We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great snow, amazing day”
Review of Skoki Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lake Louise
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Skoki Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great snow, amazing day”
Reviewed February 27, 2014

Beautiful scenery complimented by great snow and amazing weather. Super culinary experience that which Skoki is world renown. Looking forward I making this an annual trip. Special thanks to resident chef and host Kate and her dog Lucy.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Jaro-ab-Rockies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    12
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
17
34
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2014

We just got back from a 3 night stay at Skoki Lodge and we are still reliving the magic of that place. If you are looking for a unique five star mountain hut experience then Skoki is where you must go. It was built in the 1930's and since then many people, both skiers and hikers have enjoyed it's hospitality (including royals the last of which were William and Kate in 2011).

If you are looking for modern conveniences, electronic stuff, wifi connection, a swimming pool, car access - you know... the typical stuff you get in hotels… then this is not the place for you. On the other hand if you are looking for a magical mountain experience appearing to be far from civilization (you have to hike or ski in depending on the season) and yet doable for all ages. We met 75 year olds skiing out and 8 year olds skiing in… then this is where you will want to go, for sure!!

We skied the 11 km from Temple Lodge over two passes and with the aid of the bright red stakes leading us along the trail we easily found our way to this wilderness paradise.

The food that is cooked by Chef Katie is of the highest quality… amazing that she can produce such delicious meals every day that you might expect to experience in a 5 star restaurant in the middle of New York. The supplies are brought in once a week by skidoo in the winter and on horseback in the summer. She has to order all her supplies using a VHF style radio. Amazing! Not only that - they accommodate special dietary needs… one of our party could not eat wheat and believe me, she ate as well as the rest of us and had as much as she wanted!

Katie and her husband Leo run a hotel that is fit for any king, queen, prince or princess (even if we are self proclaimed!). Their staff is knowledgeable, keen to share their local expertise for those of us who wanted to do day skis in the area and are warm and hospitable to all.

I was there 23 years ago and finally made it back this year… and believe me it won't be another 23 years before we go again (more like 23 months!).

Start saving your shekels for an experience you will never forget.

Room Tip: If you like being surrounded by people and hearing the normal sounds of people around you then you w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank cath_traveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2014

The lodge in winter is charming and cozy with leather sofas and day beds topped with throw pillows for reclining.

Staff make the stay: kudos to Nicole, Mike and Kim. The young ones are learning to be lovely hosts in the absence of Leo/Katie Mitzel.

Tips:
- bring a head lamp for your bedroom as they do get dark, despite the provided lantern
- light sleepers should book a cabin, not a lodge room
- hut booties were useful for time spent in the main lodge for meals/lounging
- if you are a MUST for fluffy pillows, bring your own (the Skoki room only provided one super thin pillow each)
- tips are extra. Bring cash to the backcountry.
- credit cards & cash are accepted for wine/beer/soft drinks...they'll open you up a tab.
- there is a piano for anyone who can play!

Room Tip: For any light sleepers, be sure to book a cabin not a lodge room. Built in the 1930s, the lodge room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank KelzFlower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 7, 2014

My wife is gluton free and indicated that when we booked. We've always heard how amazing the baking is up there. If you eat wheat I'd agree with the other reviews. BUT if you are gluton free, expect a plastic wrapped brownie next to the assortment of cakes and pies for tea. Breakfast a plastic wrapped bagel next to the fresh scones, same for lunch. After been teased all day with this amazing baking she got a good gluton free dessert. But another guest asked for a second piece, which is reasonable considering they missed out on all the other baking. Nope only 1 piece per guest. But we did see the kitchen staff eating the rest of the gluton free dessert...

For the price there should be guided hikes and ski tours.

In short they cater to allergies but don't step up like other lodges do. We left being disappointed .

Room Tip: Stay in the Cabins. The lodge rooms are noisy as there are grates in the floor to allow the heat up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skilakelouise, Manager at Skoki Lodge, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
We are saddened that you feel this way after your visit Scott, however for the benefit of future guests with dietary requirements we would like to add our own comments.

Our kitchen is small and located in the backcountry, we notify anyone with dietary requirements that we will do everything to accommodate them, but they can feel free to supplement where they see fit. Every dinner (for all guests) during your stay was entirely gluten free and enjoyed by all. Breakfast was UDI’s bagels and hot steel cut oats with an assortment of fillings available for the bagels at lunch. Other gluten free food included an awesome chocolate cake, crème brulee, brownies and rice crispies. Importantly, our staff have never denied a guest a second serving if it is available and will never eat food that is desired by our guests.

Guided trips are not offered because we are not licensed to do so, however our staff are happy to provide information and maps on the surrounding area.

We attempt to make everyone’s stay as comfortable and enjoyable as possible, not matter what special requirements they may have. Our guest have consistently given Skoki and ‘excellent’ rating and in particular our food receives very positive reviews.

Regards,
Katie and Leo – Skoki Lodge Managers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yellowknife, Northwest Territories, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

When you get to the lodge, in winter, you smell wood smoke and imagine left over cake and hot tea.. coming from Deception Pass.. you deserve it. Pampering yourself here means being well feed at 8pm, in bed at 9 pm (10 if you are a party animal)' and out of bed at 7 am with the smell of fresh bread and coffee. Then, with a topo map ... you explore .. on your own, or teaming up with other guests. Skoki is a secret to pass on to friends only. No frivolities, real warm welcome, good books, excellent food, beds to wallow in, and conversations.. if you crave others things.. stay in Banff.

Room Tip: in lodge ask for the room with the ghost, or select a cabin
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Suzanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merrimack, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
85 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Skoki lodge is a great place.
If you are a hiker you will not find the hike in too difficult, especially considering you get a ride up to the end of the road. The views are outstanding on the way in (alpine lakes, glaciers).
The food and hospitality are amazing. Of course this comes with a price. The lodge is very expensive. But an excellent way to spend some time in the back country; especially if you are not a backpacker.
A great experience !

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank cloudsrest57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
63 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

This is a once-in-the-life-time experience. Hard to get to, the hike will be strenuous but achievable. That makes the result so much better. The lodge is an oasis. The 3 cabins are far quieter than the lodge. The food is amazing. Fresh, tasty, satisfying. The hikes from the lodge are wonderful. Understated in terms of challenge, but very rewarding. We spent two nights. Do not go for less. We left a little tired but energized too, talking about returning with our kids.

Room Tip: Cabins ahed of lodge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Calgaryfamilyof5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Louise hotels
1.4 mi away
Mountaineer Lodge
Mountaineer Lodge
#4 of 5 in Lake Louise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,254 reviews
2.7 mi away
Deer Lodge
Deer Lodge
#5 of 5 in Lake Louise
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,555 reviews
2.9 mi away
Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Lake Louise Inn
Lake Louise Inn
#3 of 5 in Lake Louise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,369 reviews
2.3 mi away
Paradise Lodge & Bungalows
Paradise Lodge & Bungalows
#2 of 10 in Lake Louise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 680 reviews
7.6 mi away
Baker Creek Mountain Resort
Baker Creek Mountain Resort
#3 of 10 in Lake Louise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Skoki Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skoki Lodge

Property: Skoki Lodge
Address: P.O. Box 5, Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta T0L 1E0, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Lake Louise
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Lake Louise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Skoki Lodge is situated in a beautiful high alpine region in Banff National Park. The eleven kilometer trail from Lake Louise to the Skoki Valley makes Skoki Lodge an ideal destination for hikers and skiers of all levels. From Skoki Lodge one can access breathtaking mountain ridges and alpine lakes, or explore five different adjoining valleys. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Skoki Hotel Lake Louise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing