We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Home away from Home” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Lake Louise
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Home away from Home”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

My family and I stay here 3 or 4 times a year. That in itself is an excellent recommendation. We are always treated well. The staff is outstanding. This year we had my brother and sister in law from Ontario come with us between Christmas and New Year. They were amazed by the views and activities. We skiied, skated, tobogganed and took a sleigh ride to the end of the lake and back. Living in Calgary it is easy to take this world class site for granted sometimes. Seeing it through the eyes of a new visitor made me really apprecite how beautiful this spot is.

Although I have read some of the reviews saying the rooms are rather small, one must remember when this hotel was built. Also having travelled a fair bit in Europe, also helps with prespective in room size. Besides, there is so much to do and see, one does not spend much time in the room.

This is truly a beautiful place. If you have a chance to visit Lake Louise, the Chateau is a must visit even if you cannot stay for the full experience.

Room Tip: Lakeview rooms are spectacular. Join the President's club for free internet. Can do when you che...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FCLL, General Manager at Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thank you so much for your review - it's amazing to hear that we are a tradition with your family and that you're also sharing it with other family members. We look forward to welcoming you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,684 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,589
    1,246
    507
    236
    106
See reviews for
1,404
2,912
154
281
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,819)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
manchester
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

This was the best hotel I have ever stayed in.The staff were fantastic, the food very nicely presented and delicious,the room very clean and comfortable and the views breath taking. It was wonderful to be able to walk out of the front door of the hotel and on to the footpath that took us along Lake Louise were we could see so much wild life.

Room Tip: The higher floors have wonderful panoramic views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sal42manchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FCLL, General Manager at Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you very much for posting your review. We do our utmost to provide exceptional service and I'm so pleased that's what you received. We hope to see you again, perhaps in the winter so you can experience our white wonderland!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stayed at the Chateau Lake Louise for 4 nights. Pros: The service is outstanding. The food was very good to excellent. The setting on the frozen lake with ice skating right outside the lounge windows was enchanting. The shuttle is great for getting over to the ski area. And the skiing at Lake Louise was very good too!
Our room was a nicely appointed junior suite on the Gold level.
The con: The beds were hard. IMHO they aren't in the same class with a Westin Heavenly Bed, or a Sheraton Sweet Sleeper. When you strip away all the fluff, why do you stay in a hotel? To sleep! And when that suffers because your hips ache from the extra firm mattress, well it means you can't wait to get home to your own bed.
If you like an extra firm bed, the Chateau can't be beat. It has great amenities and setting. But we won't be back just because the beds are too hard for us.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

The staff was exceptional with the food not taking a seat to the service. The food was extremely well prepared, and tasted exceptional as well. The entertainment was great @ the saloon also. The views were breath-taking and the staff were extremely helpful in booking sled rides, ski bus, dog-sledding as well as, the gift shops were surprisingly well affordable.

Room Tip: Anyting third floor or higher is a great choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FCLL, General Manager at Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
It great to hear what an enjoyable stay you had with us. I'll certainly share your comments with our entire team so they know what an impact their service is having on our guests. We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

Everyone needs to experience this most magical of places nestled in one of the most breathtaking, magical of places anywhere. You are going to pay more but it is unrivalled by most hotels. It is best experienced in the fall when it is quiet and you have the place to yourself - however ANY time of year is superb. It is pearl nestled in the rocky mountains, right on a lake that takes your breath away.
It is 40 minutes or so from the ever popular Banff and 3 hours from the exceptional Jasper. The drive to Jasper is heavenly. Some of the best skiing in the world takes place here. A BUCKET LIST MUST.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TerryQ_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary Alberta Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

My family and I enjoyed a weekend stay at Chateau Lake Louise this winter. Yes it is rather expensive, but worth every penny for us.

We requested a frig. and microwave in our room, so we didn't eat in the restaurants. The restaurants were very busy that weekend as well. We had our own car, so we used the underground parking and had easy access to our room. We drove to the ski hill, which was just 15 minutes away. There was so much to do. Ice skating on the lake, snowshoeing, sleigh rides, dog sled rides, skiiing, and viewing the all around beauty. There is so much to look at on the inside as well; many shops, restaurants, and historical splendor.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ragm86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FCLL, General Manager at Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
The number of activities available in Lake Louise in the winter (and summer, for that matter) is fantastic. I'm so pleased to hear you had a chance to experience such a variety of them. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

The Chateau Lake Louise is your guaranteed Fairmont experience. I have stayed at many of the Fairmount’s and love them all for their predictability with a little bit of environmental charm, depending on where they are situated. This one was especially beautiful nestled in the middle of the mountains. It's actually very isolated but that added to the experience. A good choice of restaurants from very expensive to reasonable prices. Staff very friendly and comfort of rooms well above average. Could not have been more of a “Canadian Rockies” experience. Was here for a work conference - nice mix of work and down time.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alie01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Louise hotels
1.7 mi away
Post Hotel & Spa
Post Hotel & Spa
#1 of 5 in Lake Louise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 868 reviews
1.8 mi away
Mountaineer Lodge
Mountaineer Lodge
#3 of 5 in Lake Louise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,145 reviews
0.3 mi away
Deer Lodge
Deer Lodge
#5 of 5 in Lake Louise
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Lake Louise Inn
Lake Louise Inn
#4 of 5 in Lake Louise
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,919 reviews
0.8 mi away
Paradise Lodge & Bungalows
Paradise Lodge & Bungalows
#1 of 10 in Lake Louise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 678 reviews
3.9 mi away
Moraine Lake Lodge
Moraine Lake Lodge
#2 of 10 in Lake Louise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise

Property: Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
Address: 111 Lake Louise Drive, Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta T0L 1E0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Lake Louise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Lake Louise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise 4*
Number of rooms: 550
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by some of the most breathtaking scenery in the world, the iconic Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise resort is nestled deep within Banff National Park, a UNESCO World Heritage Site. Enveloped by soaring mountain peaks, the majestic Victoria Glacier and a glistening emerald lake, the natural beauty of this destination permeates every nook of the historic resort - originally built as a base for outdoor enthusiasts and alpinists. The Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise is a year-round luxury resort which specializes in offering extensive Guided Mountain Heritage programs, unparalleled skiing in the winter, exceptional food and beverage experiences and a new spa, The Spa at the Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fairmont Hotels, Amex, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise Hotel Lake Louise
Chateau Lake Louise
Fairmont Lake Louise
Lake Louise Fairmont
Fairmont Hotel Lake Louise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing