We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“DESCRIBED WELL” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mountaineer Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mountaineer Lodge
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Lake Louise
Placentia, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“DESCRIBED WELL”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2014

Liked the facility's proximity to the sites we wanted to visit. Enjoyed the huge spa. Sizable room for two people. Complimentary breakfast choices were good. Room clean except for food crumbs under baseboard radiator from previous guest.

Room Tip: Good location for Lake Louise Village, Lake Louise, and Moraine Lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountaineer L, Manager at Mountaineer Lodge, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Thank you for staying with us at the Mountaineer Lodge and sharing your feedback. It was a pleasure to read that you had enjoyed your accommodations and amenities. We look forward to welcoming you back again on your next trip to Lake Louise.

Warm regards,

Trevor
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    457
    339
    152
    64
See reviews for
409
532
58
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
SK
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

We traveled as a family and had to stay in Lake Louise area. Usually we prefer to stay in Canmore, as, in general, it is more affordable and offers more options of accommodation.

Pros: location is right in Lake Louise village, so it is easy to get food; price was okay compared to other hotels; free breakfast; check-in was smooth and fast.

Cons: general cleanliness could and should be improved: found hair on the bathroom floor, coffee maker was not washed; poor soundproofing (bring your earplugs).

If we had to stay in Lake Louise area for one night, we might give this lodge another chance. But, if possible, we would stay in another hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank welirang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acton
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

The service was excellent and friendly - reservation taken by phone matched the best online price. The room was spacious, clean and had all the necessary amenities - fridge and microwave especially appreciated. Very comfortable king size bed. No air conditioning, but two screened windows that opened kept the room cool enough at night. No elevator to second floor, but hotel was fully booked so I was unable to get a main floor room. Book well in advance if you have a lot of luggage and don't want to have to carry it upstairs. This was not a major inconvenience, as the stairway was wide and not steep. I was in the main lodge. The other building had laundry facilities and a complimentary breakfast was offered, but I did not have time to make use of either of those. There was a minor problem with the TV, but it was handled quickly by the staff. The location is excellent in Lake Louise Village. The mall is across the main road from the hotel. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Sherry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountaineer L, Manager at Mountaineer Lodge, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Thank you for staying with us and sharing your feedback. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your accommodations while visiting Lake Louise. I agree, our lodge is well situated in the Lake Louise and close to everything. We do hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back again.

Kind regards,

Trevor
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

All items in breakfast room should be available for all guests throughout breakfast hours.
Speed of Wifi should be improved.
Channels in TV should be increased.
Inside of rooms is looking very good but outside appearance of the lodge is not so good. External appearance can be improved.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank sushantakumar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountaineer L, Manager at Mountaineer Lodge, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Thank you for staying with us and sharing your feedback. As well, thank you for the suggestions on areas that could be updated and improved in our lodge. With regards to the continental breakfast, we serve the breakfast daily from 7am to 10am. We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Warm regards,
Trevor
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

We were overnighting in the area for just 1night and wanted a hotel that could house my father in law, his sister, my husband and I with 2kids. The mountaineer has family rooms that we could all stay together in without feeling too awkward. The beds are comfy, pillows are fluffy and full and the continental breakfast beat all our expectations. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Charbswims
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountaineer L, Manager at Mountaineer Lodge, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Thank you for staying with us and sharing your feedback. It was a delight to read that you had enjoyed your accommodations and amenities. We have just recently changed out all of our beds and from the looks of it, the selection of beds was on the mark. We look forward to the opportunity to welcoming you back again.

Kind regards,

Trevor
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

booking Mountaineer lodge from internet, and was charged for a deposit, which is not common. the room is comfortable and clean. was waked up by the train noise, fell in sleep soon. breakfast included.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Samul Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2014

The front desk staff were excellent. Location was close to main road and thus
no view. The T.V. was a fossil and cable selection was poor. Wi-fi was fair.
The breakfast for 200.00 a night was bleak. What those waffles were made of
is beyond me.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank anthony f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Louise hotels
1.5 mi away
Deer Lodge
Deer Lodge
#5 of 5 in Lake Louise
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,513 reviews
1.8 mi away
Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
0.4 mi away
Lake Louise Inn
Lake Louise Inn
#3 of 5 in Lake Louise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Paradise Lodge & Bungalows
Paradise Lodge & Bungalows
#1 of 10 in Lake Louise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
2.8 mi away
Baker Creek Mountain Resort
Baker Creek Mountain Resort
#3 of 10 in Lake Louise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
3.6 mi away
Moraine Lake Lodge
Moraine Lake Lodge
#2 of 10 in Lake Louise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountaineer Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountaineer Lodge

Property: Mountaineer Lodge
Address: 101 Village Road, Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta T0L 1E0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Lake Louise
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Lake Louise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Mountaineer Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A great central location in the village, 5 minutes from Lake Louise ski area, free breakfast, free ski shuttle and affordable accommodations makes the Mountaineer Lodge a popular spot to stay in Lake Louise. This 78 room hotel offers a variety of including rooms with one king, two queens, family suites and two bedroom suites. All rooms have a fridge, high speed Internet (Wi-Fi) and most include a microwave as well. Complimentary continental breakfast is served daily in the Breakfast Room. Popular with skiers is our secure ski storage, waxing room and free ski shuttle to Lake Louise ski area. The hot tub, steam room and spectacular mountain views are sure to round out your Lake Louise vacation experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Mountaineer Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountaineer Hotel Lake Louise
Mountaineer Lake Louise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing