We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Lake Louise
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed April 11, 2013

This is an awesome place... our second time here and it was as good as we remembered. It is on the pricey side, but this one is worth the splurge. We did find that they have all kinds of different room types so, if you aren't happy with the one you booked, try to see if they can let you tour a couple more. The first one we had seemed old and outdated... We ended up with a room that was much more modern and we really liked.

The food is good at the restaurants, albeit expensive.

The lake was frozen and covered with snow (time of year), but we have been here in the past in the fall, and it is just an incredible site. Go for it!

Room Tip: If you are traveling in the winter when the lake is frozen save the $ and go for a mountain view roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael330055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (6,778)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,816 - 4,822 of 6,778 reviews

Reviewed April 10, 2013

This is a premium hotel, and the costs for a room refelct that aspect. It is a large hotel situated on a glacial lake in the Canadian Rockies. The room itself was spacious and the beds were very comfortable. The view from our window was straight out to the lake and the mountains (Vistoria Glacier) at ther end. The mountains actually had nice snow at the top. The restaurant is also first class. We had a magnificant dinner that was expertly prepared and served in a courteous, professional manner. Everyone was just great. The only downside to the room was that it had no air conditioning. It got quite warm in the afternoon. I would put it on borderline stifling. We asked for a fan to circulate some air and we did get one, but it helpd only marginally. At well over $200 per night, that was a disappointment. Otherwise a very great stay. Yes, I know this is conflicting.

Room Tip: Check to see if the room you are getting is aircconditioned.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Araxiel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FCLL, General Manager at Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

I'm so pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay, most notably because of the service you received. We do our best to provide a truly memorable experience. I was disappointing to read of the temperature of your room. This is something we are working stringently to correct. Thank you for your review, and we hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

This hotel located in an outstanding location. The view from every corner of this hotel is stunning. There are so many things to do in the area. From day trips to horseback riding, skiing in winter time. We visited the Chateau in August. The lake view was absolutely terrific!
The rates in the summer are really high but for us it was worth it. Our room was really nice (with the lake view) very big and so do the bath room. There is a swimming pool at the hotel that our kids enjoyed as well. The hotel's restaurants are expansive but there is a "deli" where you can buy food to go (for a picnic), eat light meals or enjoy coffee and desserts.
The hotel's parking rates are too expensive! (there is a public parking not too far).
Over all it is a very nice place to stay for a night that can be combined with the nature's experiences around it.

Room Tip: Lake view (we paid extra but enjoyed it a lot!)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yuli66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Perfect honeymoon location. The staff could not do enough for us - they were wonderful. Upgrade to view of lake was real bonus. Location for walkers is fabulous and I'm told the skiing is great too! 'Fairview' definitely worth the walk for the fitter walkers! There is a bakery in town which does a great packed lunch but we treated ourselves to one afternoon tea which was exceptional.
The choice and quality of food and drink is very good and reasonably priced. Public rooms are lovely. Pool a little disappointing but everything else was perfect.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bogan_nige
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FCLL, General Manager at Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

Thank you so much for your review. I'm thrilled you celebrated such a momentous occasion with us and that you enjoyed yourselves so much. The Fairview hike is certainly worth it, and Afternoon Tea is an indulgence that shouldn't be missed. We hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

My husband and I are frequent visitors of the Fairmont Hotels and have stayed at several over the years including the Banff Springs and now recently the Chateau Lake Louise. This will give you an idea of considerations when looking at both properties.
First, availability and cost: the rates for the fairmont resorts do fluctuate on time of year, views, amentities, and room size. During our winter stay the costs for the two resorts were comprable, although the Chateau was about $30 less per night. Both resorts charge guests to utilize the parkade regardless if you self park or Valet park.
Views: Both resorts have a wide range of room options, and if you are going for the views, then pay the extra to upgrade your room to accomodate the views. The Chateau has amazing views of the lake and surrounding mountains; breathtaking regardless what time of year. The Banff Springs also has rooms available with amazing views overlooking the Bow River Valley and surrounding mountains. I don't think I could choose one resort over the other in regards to views.
Surrounding area: this may be a more impending factor in deciding which resort you prefer. The Chateau is in the town of Lake Louise on the Lake and 5 minutes to the ski hill. The lake offers winter ice skating, snowshoeing and hiking and summer canoeing and hiking. The Chateau does have several restaurants within the hotel but with a higher price point than eating at an outside restaurant; the outside restaurant options in Lake Louise are more limited than in Banff. While staying at the Chateau we had only one dinner there and then choose to go to Banff for our other 3 dinners. The Banff Springs has an adjacent golf course, the hot springs, hiking, and walking distance to Banff Avenue shopping and services. The ski hills near Banff are a bit further away. There is more shopping available in Banff than Lake Louise. If shopping is your passion you are also 20 minutes from Banff to Canmore which has been growing in services and shopping options as well.
Hotel Amenities and Rooms: The basic room at both resorts is a "farimont room"; these tend to be smaller spaces with the basics (robes, slippers, hair dryers, safes, internet, coffee maker, television, soaps, shampoos, lotion, mouthwash, etc.). The rooms at the Banff Springs have more fairmont room options available, and thus have more space options possible for this level of room. I found the washroom space at the Chateau to be very tight. Both resorts have available spa services, however I found the ambiance to be better at the Banff Springs. I would say the same for the pool area at the Banff Springs, the pool and hot tub are very inviting and open, we actually spent 3 hours there with friends. The pool area at the Chateau is more basic and feels like it is in the basement; not so inviting, other than to get in a quick swim. Both Resorts allow for you to walk around, explore inside and outside; but the Banff Springs definately feels more like a castle. Both Resorts offer buffet breakfast, but I must say I the buffet breakfast at the Banff Springs far exceeds any of the other fairmonts we have stayed at; it is so large, they give you a tour as they escort you to your seat.
We did have some concerns about our stay and with customer service while at the Chateau; however when brought to the attention of management they were ratified, appreciative of our feedback and in agreement that it was not the fairmont standard. As I am confident that these issues were addressed I did not include them in my review, nor would I use them as an indicator for my opinion of the resort
All in all... I would probably choose to stay at the Fairmont Banff Springs than the Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise, based on the fact that I prefer the town site of Banff and the available activies around the town site, such as golf, restaurants, shopping, hiking, etc. But your interests may take you to the Chateau.
Which ever resort you choose I would suggest spring or fall if you are not a fan of tons of tourists; both resorts and their surrounding grounds attract many tourists and their cameras which can take away from your experience as a guest.
Hope this helps and Enjoy which ever Resort your Choose!

Room Tip: If you are going for the view than pay the extra to upgrade your room for a room with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank goingNEwhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

You cannot fault the beautiful setting of this hotel - it is wonderful. However, the current facilities available in the hotel leave a lot to be desired. The main Grill Restaurant is only open if the occupancy levels are high - there is no mention of this when booking - such a disappointment. The Italian restaurant is shut, the lounge over- looking the beautiful lake is only open from 11.30 so you cannot sit anywhere in the hotel until aft this time and have to order something for the primal age of sitting there. The bar shuts around 9.30 pm so you cannot get a drink after dinner unless you go to the pub in the basement. There is a huge amount of. Work being done to paint the ceiling in the main reception area. All in all, a total let- down.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 85JonathanP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Beautiful location and good service. However rooms small, expensive and in need of renovation - tiny bathroom.

However what I found totally outrageous was the daily parking fee of $30, bearing in mind that that one has already paid a small fortune to stay in a very standard hotel room. Park in the public carpark by the lake instead.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank PocketRocket76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FCLL, General Manager at Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Thank you for your review. I am pleased to let you know that beginning in January of this year and ending early 2014, renovations are being made to our heritage wings, providing a great update to our guest rooms, while keeping in touch with our roots.
I will certainly take your comments concerning parking under careful consideration. You are correct that there is complimentary parking in the government parking lot next door to the hotel.
I hope to see you again to experience our updates!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Louise
1.8 mi away
Mountaineer Lodge
Mountaineer Lodge
#4 of 5 in Lake Louise
1,430 reviews
0.3 mi away
Deer Lodge
Deer Lodge
#5 of 5 in Lake Louise
1,755 reviews
1.7 mi away
Lake Louise Inn
Lake Louise Inn
#3 of 5 in Lake Louise
3,046 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 mi away
Emerald Lake Lodge
8.0 mi away
Baker Creek Mountain Resort
Baker Creek Mountain Resort
#3 of 10 in Lake Louise
884 reviews
6.4 mi away
Moraine Lake Lodge
Moraine Lake Lodge
#1 of 10 in Lake Louise
784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise

Address: 111 Lake Louise Drive, Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta T0L 1E0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Lake Louise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Lake Louise
Price Range: $277 - $811 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise 4*
Number of rooms: 552
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by some of the most breathtaking scenery in the world, the iconic Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise resort is nestled deep within Banff National Park, a UNESCO World Heritage Site. Enveloped by soaring mountain peaks, the majestic Victoria Glacier and a glistening emerald lake, the natural beauty of this destination permeates every nook of the historic resort - originally built as a base for outdoor enthusiasts and alpinists. The Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise is a year-round luxury resort which specializes in offering extensive Guided Mountain Heritage programs, unparalleled skiing in the winter, exceptional food and beverage experiences and a new spa, The Spa at the Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fairmont Hotels, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise Hotel Lake Louise
Chateau Lake Louise
Fairmont Lake Louise
Lake Louise Fairmont
Fairmont Hotel Lake Louise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing