We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“A hotel with a view” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Lake Louise
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A hotel with a view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

The hotel is old but still in good condition. A little bit like in a train station at the lobby with many outside guests sightseeing. Guess it was due to peak season. There are some shuttle bus that will take you to some spots nearby. Some free, some don't. You don't have to worry with recreational activities, all were taken care of. Definitely good for family. Not to forget, the view from the room was just gorgeous! Took my breath away. I'd love to return, and definitely longer stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HH_Bon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,064 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,132
    1,154
    458
    222
    98
See reviews for
1,245
2,564
141
259
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,643)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012 via mobile

Had a wonderful stay & my family enjoyed all the amenities & we tried things that we thought cost a lot but surprising quite reasonable.
Had dinner at Glacier Saloon, great food and very reasonably priced for a family of 5...
And the Chateau Deli was a great alternative to a quick meal & good coffee...

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bib1508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

If you want to relax and get away from it all, the Chateau is where to be. From the minute we arrived we knew we were in for a treat and it only got better each day. So peaceful and idyllic. It was late November and the snow was beautiful. We literally hiked for miles each day and took hot chocolate breaks between excursions. The evenings were filled with cocktails and delightfully delicious food. Our mornings began with a breakfast to die for on the 7th floor reception area.. We have traveled all over and this trip and home (the Fairmont) will be remembered as one of our best and most relaxing.

Room Tip: Opt for the Gold
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Carol F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FCLL, Executive Assistant to the General Manager at Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
The hikes around Lake Louise, whether in summer or winter, are some of the best in the world! And hot chocolate breaks are just the thing in the snowy seasons. We hope you'll be able to visit us again soon!

Warm Regards,
Lisa Riches
Executive Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
111 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

We have stayed at the Chateau many times - we live in Calgary so it's not too far to travel. Every time we see the lake, it's different, that's what makes it so beautiful and worth a visit. The Chateau itself has a wide variety of rooms, getting a lake view is a definite bonus - first thing in the morning, the lake can be calm like a sheet of glass. We just came back from there yesterday where, as always, the staff were very friendly, and the hotel very clean. Food can be quite expensive, but generally it is very good. Towards the end of January (Jan 18-27, 2013) the Ice Magic Festival takes place outside the hotel - an awesome time to visit!!

Room Tip: It costs more, but a Lakeview Room is worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Deb-Mark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
44 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

The Chateau is not fancy by any means. One gets this impression when one sees the constant arrival of tour buses. HOWEVER, its location and staff make you forget that. It is absolutely breathtaking and peaceful. Not only that, the staff of the hotel makes it one of the friendliest and most helpful I have encountered. Management definitely has the place running smoothly. Another most noteworthy characteristic is its pet friendly atmosphere. Our dog was able to mingle and play with Marcus(the hotel dog) and the other dog guests. We stayed at the concierge floor where everything was well taken care. I would definitely come back to this place.

Room Tip: Ask for the concierge room- fairmont gold
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jmrmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
81 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Beyond its incredible setting, the Fairmont Chateau was the perfect place for a great early December stay. The property is large, yet it offers the excellent service one expects at a smaller property. Uniformly -- the staff is excellent -- from the bell men, to the Gold Floor Concierges (Jeff and Jess) to the people that staff the retail stores on premise. This is an extremely well run hotel and cannot think of anything else they could have done to make our stay better. We will definitely return. THe hotel is equally welcoming to dogs -- and ours felt right at home there. Just an all around amazing experience.

Room Tip: lake view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank amanwarren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FCLL, Executive Assistant to the General Manager at Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Thank you so much for your review! I'm thrilled that you had a chance to enjoy Fairmont Gold - they truly are a hotel within a hotel. We hope to see you back again in 2013!

Warm Regards,
Lisa Riches
Executive Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

I've been lucky enough to stay in some of the best hotels in the world during my life time in business, and i place this hotel in the top 5. When i retired i decided that me and my lovely wife would have a 4weeks holiday touring Alberta Canada and this was the best hotel we stayed in. In the event , we loved it so much that we stayed for 5 nights using it as a base whilst we went out to explore more of the wonderful scenery in Alberta.
Without any reservations whatsoever i can highly recommend this fantastic hotel, obviously it doesn't come cheap, but is great value for what you get.

Room Tip: Ask if there's a room available which overlooks the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DesmondHawley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Louise
1.7 mi away
Post Hotel & Spa
Post Hotel & Spa
#1 of 5 in Lake Louise
4.5 of 5 stars 775 reviews
1.8 mi away
Mountaineer Lodge
Mountaineer Lodge
#3 of 5 in Lake Louise
3.5 of 5 stars 1,011 reviews
0.3 mi away
Deer Lodge
Deer Lodge
#4 of 5 in Lake Louise
3.0 of 5 stars 1,260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
The Great Divide Lodge
1.7 mi away
Lake Louise Inn
Lake Louise Inn
#5 of 5 in Lake Louise
3.0 of 5 stars 1,526 reviews
1.6 mi away
HI Lake Louise Alpine Centre
HI Lake Louise Alpine Centre
#4 of 9 in Lake Louise
4.0 of 5 stars 228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise

Property: Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
Address: 111 Lake Louise Drive, Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta T0L 1E0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Lake Louise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Lake Louise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise 4*
Number of rooms: 550
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by some of the most breathtaking scenery in the world, the iconic Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise resort is nestled deep within Banff National Park, a UNESCO World Heritage Site. Enveloped by soaring mountain peaks, the majestic Victoria Glacier and a glistening emerald lake, the natural beauty of this destination permeates every nook of the historic resort - originally built as a base for outdoor enthusiasts and alpinists. The Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise is a year-round luxury resort which specializes in offering extensive Guided Mountain Heritage programs, unparalleled skiing in the winter, exceptional food and beverage experiences and a new spa, The Spa at the Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Fairmont Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, HotelTravel.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise Hotel Lake Louise
Chateau Lake Louise
Fairmont Lake Louise
Lake Louise Fairmont
Fairmont Hotel Lake Louise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing