facility, rather outdated, and service. The fact that a dozen or so tour buses stop at the facility every day make it like a $600 room in the middle of the Mall of America.
Restaurants as well do not match the cost in quality, selection or service The wine list is very limited for a $100 a person dinner.
All in all, I would return but never in the tourist peak of August and book the lake view room only at a special Fairmont club rate. This is at most a $300 a night hotel.

Room Tip: Lake view only at a discounted rate. Avoid peak tourist periods.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fireflytoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FCLL, General Manager at Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
I'm so sorry you stay did not meet your expectations. I invite you to contact me should you be returning to the area to ensure your room assignment is exceptional.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

Stayed for 4 days at deluxe double queen with lake view.
The location was unbeatable, and sunrise canoeing was truly amazing, I only wish the rest of the hotel matched up.
For $800 a night, the room was too small and did not carry any special feel.
"Lake view" was pretty lame, I could see tiny part of it in distance. Might have been better if you stay at the east side building, much closer to the lake (we were at west building).
Service was quite mediocre. Staff were pretty relaxed, especially in the morning yawning big in front of customers, etc. Very reluctant to help at times.
Overall good experience, but one time was enough. I would definitely stay somewhere else next time, where the value and the cost match more closely.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank localhost8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, FL
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

We stayed 5 days at the Chateau and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. This was a pleasure trip, and I had wanted to see this hotel for years. It did not disappoint. The hotel overlooks Lake Louise, a glacier fed lake, and a dreamy turquoise blue color - ooo-la-la! The hiking trains around the Lake begin as you walk out the back door. The Lake trails are level (flat) and you can choose whatever trail you'd like to ascend. One turn around the mountain and you are in primitive back country. Close to glaciers. Amazing views of mountains and very green forests. We hiked up to a tea house (about 1 hr of gentle ascent), stopped for tea and blueberry pie (we had pre-paid our caloric indulgence with the hike) and turned and went back. Just in time for a swim in the hotel pool, then a shower and off to dinner (casual clothes - lovely restaurant).

The pool area is not elegant, and there were no towels - so bring a towel from your room. I called the front desk twice - still no towels at the pool. However, this was the ONLY deficiency in the hotel - not bad.

Casual dress everywhere - so pack light, have fun - you will enjoy this hotel. We stayed 5 days, did a different hike every day, and we were sorry to leave.

Room Tip: We chose a room with a view of the Lake. Yes, it cost more, but how often do you wake up to views o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SkateMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FCLL, General Manager at Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
The hikes in the area are truly amazing - you could do one a day all summer and never repeat. I'm very pleased you enjoyed your stay, and will be following up with our Executive Housekeeper on ensuring the towels are stocked in the pool area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary Alberta Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

We attended a wedding at the Chateau LL and our room was beautiful. It had everything we need and was large enough to get comfortable. I don't know how we were able to book it as we booked the cheapest room we could. Last time we stayed at the Chateau LL the room was super small. The three night stay was a very relaxing trip, The only downside was the valet parking was really busy when we checked in and we couldn't risk not having everything we needed to ready so we self parked. Self parking for someone that doesn't know the hotel would be difficult to do. Ask questions before trying it! Self parking in the long run saved us $15 a day.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank English5544
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

From check in, to breakfast, to an upgraded room to walking Marcus...it was all wonderful! I will say that the rooms are small and did not have any a/c, but we managed and they offered to bring us a portable a/c unit. The next night we were upgraded to a suite with a lake view- it was awesome!! The service was nice, the people were friendly and seemed like they enjoyed working there (who wouldn't in that setting?). I will admit it was pricey but so was everything else in Canada!! I hated to leave and hope to come back some day!

Room Tip: Even the mountain view rooms had an awesome view...I know everyone wants a lake view room...but for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank love2go-va
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FCLL, General Manager at Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
I'm so glad you had a chance to walk Marcus, our Canine Ambassador. He's available Mondays to Fridays during regular working hours most weeks and loves visitors. I'm thrilled we were able to offer you an upgrade and look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Louise hotels
1.8 mi away
Mountaineer Lodge
Mountaineer Lodge
#3 of 5 in Lake Louise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,220 reviews
0.3 mi away
Deer Lodge
Deer Lodge
#5 of 5 in Lake Louise
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,513 reviews
1.7 mi away
Lake Louise Inn
Lake Louise Inn
#4 of 5 in Lake Louise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Paradise Lodge & Bungalows
Paradise Lodge & Bungalows
#1 of 10 in Lake Louise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
3.9 mi away
Moraine Lake Lodge
Moraine Lake Lodge
#2 of 10 in Lake Louise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
4.1 mi away
Baker Creek Mountain Resort
Baker Creek Mountain Resort
#3 of 10 in Lake Louise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise

Property: Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
Address: 111 Lake Louise Drive, Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta T0L 1E0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Lake Louise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Lake Louise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise 4*
Number of rooms: 550
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by some of the most breathtaking scenery in the world, the iconic Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise resort is nestled deep within Banff National Park, a UNESCO World Heritage Site. Enveloped by soaring mountain peaks, the majestic Victoria Glacier and a glistening emerald lake, the natural beauty of this destination permeates every nook of the historic resort - originally built as a base for outdoor enthusiasts and alpinists. The Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise is a year-round luxury resort which specializes in offering extensive Guided Mountain Heritage programs, unparalleled skiing in the winter, exceptional food and beverage experiences and a new spa, The Spa at the Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Fairmont Hotels, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise Hotel Lake Louise
Chateau Lake Louise
Fairmont Lake Louise
Lake Louise Fairmont
Fairmont Hotel Lake Louise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing