We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mountaineer Lodge
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Post Hotel & Spa(Lake Louise)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lake Louise Inn(Lake Louise)
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Deer Lodge(Lake Louise)
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise(Lake Louise)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kootenay Park Lodge(Kootenay National Park)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Reviews (1,499)
Filter reviews
1,499 results
Traveler rating
285
559
395
182
78
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
285
559
395
182
78
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshard boiled eggscontinental breakfasthot tub and steam roomroom was cleanfridge and microwaveyogurtsamson mallconvenient locationwould stay againeasy accessthe lake louise areatwo queen bedsski hillshort drivecanadian rockieslodgejasper
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,227 - 1,232 of 1,499 reviews
Reviewed August 20, 2013

If this lodge was not in the park I may have given it a 1star. I wish I would have spent the extra money and stayed at the Fairmont Chateau! $287 for one night and anywhere else it would be a $60 room.

The good:

Check in and check out were good. Gals were friendly and explained lodge layout and rules. No pets or bikes in your room!
Gas Station accross street and liquor store kitty corner.
Free Wifi with decent connection.
Fridge and microwave in room.
We got to see a grizzly bear right outside the hotel
Breakfast was big and good. Lots of ladies working that area.

The bad:
No air conditioning. There are only heavy drapes on the windows for privacy so since we were on ground floor we had to close them which meant it was very hot in our room.
The beds are just a hard mattress on a wooden frame. No box spring. The were soooo hard and uncomfortable. I also think they are being generous in calling them queens. I would call them doubles.
Old box TV set.
Whole place is old and outdated. Stains in the tub/shower and sink. The water pressure in the shower was so hard it hurt.

I would not stay here again.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
Thank MrsLUVStravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Clean, reasonably calm (trains passing close but not enough to bother sleep) and spacious room
No A/C or phone and Wifi a bit slow at times
No specific view of the mountains
Breakfast quite nice
Good service
Location is convenient... But that shows in the price!

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
Thank EricS99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Room was clean and acceptable but there was noise from the room above. Breakfast was okay, go early to avoid rush. More expensive and not as nice as other hotels we have stayed at in the parks. Had a motel feel. We have stayed in "lodges" in the area and they are an experience instead of just being a room to slee

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank E P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

I had to help a man down the stairs to breakfast as they did not have an elevator there.
He recently had knee surgery and struggled with a cane.
I am surprised Expedia and Travel Alberta support this unfriendly lodge.
The breakfast wasn't that good after all his struggles...

Room Tip: Noisy rooms if on the bottom floor
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kodakmoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

If I had one price of advice on lake Louise lodging? Book early. And elsewhere if doing more than a one night stop.

I made my piece with the prices of LL and paid 350.00+ a night for a "family suite" for five nights. They advertise "almost every room has a microwave", but apparently not our. "Two rooms" which is basically what a family suite is. Two seperate rooms with a shared bathroom.

While it wasn't a huge concern, I preferred my young children not to have their own door/entrance to the outside of the hotel. Secondly, back to the microwave. It would seem a "family suite" would be targeted at, well families, so throwing a micro in that room would be helpful. We called and asked, the girks at the desk couldn't help and no manager ever called us back at our request. Fear not, we did get two coffee pots invade my 4 year old needed a java fix.

The noise! The train is insanely loud and the only way to sleep is to keep the windows closed. Not a huge deal but no A/C means keeping the windows open.... Such a conundrum. They provide fans..

Lastly- the biggest issue is the overall lack of thought put into the hotel room. The TVs were off to the side so hard to see from the beds, a second person in the bed? No tv for you!

Outlets? There are almost no outlets in the room. I had to make coffee in the bathroom. Unplug the clock to plug in the fan (which is needed, remember the train?), charge are all electronics also in the bathroom- a huge risk around kids/water... I guess if they ever did give us microwave it would have been a tough call.... Hot meals for my kids or light.

On a positive note the rooms were clean, basic, but fine. If you are a carb lover the breakfast is nice... But if I had to do it again I would remember to shop around earlier and look at some surrounding areas like field, the cottages at emerald lake, moraine lake, etc.. The cost for this hotel was outrageous for the value in return...

Although I became a pro at heating up leftovers with a hair dryer!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scubagal71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews