We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Truly Exceptional in all aspects” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Lake Louise
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Robbinsville, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Truly Exceptional in all aspects”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

My wife and I just returned from our 10 year anniversary trip to Fairmont Chateau LL. I had some hesitation before our travels due to some recent mediocre and negative reviews, but I must say that our experience was absolutely wonderful from check-in to check-out. Alex from Reservations was very flexible and accommodated our last minute change in plans and dates without charging us fees which would have been applicable. We were upgraded to the Fairmont Gold floor. The Concierge and wait staff there were outstanding-- they inquired about our plans and interests and made great suggestions. They accommodated our dietary restrictions even without making a requests. The fondue restaurant was only open in the evening, but the restaurant manager arranged for them to make us a special fondue for lunch in another restaurant b/c we had to depart before dinnertime....now if that is not superior service, then I dont know what is! Our room was immaculate and luxurious with breathtaking views overlooking the lake... worth every dime for this amazing view and service! My only negative comment is that the food is delicious but over-priced. I dont write reviews, but I felt the need to write one for this as it is well deserved.

Room Tip: Almost any room facing the lake is going to be a winner. Mountain view is nice, but if you are goin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peanutdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,684 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,589
    1,246
    507
    236
    106
See reviews for
1,404
2,912
154
281
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,819)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
134 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

The hotel is nice to see from outside but the room is dated and small. Definately is over price because of its location, Perfect location which is just located in front of Lake Louise, enjoy the comfortable walk around the Lake Louise

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ngsiewcheng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FCLL, General Manager at Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. It is disappointing to read that your guest room did not meet your expectations. I am pleased to let you know that we are in the midst of renovating all of our historic guest rooms, with 215 being complete by the end of May, 2013 and the remainder being completed by early 2014. We hope you'll be back to see the transformation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

Our first fairmont in canda was jasper more like caban set up around a lake service was excellent rooms were basic not what you would expect from fairmont

Dinning in main hotel more like you would find in fast food out let's akthiugh service was excellent

Lake Louise fairmont well more what you would expect very comfortable service excellent food more cusine and many option ...

Well our 3rd fairmont is banff what can I say we are checked in on the gokd floor onky way to travel it is fit for the queen service , ,food, the hotek is a castle it woukd r ake you a whike day to check it out for and would not see it all in 1800 famikys used to pay $50k for a 3 month stay welk if the service is 1/4 of what you get now I can understand why this hapoened if yiu thinjing if canda and the rockies this is a nust

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gino1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
1,234 reviews
231 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 609 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

Visited the Chateau on a nice day in April for an early and light dinner with outstanding views of a frozen Lake Louise from the lounge. The location of the Chateau and the views really are unsurpassed. The service and food was also very good - since we started slightly before 5pm we had to choose from the lunch menu but the outstanding onion soup for starters was quite filling so together with the brie and chicken sandwich and a local ale it was a good meal. Fairly pricey as to be expected for such a top location and ambiance.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hermes_NL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FCLL, General Manager at Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
I'm so pleased to hear that you so enjoyed your dining experience. We have some amazing chefs at the hotel and they will be thrilled to hear your review. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pismo beach, california
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

Enjoyed a few days early April and followed TA poster's recommendations for the club floor ... asked at
check in and rooms were available for upgrade at $130/night. Lovely spacious room and spectacular
view of lake and mountains. Did not get dark until 9 pm which allowed an extended time to gaze and
reflect on natural beauty. Light snowfall on occasion made it extra special during walks around the lake
and looking out the window. Food deli and restaurant prices not that unreasonable so unlike other club floors
in other locales...this was not a cost-saving as it might be for a family of more than two. Great staff all around
and thoroughly loved our stay. Would like to return during summer for the alternate side of this beautiful place.

Room Tip: go for the lake side if at all possible...it never hurts to ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank asiacali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FCLL, General Manager at Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Fairmont Gold is truly a hotel within a hotel, and I'm so glad the service and amenities you received were excellent. We're lucky to experience an extended winter, so snowfall during April and even June isn't unheard of. It certainly makes the sunning views even more idyllic. We look forward to welcoming you back sometime soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

The view in front of the hotel is stunning. Food and service are really nice. Dinner and breakfast here are better than what I expected. Price and the taste are reasonable. A decoration inside my room is perfect. It's better than Fairmont hotel at Banff. I wish I could return here during summer.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anya A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane
Level Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

This hotel is fairly remote and so most visitors would probably plan ahead however we decided to visit at the last min and our stay was fabulous. It may sound silly but I saw a commercial last year on Alberta which stuck in my head and so when we decided to take a last min trip I wanted to ski at Lake Louise.

I think we were staying inbetween busy times as the resort was not crowded at all nor was the area. We arrived late, at 1am, after a 7 hour drive and so did not experience any wait to check in. My husband woke me up the next morning, which he never does, and told me I had to look out the window. The view of the lake, glacier and mountains was so stunning it brought tears to my eyes.

We stayed on the gold floor. Not sure what type of room we had but it was an incredible lake view and had ample room for the two of us. There was an entryway, living room and bedroom combo area with sofa, chairs, desk, and fridge. There was also a coffee maker that we did not use as there was a lounge just across the hall.

The lounge food and snacks were excellent. The valet recommended we use the hotel shuttle to get to and from the ski resort but we opted to drive and had front row parking. I'm sure this is not the case most of the time, I think we just lucked out. No crowds skiing, no lift lines. The hotel hot tub and pool were perfect after skiing.

All of the hotel staff and visitors we encountered during our stay were incredibly friendly. No bad moods, no angry complainers... It was elegant, beautiful and not stuffy at all.

I would highly recommend this hotel. Our stay was perfection.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kimspokane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FCLL, General Manager at Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
It sounds as if your trip to The Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise was exactly what we endevour to deliver to each and every one of our guests. I'm so please you enjoyed your stay on Fairmont Gold and that the service you received was exceptional. Thank you for your kind comments; we look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Louise hotels
1.7 mi away
Post Hotel & Spa
Post Hotel & Spa
#1 of 5 in Lake Louise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 868 reviews
1.8 mi away
Mountaineer Lodge
Mountaineer Lodge
#3 of 5 in Lake Louise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,146 reviews
0.3 mi away
Deer Lodge
Deer Lodge
#5 of 5 in Lake Louise
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Lake Louise Inn
Lake Louise Inn
#4 of 5 in Lake Louise
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,923 reviews
0.8 mi away
Paradise Lodge & Bungalows
Paradise Lodge & Bungalows
#1 of 10 in Lake Louise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 678 reviews
3.9 mi away
Moraine Lake Lodge
Moraine Lake Lodge
#2 of 10 in Lake Louise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise

Property: Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
Address: 111 Lake Louise Drive, Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta T0L 1E0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Lake Louise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Lake Louise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise 4*
Number of rooms: 550
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by some of the most breathtaking scenery in the world, the iconic Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise resort is nestled deep within Banff National Park, a UNESCO World Heritage Site. Enveloped by soaring mountain peaks, the majestic Victoria Glacier and a glistening emerald lake, the natural beauty of this destination permeates every nook of the historic resort - originally built as a base for outdoor enthusiasts and alpinists. The Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise is a year-round luxury resort which specializes in offering extensive Guided Mountain Heritage programs, unparalleled skiing in the winter, exceptional food and beverage experiences and a new spa, The Spa at the Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fairmont Hotels, Amex, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise Hotel Lake Louise
Chateau Lake Louise
Fairmont Lake Louise
Lake Louise Fairmont
Fairmont Hotel Lake Louise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing