We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient Location” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mountaineer Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mountaineer Lodge
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Lake Louise
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Convenient Location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2014

The Mountaineer Lodge is basically an older type 2 floor, 2 building motel unit with added rustic railings and decor. It is basic but clean. There are no elevators, so if you have trouble with stairs, make sure you request a ground floor room. You can't beat the location though. It is within walking distance of the small shopping center stores and just a very short drive up to Lake Louise! The free breakfast is better than most continental breakfasts -- includes waffles, fruit, cereal, toast, muffins, coffee, and drinks. This is a fine place to stay to base your travels of the Lake Louise area and the prices were the best I could find in this expensive part of Canada.

Room Tip: Request a ground floor if you have issues with stairs - no elevator!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anita1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountaineer L, Manager at Mountaineer Lodge, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Thank you for staying with us and sharing your feedback. It was a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your accommodations and amenities. I agree that we are well situated and close to many sightseeing areas. Great tips for future bookers as well. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Warm regards,

Trevor
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    457
    340
    152
    64
See reviews for
409
532
58
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Genoa, Italy
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2014

It was very pleasant to stay there.Many things to do around. The atmosphere is very pleasant and invites you to enjoy the beautiful nature that is around you. One of the best places to relax and enjoy your vacation.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Commissario12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Revelstoke`
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2014

Stayed in two bedroom suite. Lots of room in unit but not well utilized. Train was quite loud so it isn't the greatest location. Other hotels are much more expensive so this place is adequate option. Breakfast and internet included in price.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Timothy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountaineer L, Manager at Mountaineer Lodge, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Thank you for staying with us and sharing your feedback. Since acquiring the Mountaineer we have been introducing updates to the complete lodge including a breakfast room, new beds and adding microwaves and fridges to all units. More updates are to come to our lodge. We do hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back again.

Kind regards,

Trevor
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lekkerkerk
Level Contributor
52 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2014

lake louise is relatively more expensive than banff and not much for us to do, small shoppingcenter, of course the lake but and of may still frozen and we had rain so no walks on the icy walkingpath would have loved to go to the teahouse

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank AnjaOosterwijk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2014

See comments when we arrived the reception was poor but the next day it was excellent. We felt that the decor in the bedroom and TV were dated.WE though that the location was excellent . Some money spent on an up grade for the rooms they felt a bit like a 1960s motel

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Walter P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2014

Extra pillows and blankets, and bed was very comfortable. Breakfast was better than most places I have stayed. The train was a little close to our window but in the end did not wake us or disturb us at all.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountaineer L, Manager at Mountaineer Lodge, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Thank you for staying with us and sharing your feedback. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your accommodations while visiting Lake Louise. We look forward to welcoming you back again on your next adventure to our area.

Warm regards,

Trevor
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cowbridge
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2014

Nice enough hotel but don't expect too much. Breakfast somewhat disorganised if you go when busy. We had a king room so a good size and comfortable. No telephone though. House keeping was average but staff helpful. Convenient for visiting the two lakes.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Stewart D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountaineer L, Manager at Mountaineer Lodge, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Thank you for staying with us and sharing your feedback. We were pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay in our lodge and you found the bedding comfortable. I will be sure to pass along to our staff your comments regarding their assistance during your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Warm regards,

Trevor
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Louise hotels
0.2 mi away
Post Hotel & Spa
Post Hotel & Spa
#1 of 5 in Lake Louise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 894 reviews
1.5 mi away
Deer Lodge
Deer Lodge
#5 of 5 in Lake Louise
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,514 reviews
1.8 mi away
Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Lake Louise Inn
Lake Louise Inn
#4 of 5 in Lake Louise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,238 reviews
2.8 mi away
Baker Creek Mountain Resort
Baker Creek Mountain Resort
#3 of 10 in Lake Louise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 691 reviews
1.0 mi away
Paradise Lodge & Bungalows
Paradise Lodge & Bungalows
#1 of 10 in Lake Louise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountaineer Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountaineer Lodge

Property: Mountaineer Lodge
Address: 101 Village Road, Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta T0L 1E0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Lake Louise
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Lake Louise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Mountaineer Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A great central location in the village, 5 minutes from Lake Louise ski area, free breakfast, free ski shuttle and affordable accommodations makes the Mountaineer Lodge a popular spot to stay in Lake Louise. This 78 room hotel offers a variety of including rooms with one king, two queens, family suites and two bedroom suites. All rooms have a fridge, high speed Internet (Wi-Fi) and most include a microwave as well. Complimentary continental breakfast is served daily in the Breakfast Room. Popular with skiers is our secure ski storage, waxing room and free ski shuttle to Lake Louise ski area. The hot tub, steam room and spectacular mountain views are sure to round out your Lake Louise vacation experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HotelsClick, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz and Despegar.com so you can book your Mountaineer Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountaineer Hotel Lake Louise
Mountaineer Lake Louise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing