We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Winter wonderland”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Lake Louise
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed February 21, 2013

After staying a few nights at Banff Springs, we drove for a one night day at lake louise. The drive was about an hour and were greated at the gates. The Banff springs is a nicer looking hotel from the outside but the prefer the look inside and the view of the mountains at lake loiuse. I was there over the weekend and there were a lot of families, too many children for my liking. Ice skating was fun and had a beatiful ice sculpture throught the center of the rink. There is a small fire to keep warm and a hocky rink to the side. The property has several impressive ice scuptures on display. Stop in the ice bar for specialty coffee or some ice wine. There are nice trails for hiking/cross country skiing. Rentals are within the hotel.
About an hour walk across the frozen lake, there is a stunning view of frozen water casading down the mountain. We ran out of time but I wanted to keep hikng to the famous tea house.
I had a quick bite to eat in bar/louge area and it was great. I also had a wonderful dinner at one of the fine dining restaurants.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank duckworths5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (6,778)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,861 - 4,867 of 6,778 reviews

Reviewed February 21, 2013

My husband and I traveled down the Icefields Parkway from Edmonton to Calgary. One of our overnight stops along the way was Chateau Lake Louise. We absolutely loved it, if you can afford the splurge, it is worth it.

The hotel is standard Fairmount, elegant and graceful. We upgraded to a room with a view and although the window was small, the view with picture perfect of Lake Louise. The room is a decent size and the beds are comfortable.

We dropped our bags and went exploring, the next 24 hrs consisted of several walks around the lake and a short hike up to the lookout point. Next time we come back we would plan to stay longer and do some of the longer hikes.

We had dinner at Lago – the Italian restaurant and enjoyed it, we found the staff to be very friendly and helpful. The next day we had lunch in the lounge overlooking the lake, it was very memorable especially considering it was Father’s Day.

This is one of my favourite places now and I would love to come back and stay longer next time!

Room Tip: Choose a room with a view of the lake, it is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelonJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FCLL, Executive Assistant to the General Manager at Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2013

Thank you so much for posting your review. There are so many things to see and do in the area - dining not the least of them. Lago is our only seasonal restaruant and is one of my favourites. We hope to see you again, fo longer next time!

Warm Regards,
Lisa Riches
Executive Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

my husband and I were married at the Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise (reception too). It is an amazing hotel. We married in September of 2007 and moved to Calgary from New York in January of 2011 because we wanted to live in the beauty of the Canadian Rockies. We visit often and try to stay at least once a year. We honeymooned at the Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge and also spent a week at the Fairmont Banff Springs. All three fairmont hotels are amazing in amazing locations! location location location!

Room Tip: great to have lake view room but even if it is a parking lot room - you just need to go to the loung...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vaca123tions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

I have just returned from a visit to the Fairmount Chateau Lake Louise with my 21year old daughter and 4year old that lives with us. We booked the Fairmount gold room which is truly the only way to go. This spacious two queen bed room was lovely. The bathroom is huge with a seperate shower and tub. The service on the 7 th floor was outstanding and the private lounge was never busy. There are complimentary soft drinks, tea, coffee and snacks. There is a very well stocked honour bar and complimentary DVDs and games available. The included hot breakfast was very tasty and fresh.
The rooms are spotless and our request for an early checkin (12:30 pm) was cheerfully accommodated. It is a real treat to visit lake Louise this time of year to see the ice sculptures and skate on the lake.
The only negative I would comment on would be the pool/ hot tub. They really are not up to standard of this lovely hotel. We have stayed at the Banff springs and they have numerous hot tubs and an amazing year round outside pool. The change rooms at this hotel are tiny with one toliet and only two showers.
It is not inexpensive to stay but with all the included extras on the gold level it really does save on drink and snacks. Children under 5 eat free in the restaurants and there is a 30%discount for Alberta residents That isn't very well advertised.
I think this is a very special resort that set in a stunning location that everyone should try to visit!
It is not inexpensive to stay but the extra

Room Tip: Fair mount gold on the 7 th floor is well worth the extra charge. I wouldn't pay extra for the l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mcmCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FCLL, Executive Assistant to the General Manager at Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2013

Fairmont Gold truly is a hotel within a hotel and I am thrilled you enjoyed your stay so much. The private Fairmont Gold Concierge team are exceptional.
I have shared your comments concerning the pool area with our Executive team, who will be reviewing the area for future renovation plans.
We hope to see you again soon!

Warm Regards,
Lisa Riches
Executive Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Lived in Alberta and never in my life ever went up to the Fairmont Hotel. Arrived and greetings of happy employees willing to help. Fast check in and up into the room that looked over the lake; where you see little fire pit and skating and cross country sking. That was a small part on how this hotel brings the total experience of the mountains to you. After a walk about, :0 ) listening to a harp player( string type) for my red neck fans.
Well after hearing all about the Swiss part of the hotel serving fodue I had to have the experience. Well! everyone else had the same wonderful idea and it was full. So I know how much the concierge is to help in any way possible. I went there with smile and begged! She was so helpful and pleasant that I wanted to join her team. To Management, she if possible needs a pat on the back for a outstanding job she does for you. It was to die for as the best fondue ever. So please treat yourself.

Room Tip: The staff are outstanding
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We spent three nights at the Chateau over the Family Day weekend. We booked using our Ski Louise card rate which includes parking, so it was a great deal and we were upgraded to a deluxe lakeview room with two queen beds (#509). These rooms on the 5th floor have balconies, a large washroom with two sinks and a very large walk in closet with built-ins which are great for a family of four coming on a weekend of skiing and skating as you drag a lot of gear with you.

A couple of tips learned from this recent stay:

-- regularly scheduled maintenance on the hot tub is done on Thursday evenings, while the sign says “until further notice” all was up and running as usual on Friday

-- the refrigerators you find in your room are not exactly that, they are more like plug in coolers, they do not get very cold and staff indicated this is commented on by many guests – we called down and they actually sent us up a real refrigerator, which worked great but does take up extra space in your room

-- Lake Louise is a part of Banff National Park and is a tourist attraction that draws visitors all year long, most of which are not staying at the hotel, this is indicated by the very full large parking lot adjacent to the hotel as well as busses that bring in tourist to see the lake and hike around it – if you are surprised by the number of people visiting the lake and it’s view, keep in mind that the hotel has been built right beside a national treasure and not the other way around!

-- the ski shuttle should have a sign in process – on busier days you can have people waiting for 15 minutes and clearly by the numbers know that not everyone is going to get on the next shuttle – and then people show up at the very last minute and cram onto the bus with their skis in hand – this is not fair and there should be a sign up sheet so it is truly first come first served. Also, if people ski they should know that you do not get on ANY shuttle with your skis in hand – so the hotel is not responsible for poorly mannered guests!

-- if you want or need foam pillows, as we did because our son was allergic to feather pillows and spent his first night very stuffed up as we were not delivered foam pillows as was requested during our reservation – then be prepared to call several times – it took me 4 phone calls in total to get 1 foam pillow for my son to sleep on – twice they brought up more feather pillows – so this is another area where the hotel can improve.

Room Tip: If you live outside of the area and this is the only time you are going to stay here then get a Lake...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SMacDonald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FCLL, Executive Assistant to the General Manager at Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2013

Thank you so much for your review. Family Day weekend is certainly a busy one for the hotel and the Lake Louise area but I am very pleased that the service you recieved was still top notch. Your tips are excellent. I have shared your comment about the foam pillow with our Executive Housekeeper, as it certainly should not have been such a hassle.
We hope to see you and your family again soon!

Warm Regards,
Lisa Riches
Executive Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

This hotel is in one of the most scenic locations in the world. The mountains and lake are beautiful. However, be prepared to pay top dollar. The rooms facing the lake are worth the extra money. Most of the rooms are small, with small bathrooms. Suites are available. The service is great and the recreational activities world class. There is a pool and a hot tub that the kids enjoy. In the winter their is skating on the lake, and ice carvings to enjoy.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FastEddie9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Louise
1.8 mi away
Mountaineer Lodge
Mountaineer Lodge
#4 of 5 in Lake Louise
1,430 reviews
0.3 mi away
Deer Lodge
Deer Lodge
#5 of 5 in Lake Louise
1,755 reviews
1.7 mi away
Lake Louise Inn
Lake Louise Inn
#3 of 5 in Lake Louise
3,046 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 mi away
Emerald Lake Lodge
8.0 mi away
Baker Creek Mountain Resort
Baker Creek Mountain Resort
#3 of 10 in Lake Louise
884 reviews
6.4 mi away
Moraine Lake Lodge
Moraine Lake Lodge
#1 of 10 in Lake Louise
784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise

Address: 111 Lake Louise Drive, Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta T0L 1E0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Lake Louise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Lake Louise
Price Range: $277 - $811 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise 4*
Number of rooms: 552
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by some of the most breathtaking scenery in the world, the iconic Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise resort is nestled deep within Banff National Park, a UNESCO World Heritage Site. Enveloped by soaring mountain peaks, the majestic Victoria Glacier and a glistening emerald lake, the natural beauty of this destination permeates every nook of the historic resort - originally built as a base for outdoor enthusiasts and alpinists. The Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise is a year-round luxury resort which specializes in offering extensive Guided Mountain Heritage programs, unparalleled skiing in the winter, exceptional food and beverage experiences and a new spa, The Spa at the Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fairmont Hotels, Travelocity, Expedia, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise Hotel Lake Louise
Chateau Lake Louise
Fairmont Lake Louise
Lake Louise Fairmont
Fairmont Hotel Lake Louise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing