We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great scenery, great service = great experience”
Review of Skoki Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lake Louise
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Skoki Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 1, 2009

Like a number of other Canadian Rockies back country lodges, you must expect to hike in carrying your own personal effects for your 2 or 3 night stay. So no surprises as we took 4 hours 15 minutes from the trail head where the truck dropped us, to the Lodge. It was just under 11 km with 500 m vertical elevation gain across Deception Pass. You also have to climb out on your return trip, taking us about 5 hours, using a different route and stopping to admire the views.
This Lodge, unlike some others, doesn't have running water hot showers but it does have one of the best, most scenic hikes both in and out. If you're lucky like us, you will have warm / hot weather and blue skies. It does have nice stream that provided an invigorating, short refreshing bath.
The food, as we've found in all lodges to date, is great and plentiful. Beef tenderloin one night and halibut the next with some interesting side dishes. They also provided a special meal for a couple that advised that they didn't eat red meat.
We found the rooms in the lodge to be comfortable but they aren't sound-proof by any means.
However, the main reason for us to go to these back country lodges is to experience the back country and hikes that would be too long and tiring for us aging hikers if attempted as day hikes and would require too much effort to carry in your own tents and food. If you have 2 nights there, the recommended day hike is Merlins Lake which is an interesting hike ending at the lake with the potential to continue up to 2 higher lakes (which we did) or scramble up the spires of Merlin's Castle (which we didn't do).

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BabyboomerCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (102)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 102 reviews

Reviewed July 24, 2009

We really enjoy "hike-in" lodges like Skoki, and this trip did not disappoint.

It is somewhere between tent camping and a lodge (outside toilets and no showers), but for 2 nights, I highly recommend the place.

Food was very good....staff was nice. Would have been nice if the staff spent a little more time talking about the history of the place.....very neat history to Skoki.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Matt723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2009

My husband and I decided to do a Skoki hike this year with alot of friends from my hiking group. they do it every year but this year they had an opening so we took it. What a wonderful hike. We went for 3 days. The scenery was just beautiful. There was still snow us there is places. The weather was good. The staff was wonderful and the food was great. I would reccomend this hike to anyone that likes to hike. It is about 11km long hike. good value

  • Stayed: June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ldydi2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2008

We skied into Skoki in Jan. The temp was -25. We rented equipment from magic mountain in Banff, skis with edges, back country boots and skins. The equipment was amazing, no blisters. The trip was challenging for me. I was not used to the heavier equipment and the cold was tough, I got frost bite going across the lake. Made it in 4 hours. Kate was there to greet us with homemade everything, chili, scones, cheeses, oysters etc.. Her husband told stories about skoki and the incoming company awesome. It was a full house for 2 of the 3 nights. Part of what makes it so enjoyable is the scenery, of course, the people, and getting there on your own.
Leaving was more enjoyable because of the warmer and clearer weather. We spent more time gazing at the breath taking scenery. The whole experience was life altering. Thanks.
Downside: the lodge's fire could be stoked in early am. It's pretty cold getting up.

Stayed: January 2008
5  Thank herbaltea_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2005

We visited in the summer of 2003, just before the lodge's long time caretakers/innkeepers (Blake O'Brien & Jennifer Lee) left for their new job at Mount Engadine Lodge in Kananaskis Country. We heard that they were taking Skoki's excellent cook with them so I don't know if the food at Skoki is still outstanding.

The stunning setting and incredible ambience and intimate charm of the lodge itself is sure to be the same. I highly recommend a visit. It is expensive and worth every penny.

  • Stayed: July 2003
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank JoannaM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2004

Whether you stay in the summer or during the winter...this a very special place. Skoki is a backcountry lodge not accessible by road [11k hike from Lake Louise Ski Resort]. All supplies are brought in by horse or snowmobile.
While through-hiking in the summers of 1998 and 1999 I stopped by for a cup of coffee. Both times the staff was preparing dinner and the cooking smelled delicious. It's in a great setting and you feel you are in a unique place. Last spring I snowshoed in and stayed for one night. Fantastic food, wonderful guests and a terrific staff. This place is a treasure!

14  Thank casaled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2015
Google Translation

Room Tip: 人気が高いのでとにかく早めに予約すること。2~4人ならロッジ内の部屋だが、それ以上なら別棟のキャビンもあるので、自分たちに合った部屋を選択すること。
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2015, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank POSITY800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Louise hotels
1.4 mi away
Mountaineer Lodge
Mountaineer Lodge
#4 of 5 in Lake Louise
1,439 reviews
2.7 mi away
Deer Lodge
Deer Lodge
#5 of 5 in Lake Louise
1,761 reviews
2.9 mi away
Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Moraine Lake Lodge
Moraine Lake Lodge
#2 of 10 in Lake Louise
788 reviews
2.3 mi away
Paradise Lodge & Bungalows
Paradise Lodge & Bungalows
#1 of 10 in Lake Louise
759 reviews
7.6 mi away
Baker Creek Mountain Resort
Baker Creek Mountain Resort
#3 of 10 in Lake Louise
899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Skoki Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skoki Lodge

Address: P.O. Box 5, Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta T0L 1E0, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Lake Louise
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Lake Louise
Price Range: $148 - $206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Skoki Lodge is situated in a beautiful high alpine region in Banff National Park. The eleven kilometer trail from Lake Louise to the Skoki Valley makes Skoki Lodge an ideal destination for hikers and skiers of all levels. From Skoki Lodge one can access breathtaking mountain ridges and alpine lakes, or explore five different adjoining valleys. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Skoki Hotel Lake Louise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing