We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“A must stay... Atleast once anyways” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Lake Louise
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Canada
Level Contributor
89 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“A must stay... Atleast once anyways”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is situated on the most beautiful lake, and mountains in all of the Alberta. The prices are on the pricer side but the majestic view is priceless.
Our only downside to this hotel was the wait time for our room. Upon arrival we were told our rooms (2 in total) were not ready and to check back in an hour. No problem, we arrived early. After an hour, our rooms still were not ready. After 3 hours we were given our keys and on our way up, only to arrive in a room that was not made up, with garbage and food left out from its previous guests. The bellman even put our luggage in this disgusting room. So now we have to haul our luggage, and 2 kids back down through the maze of the hotel to the front desk. Another wait... So by the time we got our clean room, it was over a 4 hour wait. I understand the hotel was busy but it was one hell of a wait which I think wasn't necessary to be that long.
But the final room was ideal- clean, big and had a beautiful view. Despite the wait, we would return to this hotel again and again

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JDZAPS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,861 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,719
    1,282
    513
    241
    106
See reviews for
1,471
2,990
161
287
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,883)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

Amazing views. We were there in late May 2013 and to our surprise the Lake was still frozen over quite a bit, which was very pretty. Around the edge, we could hear the ice melting and cracking before our eyes. Be warned, not all rooms are Lake View. Ours had a view of the roof, but the room was very nice, roomy, clean and well appointed. The hotel is very large and yes, that was a scramble for breakfast (see other review). There just did not seem any co-ordination at all between tour groups and they all arrived at the same time. The Deli place on the ground floor had a good selection of food for reasonable prices for lunch, although again, quite a queue and a wait. Our dinner was in a huge banquet room with huge picture windows over the lake. We walked out to the Lake after dinner when there were only 2 others out there and got some more spectacular photos without loads of tourists in them. The rest of the hotel is very lovely and a treat to walk around. Overall, it's a large hotel with some shortcomings in service, organisation, etc. but still visit and enjoy its superb location and views.

Room Tip: Request a Lake View Room, if you are prepared to pay extra for it. If not, just use their bars, etc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2Luvtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FCLL, General Manager at Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
I'm very pleased your enjoyed your stay, though we clearly have some more work to do in regards to the service we offer. I will work with my team to make sure we rectify this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
604 reviews
148 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

I agree the view i good at this place, but you can get it and stay elsewhere. the hotel is big and despite being pricey the food was not great, breakfast especially was a let down. I would have preferred a better quality product and less talk from the staff.

Room Tip: get a room at the top overlooking the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank waiake1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sedona, Arizona
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

We had just spent a few days at the Banff Fairmont had a fantastic stay. Expecting the same level of service we where sorely disappointed. The place was worse than Disney land times two. It was beyond crowded every place on the property. Bus after bus after bus of tourists, a complete lack of service by maintenance, servers and valet attendants.
We where absolutely baffled at a hotel that was 90 percent full would be turning away guest after guest in the poppies restaurant yet only half of the tables where ever occupied while we ate. Obviously they just didn't have the staff to be able provide service to all tables. Then, while we where waiting for our table to be ready, noticed how food and dirty dishes where being carried in and out the main entrance to this restaurant to/from the casual eatery next to this restaurant! Who has a 4 star hotel that is designed like this and how could the health dept allow this? Wait there is more.......
The only restaurant that had any outside seating on a typical great weather summer night refused to seat any new patrons past 7:00pm...again absolutely baffled by this.
Have a problem with your room ..don't call maintenance...couldn't get our a/c to work so promised to bring up a portable unit, guess what they never brought it and never called up to explain why.
Lastly gratuities included with the room ? Guess what? Every single worker was only more than eager to get a tip for car valet etc. This was a complete reversal from the Bannf Fairmont where they refused.
I will never stay here again and even though it was the most stunning location i have ever seen, this hotel fails.
Y

Room Tip: Stay at a different hotel in Lake Louise
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark090702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FCLL, General Manager at Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
It's very disappointing to read that your stay was so far below your expectations. I will be following up with our Director of Food & Beverage concerning the service you received both in the Poppy Brasserie and Lakeview Lounge. Clearly some coaching needs to be offered to some of our team.
It is inexcusable that the portable air conditioner was not delivered to your room. I will find out why and make sure it does not happen again.
The Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise does not include gratuities in our room rates like our sister property does.
Again, I am very sorry for your frustration. Should you be returning to the area, I invite you to contact me to arrange your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

Lake Louise is a beautiful location creating great peace and rejuvenation. One of my favorite spots in Alberta. I would highly recommend that when you are in Lake Louise that you visit the Fairmont Chateau, a wonderful hotel, great food and stunning views. The ultimate was the harp music. Harp Angel provides an extremely unique touch. It's well worth the trip just to experience the elegant and inspiring harp music.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kbailey9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
Level Contributor
200 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

This hotel is situated in one of the most picturesque spots to be found. The hotel overall is dated, unremarkable and hugely overpriced. We stayed one night and probably will never return. The Canadian Rockies are full of beautiful locations and this one is inundated with bus loads of tourists.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
146 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

We arrived very early - 10.30am and were very impressed with the Chateau. The staff were very friendly and helpful and we were even able to get into our room. All I can say is wow, what a view. The room itself was very small, and also warm, as no air con, but its old and I guess it cant be put it. We dined in the hotel restaurant, and the food was very good, also the breakfast was excellent too. We loved our stay there.

Helpful?
1 Thank suzy6626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FCLL, General Manager at Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay. It is certainly worth it to get a room with a view of the lake - it's indescribable. I hope you can visit again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Louise hotels
1.7 mi away
Post Hotel & Spa
Post Hotel & Spa
#1 of 5 in Lake Louise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 887 reviews
1.8 mi away
Mountaineer Lodge
Mountaineer Lodge
#3 of 5 in Lake Louise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,197 reviews
0.3 mi away
Deer Lodge
Deer Lodge
#5 of 5 in Lake Louise
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Lake Louise Inn
Lake Louise Inn
#4 of 5 in Lake Louise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,144 reviews
3.9 mi away
Moraine Lake Lodge
Moraine Lake Lodge
#2 of 10 in Lake Louise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
0.8 mi away
Paradise Lodge & Bungalows
Paradise Lodge & Bungalows
#1 of 10 in Lake Louise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise

Property: Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
Address: 111 Lake Louise Drive, Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta T0L 1E0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Lake Louise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Lake Louise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise 4*
Number of rooms: 550
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by some of the most breathtaking scenery in the world, the iconic Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise resort is nestled deep within Banff National Park, a UNESCO World Heritage Site. Enveloped by soaring mountain peaks, the majestic Victoria Glacier and a glistening emerald lake, the natural beauty of this destination permeates every nook of the historic resort - originally built as a base for outdoor enthusiasts and alpinists. The Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise is a year-round luxury resort which specializes in offering extensive Guided Mountain Heritage programs, unparalleled skiing in the winter, exceptional food and beverage experiences and a new spa, The Spa at the Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Fairmont Hotels, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise Hotel Lake Louise
Chateau Lake Louise
Fairmont Lake Louise
Lake Louise Fairmont
Fairmont Hotel Lake Louise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing