We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
Nearby Hotels
Paradise Lodge & Bungalows(Lake Louise)(Great Value!)
$296
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Baker Creek Mountain Resort(Lake Louise)(Great Value!)
$289
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Post Hotel & Spa(Lake Louise)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Num-Ti-Jah Lodge(Lake Louise)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Deer Lodge(Lake Louise)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (7,277)
Filter reviews
7,277 results
Traveler rating
4,666
1,580
625
277
129
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4,666
1,580
625
277
129
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgold floorwalliser stubepoppy brasserieglacier saloonjunior suitefairview restaurantbeautiful hotelself parkingsleigh ridebucket listice skatingtea houserocky mountaineerbanff springsfondueice sculpturesonce in a lifetime
Filter
Updating list...
5,199 - 5,204 of 7,277 reviews
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We spent a weekend here for another conference. This was our second time here, the first was 5 years ago for a conference as well.
I really wanted to give this place a 3/5, but couldn't for one reason...the service was exceptional. Every corner of the resort, the staff were focused on what they were paid to do. Recently we found when going to many 4 and 5 star resorts, staff would get lazy near the end of their shifts, or away from their "desks". Here, we were quite impressed that EVERYONE was professional 100% of the time. Everyone from grounds crew to bartenders to guides, and so on. The rooms were cleaned every morning very well. Service is extremely valuable at this level, and they have embraced it. Their location also can't be beat. Like come on...it's on a lake looking out to a beautiful glacier!

We loved the fast internet which is free when you're a president member (which is free to join). We also really enjoy the toiletries offered...we always take a few home for our spare bathroom.

The negatives...nothing huge, but these are annoying points found at many of the Fairmont's I've been to...
- Parking is $25/day...not like we are downtown Calgary here.
- Food prices are laughable. Room service for an average bacon and eggs costs $23...PLUS $4 service charge, PLUS 18% auto tip, plus tax....for a total of $33! Wish the delivery charge was less hidden, and we had an option to tip what we want like a big boy.
- The pool area...ugly...reminds me of Victoria's Empress. Seriously, when you're charging $400-600 per room, you should have a better pool area....like Banff Springs Fairmont.
- The building itself is far inferior to Banff Springs. Its big...ish, and old, but thats about it. The hotel is boring, not much going on. When we were there, many of the halls were full of boxes, carpet being replaced. We understand its retaining its old heritage, but the place just doesn't have that "feel" the other old rail line hotels have....but I guess it does have the lake and glacier lol.

Overall, we would probably not stay here again. It's not worth the price, and is always full of tourists. The staff were great, the views amazing, but thats where it stops.

Room Tip: Its worth the extra $ to get a lake view...if you don't, you get the majestic parking lot.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank littlechilds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FCLL, General Manager at Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

While I am thrilled that the service you received is exactly what we endevour to deliver, it was extremely disappointing to read that the rest of your stay did not meet your expectations. We are at the tail end of extensive renovations on our public areas and have completed renovations on 215 guest rooms, with the remainder being completed next year. I apologize that it impacted your stay. Please contact me should you return to the area; it would be my pleasure to ensure you receive the experience you expect.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Dont get me wrong, this is truly paradise and the hotel itself is set in one of the best locations in Canada....but CROWDED. Everywhere you go you feel like you are in NYC at New Years eve. Lake Louise used to be on the 5 dollar bill....the price for this place needs to have their pic on the $100 bill now.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dayel1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

We stayed on the Fairmont Gold floor, and requested a lake view rooom. The view is to die for! Stayed on the Fairmontt Gold floor, so we had a concierge team and a lounge at our disposal for the week we spent there. Everything was perfect. The lounge wine and beer are a little pricey but the light appetizers and the contenental breakfast were excellent. Room had a refrigerator for our use - not filled with "honor bar" supplies, so we were able to put our beer and white wine in it. Housekeeping was superb, a really first class place for special occaisons. We celebrated our 30th anniversary there and loved it. Several places to eat in the hotel. Beer will set you back $ 10.00 in the Saloon in the basement.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SactoDiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FCLL, General Manager at Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2013

Thank you so much for choosing to celebrate such a special occasion with us! I'm thrilled you enjoyed the service on our Fairmont Gold Floor and hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

I will never forget my first sighting of the lake - it is just magical - with the hotel standing magestically and the mountains coming right down into the lake. We checked in and were told that we had been upgraded to a Junior Suite overlooking the lake (we were celebrating our 40th Wedding Anniversary). One word sums up the Suite "WOW" and indeed the whole hotel. Waiting for us in our suite was a bottle of champagne on ice and a personal note from David Macgillivray, Director of Operations, wishing us a "Happy Anniversary". We made a reservation for dinner in the Lago Restaurant with the concierge who asked if it was a special occasion. We were greeted in the restaurant with "Happy Anniversary" and enjoyed a fabulous meal with complimentary desserts ! We stayed for 2 nights and could not fault the friendliness and service of all the staff. Thank you all for making our stay so memorable - I still get emotional every time I look at our photographs !

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room with a lake view
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

My mother has always wanted to go to Lake Louise. She'll be 78 this year. From the moment one drives up and meets the hosts, the experience of the lobby, the warm greeting at the front desk...to your hotel room (Lake View - we were on first floor - but probably any floor would be spectacular. One does not have to stay long to experience the grandeur of the hotel, the spectacular lake, etc. A memory not soon to be forgotten. I highly recommend check in when you can and take a walk along the right side of the lake...A beautiful walk in any weather I'm sure and nice path to follow. Also take time for a swim, hot pool and steam room.

Room Tip: Lake View is a must! A picture postcard from your window!
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Donnad9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FCLL, General Manager at Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

I'm so glad that you and your mother had a chance to visit us and that you enjoyed your stay so much. The lakeshore stroll is definitely a must-do - the photo opportunities are excellent and there's nothing better than the fresh mountain air. I hope to see you again and provide you with the same exceptional service!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews