We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor treatment ruined our relaxing weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Lake Louise
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Poor treatment ruined our relaxing weekend”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

We booked a mountain view room with a king bed online a month ahead of time. It was to be our late Valentine's gift to each other, a quiet, relaxing weekend in the mountains before our baby is born. The person we dealt with at the front desk left us alone at the desk for long periods of time. We were downgraded from a king bed room with mountain view to a room with 2 queens and a courtyard view. We then waited 2 hours for our downgraded room to be cleaned in the pub with all of our luggage. When we still hadn't heard anything we went back to the front desk to see if our room was ready. While he left (again) to check my husband overheard another customer being upgraded to the very room we reserved. At that point my husband told them to cancel our reservation and guess what? They found us a king room with a good view .... what we had originally reserved. Later the manager called us to apologize and offered us free parking and internet. The apology was appreciated but free parking and internet is not much compensation for the ordeal we went through. In addition 2 of the restaurants at the hotel were closed to the public for private functions so we didn't even get to eat at the restaurant we wanted to eat at. We ended up eating in the swiss/german restaurant in the bar area because there were no tables. The food was good but expensive. The location of the hotel is beautiful. The hotel and food is very expensive. The service is horrible. We have had much better service at much lower end hotels. We will never go back. What a shame. Our relaxing weekend turned out to be anything but relaxing. Oh and one more thing, there was what appeared to be a pubic hair on the bed!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Katrina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FCLL, General Manager at Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you very much for posting your review, and please allow me to express my sincere apologies for the service you experienced. When a reservation is made through our website the bed type is guaranteed and I can see no reason it should have been changed. I am pleased that you received what you booked in the end, but the issue should have never have arisen.

While I understand that your faith in us may have been lost, I invite you to contact me at the hotel should you be returning to the Lake Louise area, as I would like to personally handle your reservation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,922
    1,341
    539
    249
    107
See reviews for
1,534
3,168
172
297
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,974)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

The prestige of this hotel alone made our stay worthwhile, but the upgrade to the lake view room was excellent! The sculptures outside the hotel were gorgeous, and we rented skates and sticks for an awesome morning on Lake Louise!
I would recommend that everyone stay at this hotel at least once in their lives!
Our room was very clean, and king size bed was heavenly - but of course you can't take your eyes off the view!!!
We were a little disappointed by the hot tub, as we had stayed in Banff at the Caribou Lodge and theirs was amazing!
Great spot to stay while skiing Lake Louise!

Room Tip: We didn't originally book a lake view room because the cost was substantially higher - but after...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AnnGr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Staying at any Fairmont has pretty much been wonderful over the years. But Lake Louise is my favorite. The view, the air, the mountain walks. This year, Jan 2013, I would start my morning with a skate on the lake. I think if you know this hotel you know it is good. What you might not know is if you have purchased a Lake Louse Ski card, the Fairmont give you 50% off each nights stay. Yep. Do the math and you will be buying a card, whether or not you ski. Sweet.

Room Tip: Eat breakfast in the cafe. One third the price and simply delicious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PC800CC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FCLL, Executive Assistant to the General Manager at Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
While all Fairmonts around the world provide exceptional service, it's so nice to hear that we're your favourite! There's so much to do in Lake Louise that lets you really appreciate the wilderness. We look forward to having you back!

Warm Regards,
Lisa Riches
Executive Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MIA
Level Contributor
97 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

My partner and I when here in Feb. great winter escape. Very nice, elegant, luxurious hotel; very expensive even do, they have a casual western style restaurant not so expensive two people burger, fish and chips and beer US $ 115.00, also breakfast was about $ 33.00 per person but they have a deli where you could find bagels , croissant etc… less expensive. The hotel was half full so we were upgrade to a better view room ( Lake view ), on the summer may be harder or costly. Over all we got a great experience, hotel does ice sculpture on the back and an Ice skating ring, very neat, try the horse sledge.

Room Tip: We got room # 877 great lake view huge window, nice bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank REYNOL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Stayed at the Lake Louise Fairmont for our 10th Anniversary. Everyone was very friendly, great customer service. We were automatically upgraded to the 7th floor (Gold Floor) which was a pleasant surprise. Our room was very clean and cozy. The best restaurant was the Walliser Stube, absolutely great fine dining! Our stay was worth every penny but it did cost a bit (would have liked to have had a massage but it was above my budget). Lots of walking paths and winter activites. Would go back again... maybe check it out in the summer time.

Room Tip: A lake view room is very beautiful. The Gold (7th) floor comes with extra perks (free breakfast) but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank adimars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FCLL, Executive Assistant to the General Manager at Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Thank you so much for your review and for celebrating such a special occasion with us! I was thrilled to read that the service you received on Fairmont Gold was so exceptional. We hope to see you again soon!

Warm Regards,
Lisa Riches
Executive Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

I was expecting a lot more for the amount they charge for the room. After a day of skiing all I wanted was a hot shower. I didnt think that would be too much to ask especially since I was staying at the Fairmont. Every time I would turn on the shower it was always cold.
The beds are so uncomfortable. We couldn't sleep all night and ended up checking out early in the morning to just get some sleep at home.
The view and area are spectacular but there's a huge price to pay and I'm still no sure if its worth it.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SPR8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level Contributor
99 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013

The Chateau is not cheap, but is worth every penny. Service from all staff is first class. The rooms are spacious and a room with a view of the lake is worth the extra money. There is a wide choice of restaurants and a free shuttle bus service every 20 mins to Lake Louise Ski Resort. There is also a better choice of shops that in the nearby Samson Mall.

The Mountain Heritage Programme is excellent. There is a wide choice of activities other than ski-ing and the guides are extremely knowledgeable.

I stayed on the Gold Floor. This was worth the extra cost as included in the private lounge is a huge buffet breakfast (with eggs cooked to order); snacks and tea and coffee available all day, evening hot snacks and an honour bar. The Gold Floor staff are happy to book trips and simply to talk about the area.

I cannot wait for my next visit!

Room Tip: Lake view is essential and Gold Floor well worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AitchHW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FCLL, Executive Assistant to the General Manager at Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you so much for your review! I'm so pleased to hear that the service you experienced not only on Fairmont Gold but thoughout the rest of the hotel was so exceptional. I've shared your comments with our team. We look forward to welcoming you back!

Warm Regards,
Lisa Riches
Executive Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Louise hotels
1.8 mi away
Mountaineer Lodge
Mountaineer Lodge
#4 of 5 in Lake Louise
1,283 reviews
0.3 mi away
Deer Lodge
Deer Lodge
#5 of 5 in Lake Louise
1,593 reviews
1.7 mi away
Lake Louise Inn
Lake Louise Inn
#3 of 5 in Lake Louise
2,523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
HI Lake Louise Alpine Centre
HI Lake Louise Alpine Centre
#5 of 10 in Lake Louise
264 reviews
0.9 mi away
Paradise Lodge & Bungalows
Paradise Lodge & Bungalows
#1 of 10 in Lake Louise
682 reviews
8.0 mi away
Baker Creek Mountain Resort
Baker Creek Mountain Resort
#3 of 10 in Lake Louise
775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise

Property: Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
Address: 111 Lake Louise Drive, Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta T0L 1E0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Lake Louise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Lake Louise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise 4*
Number of rooms: 550
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by some of the most breathtaking scenery in the world, the iconic Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise resort is nestled deep within Banff National Park, a UNESCO World Heritage Site. Enveloped by soaring mountain peaks, the majestic Victoria Glacier and a glistening emerald lake, the natural beauty of this destination permeates every nook of the historic resort - originally built as a base for outdoor enthusiasts and alpinists. The Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise is a year-round luxury resort which specializes in offering extensive Guided Mountain Heritage programs, unparalleled skiing in the winter, exceptional food and beverage experiences and a new spa, The Spa at the Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Fairmont Hotels, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, TravelUp, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise Hotel Lake Louise
Chateau Lake Louise
Fairmont Lake Louise
Lake Louise Fairmont
Fairmont Hotel Lake Louise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing