We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantasic mountain getaway” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Lake Louise
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Fantasic mountain getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2011

I have been to the Chateau Lake Louise several times. We are from Calgary so it's very close for us to drive there.
The Chateau never disappoints. If you enjoy fondue I highly recommend Walister Stube for dinner!
The room we stayed in this time faced the lake, the view is nice but the room is small. We've stayed in other room categories where we had hardwood floors and even a doorbell. This particular stay was just for one night so we didn't feel we needed the fuss.
The weather was rainy, but the views are still gorgeous.
There are plenty of walking trails to hike. Canoe in the lake for $45/hr.
Self parking is $25 smackers!!
Overall we love coming out to escape from the big city life in Calgary and the Chateau gives us all the pampering we need.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Calgariancouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,901 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,745
    1,289
    517
    244
    106
See reviews for
1,485
3,009
163
287
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,896)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melville, New York
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2011

First time in Lake Louise/Banff National Park. We had a mountain view room on the Fairmont Gold (7th) floor. The Gold floor give you access to a private lounge which is open every day from 6:30 am to 10pm and provides a delicious breakfast, drinks and snacks any time you want, and pre-dinner cocktails (they do charge for alcohol) and hors d'oeuvres. They also provide their own check-in/check-out and conceirge. The Gold floor was well worth the extra cost. The Gold team staff was terrific. The room was clean and spacious.

The hotel restaurants are over-rated, especially the Fairview Dining Room which suffers from slow service and poorly trained staff. Go to the Post Hotel Dining Room instead - that restaurant is way better in every way.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BarbaraMichael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Level Contributor
72 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2011

We stayed at the Fairmont for three nights during a family trip celebrating my dad's 70th birthday. I mentioned this in passing during check-in, and they graciously upgraded us to wonderfully spacious rooms with lake view (thanks again, Pradeep!) and even sent a complimentary fruit basket with the best birthday wishes. Truly outstanding service in line with the Fairmont standard!

The rooms themselves were excellently appointed (bathrooms as large as what others offer you for the entire room) though they did show minor signs of (mis-) use such as stains on the carpet. The wonderful view of the lake through the big windows more than made up for that.

Dinner experiences varied a bit, with the food always very good (and surprisingly good value for money) but service ranging from good to merely mediocre. That was especially true for the afternoon tea: Excellent sweets, great surroundings, but inattentive and slightly arrogant service.
Breakfast buffet is highly recommended, they have a huge variety of food and everything is of top quality.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GermanyTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakton, Virginia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2011

We stayed one night at the Lake Louise Fairmont. The view was great, the hiking was excellent but we got a little bored when not hiking. If you plan to do several hikes around the lake I would recommend staying in Banff and driving up for the day.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ropfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oman
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights and have been very disappointed. Rooms were very small and dated, tiny en-suites. We had 3 complaints to management:
1) Water was switched off due maintenance and we were promised bottled water which never arrived even after we contacted reception.
2) Rooms were not cleaned correctly, dirty glasses were left unwashed.
3) Beds very uncomfortable, neither of us got a good nights sleep.

Setting is spectacular but I would suggest staying at one of the hotel near by.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KevinTumilty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales
Level Contributor
302 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2011

This is not to be missed - a great experience in both the hotel and the surrounding areas.

Service and welcome excellent - i think the only issue we had was getting access to our choice of restaurant on the first evening so worth booking in advance.

The lake views are just superb and the trails around are very good.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
70 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2011

The hotel has the location going for it hands down, but very pricey for the level of service/quality. Our room A/C didn't work, the plumbing was backed up, and when we tried to order room service, we got rerouted after several attempts through maintenance, the concierge, and housekeeping. Fantastic views, although I agree that the hotel is run down and "old." Windows are small in all rooms except the suites, which have a nice balcony but run over $1,000/night. I'd make it a day trip and wouldn't stay again. Had maintenance men in our room for the first 2 hours, and then no response when we asked for some accommodation. If you routinely stay in Fairmonts and money is no object, fine. If this is a splurge, go to the Fairmont Jasper Lodge instead. MUCH better, more modern property and equally (if not more) stunning location on a gorgeous glacial lake.

Room Tip: To get the best room, pay the most you can afford.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dheads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Louise hotels
1.8 mi away
Mountaineer Lodge
Mountaineer Lodge
#4 of 5 in Lake Louise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,220 reviews
0.3 mi away
Deer Lodge
Deer Lodge
#5 of 5 in Lake Louise
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,513 reviews
1.7 mi away
Lake Louise Inn
Lake Louise Inn
#3 of 5 in Lake Louise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Paradise Lodge & Bungalows
Paradise Lodge & Bungalows
#1 of 10 in Lake Louise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
3.9 mi away
Moraine Lake Lodge
Moraine Lake Lodge
#2 of 10 in Lake Louise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
4.1 mi away
Baker Creek Mountain Resort
Baker Creek Mountain Resort
#3 of 10 in Lake Louise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise

Property: Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
Address: 111 Lake Louise Drive, Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta T0L 1E0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Lake Louise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Lake Louise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise 4*
Number of rooms: 550
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by some of the most breathtaking scenery in the world, the iconic Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise resort is nestled deep within Banff National Park, a UNESCO World Heritage Site. Enveloped by soaring mountain peaks, the majestic Victoria Glacier and a glistening emerald lake, the natural beauty of this destination permeates every nook of the historic resort - originally built as a base for outdoor enthusiasts and alpinists. The Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise is a year-round luxury resort which specializes in offering extensive Guided Mountain Heritage programs, unparalleled skiing in the winter, exceptional food and beverage experiences and a new spa, The Spa at the Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Fairmont Hotels, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise Hotel Lake Louise
Chateau Lake Louise
Fairmont Lake Louise
Lake Louise Fairmont
Fairmont Hotel Lake Louise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing