We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Affordable for Lake Louise | On your own after midnight”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Mountaineer Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mountaineer Lodge
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Lake Louise
Ontario
Level Contributor
60 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Affordable for Lake Louise | On your own after midnight”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014

Stayed here for a night on my way to Jasper. Everything the other reviewers are saying is true.

Positives:
- Clean room/hotel
- Decent size
- Good wireless Internet
- Friendly staff

Negatives:
- Room is straight out of early 1990s
- Paper thin walls
- Lots of noise in the hotel
- Hard to get cold water out of the tap (had to let it run for 5 minutes, what the...)

BUT... The most bizarre thing about this place is the lack of a 24 hour attendant at the hotel. After midnight, you're on your own pal. No front desk staff and only a phone number to call if there's a problem. Maybe I just hit the place on a slow night, but I found this somewhat off-putting. Even at a 'Bob's motel' for $50 bucks a night you can usually wake Bob up and he's on site. Simply put, it's just weird.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ontario_Guy80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    464
    342
    155
    64
See reviews for
417
539
58
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013

This hotel is clean and the service was fine. No issues there. However, the owners of this property need to spend some money for an "extreme make-over." This 2014; not 1972.
No telephones in the rooms; no flat screen T.V., no plastic door keys; decor that looks like the mid 1970's. It becomes an issue of "value." If the owners wish to keep their property in some sort of "time warp" I guess they have that right. However, how does that justify charging $264. (including tax) for a 1970's room? The room was worth $115.00 and not a penny more.

So, if you want value; go elsewhere. If you want a clean outdated room, with no phone it is fine. Even the hot tub and breakfast room need updating. Needs a pool and a fitness room.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrSRW13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lake Louise hotels

Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2013 via mobile

We had one night here on our way from Jasper to Banff. Check in was quick and easy, we had a room in the main building, down the hall from the reception. The room itself was large, clean and well priced. The bathroom was clean and the shower worked well.

There was no noise problem at night and the bed was comfortable enough. It was a bit hot but a fan was provided (and used!) There is a laundry room on site which we used that was handy. Also vending machines which we didnt use.

There are a few choices to walk to for dinner, we found a sports bar/restaurant at another Hotel that was reasonably good.

Breakfast in the morning was average, standard continental fare. The staff weren't very helpful but it was free and there was plenty available. The breakfast room definitely needs an update.

Best part of our stay was the help we recieved from the front desk when trying to book the next nights stay in Banff. They looked up phone numbers and even let us borrow their phone to call multiple Hotels. We would recommenned this hotel to people looking for a comfortable hotel in a good location for a good price.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JodeCam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon UK
Level Contributor
48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013

We stayed here for three nights and it was a good location for looking round the local area. Rooms are clean and comfortable, although we still can't quite work out why they provide a microwave but no cutlery or plates to use. We used it to boil water for tea as this is yet another place that doesn't provide a kettle! There is a launderette you can use and a couple of places to eat within walking distance.

Our room was on the ground floor at the back of the complex. The parking was right outside our room. The train line goes nearby so if you are a light sleeper it might be worth asking for a room in a different area. Breakfast is a buffet with a good selection of breads, fruit, yoghurt and cereal plus waffle irons. This was a highlight each morning watching everyone trying to work out how to use them. One person poured the syrup straight in rather than the batter!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkton, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2013

My husband and I stayed here one night during our trip through the mountains on our holiday after our wedding. We were able to get a deal on the hotel which was great-by looking online! The hotel has a great location, not far off the main highway which is also nice. However we were travelling in the summer months and our room did not have air conditoning, there was a small fan on top of the TV! A small fan! So it was a very uncomfortable sleep to say the least. We then left and continued on our trip home. When we got home a day and half later, I couldn't find my watch and my earrings and figured I must have left them at the hotel. My husband then called the hotel and they said my things were found and they were going to send them in a mail. A week passed and I still did not receive my items. My husband called them many times and they always gave him the run around about there is no manager here, they will call you back, etc. We never received a phone call back and the only time we got an answer was when a manager was on duty when we would call. Every time we talked to a manager they send that the items were sent, and we verified the address. However, we were never provided a tracking number of the item so there is no way to find my items. It is now 4 months later and I'm still without my watch and earrings. I have good faith in our mail system, just think we should have been provided a tracking number for our package (if it ever really was sent....)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saskgirl455
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013

I stayed there at the 3rd week of September 2013. The room was at the ground floor next to the entrance to the restaurant and facing the parking lot. It's quite noisy and feeling not good that people could see my room straight whenever I opened the door. I had to keep my curtain down all the time coz the only window is facing the lot too.
Besides, the room is very small. We had 2 languages and we could barely walk in the room.
The TV set is over 15 years old.
Given the price of about $200 at shoulder season, I think it's not worth.
Lastly, the breakfast was okay.

Room Tip: Ask the room size and request for one not on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vitus_Chow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountaineer L, Manager at Mountaineer Lodge, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Thank you Vitus_Chow of China for taking the time to share your stay experience. You have provided a good tip on your post regarding the room size and location. We regret that you felt that you didn't have much privacy or space. Yes, the Mountaineer Lodge does have a couple of small rooms with one queen bed on the ground floor. We would have been glad to make a room move for you. We hope that you had a wonderful visit to the Canadian Rockies. Should you return to Canada and to Lake Louise, please let us know you are previous guest and we will accommodate you in one of our more spacious rooms on the second floor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

We were lucky enough to be travelling through the Rockies during the shoulder season and almost had the whole place to ourselves, including the lake!! Used the lodge on two occasions as a mid way stop over on our 2 week trip and it was just perfect. Complementary breakfast was sufficent and included tea/coffee, toast, fruit, creal and yogurt. All in all this was a perfect spot.

Room Tip: First level as access to second level is via stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaiser_Jonty_Geelong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountaineer L, Manager at Mountaineer Lodge, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Thank you Kaiser_Jonty_Geel for taking the time to share your stay experience at the Mountaineer Lodge. We feel lucky too to be in the Canadian Rockies, such a beautiful place. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and breakfast. Visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Louise
1.5 mi away
Deer Lodge
Deer Lodge
#5 of 5 in Lake Louise
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,537 reviews
28.9 mi away
Kootenay Park Lodge
Kootenay Park Lodge
#1 of 1 in Kootenay National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
1.8 mi away
Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Lake Louise Inn
Lake Louise Inn
#3 of 5 in Lake Louise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,297 reviews
7.0 mi away
Baker Creek Mountain Resort
Baker Creek Mountain Resort
#3 of 10 in Lake Louise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
0.3 mi away
HI Lake Louise Alpine Centre
HI Lake Louise Alpine Centre
#5 of 10 in Lake Louise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountaineer Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountaineer Lodge

Property: Mountaineer Lodge
Address: 101 Village Road, Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta T0L 1E0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Lake Louise
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Lake Louise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Mountaineer Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A great central location in the village, 5 minutes from Lake Louise ski area, free breakfast, free ski shuttle and affordable accommodations makes the Mountaineer Lodge a popular spot to stay in Lake Louise. This 78 room hotel offers a variety of including rooms with one king, two queens, family suites and two bedroom suites. All rooms have a fridge, high speed Internet (Wi-Fi) and most include a microwave as well. Complimentary continental breakfast is served daily in the Breakfast Room. Popular with skiers is our secure ski storage, waxing room and free ski shuttle to Lake Louise ski area. The hot tub, steam room and spectacular mountain views are sure to round out your Lake Louise vacation experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mountaineer Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountaineer Hotel Lake Louise
Mountaineer Lake Louise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing