We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Absolutely Perfect in all Respects!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Moraine Lake Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Moraine Lake Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Absolutely Perfect in all Respects!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2011

We travelled from England to get married next to Moraine Lake which was absolutely amazing, we stayed at the Lodge for a wonderful tranquil 3 nights.

The Lodge was superb, our room was lovely and quaint plus very characterful and in keeping with the surroundings, we overlooked the lake...a view you could never ever get bored of..!!!!!

The food was top notch and the service fabulous. All of the staff were very welcoming and could not do enough for us to make our special trip memorable.

The Lodge offers free use of canoes on the lake plus various guided walking trails to it's residents which we found was very useful.

We would definitely recommend Moraine Lake Lodge as a great place to stay and are already looking forward to going back many time to celebrate our Wedding Anniversaries!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CazianSmitza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

646 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    460
    120
    51
    10
    5
See reviews for
92
453
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2011

Moraine Lake Lodge is still one of the most relaxing retreats in the Canadian Rockies.
Staying in one of the cabins is the ultimate in quiet. During the day you can read, relax or go hiking on one of the beautiful trails that start at your doorstep. Save the trip to Lake Louise or Banff or Johnston Canyon until after you've checked out. Enjoy your time here. Stop in at the Library in the Lodge for afternoon tea (or coffee) - it's included in the price of accommodation.
Breakfast and dinner in the Walter Wilcox Dining Room are great - reservations recommended for dinner.
Lunch in the Snowshoe Cafe can be an issue unless you enjoy lining up with all the tourists visiting for a few hours or a day. Time your lunch carefully.
At night the day trippers are gone and silence - real silence - returns. There is nothing to hear but the sounds of nature, the crackle of the fire in the fireplace and whatever noise you make.
I recommend an all inclusive package, though it appears from the lodge website that there is less choice of packages in 2011.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WoodsingPhotog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balsall Common, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2010

In short: The most amazing views ever, fantastic accommodation, divine food and brilliant staff... Perfect! I can't wait to go back!!

We stayed at Moraine Lake Lodge at the start of June for 4 nights in a Deluxe King Cabin - it was for our wedding so we decided to splash out on their "Romance in the Rockies" package :-D
We arrived 2 nights before our wedding and were greeted by name by the receptionist and then the manager, Michael. Immediately we were made to feel very welcome and found them to be very accommodating.
Our cabin had an amazing view out of a full height window and from the balcony across the lake with the mountains behind and the log fire was lovely... I especially liked the fact that room service would re-make the fire each morning ready to be lit :-)
Our wedding was on the Thursday and the hotel staff were amazing, they let us use their kitchens to store flowers and the cake and were happy to give us access to them any time, they allowed us private use of the dining room at lunch time (the food here by the way, is amazing! See my review of the restaurant) and use of the library in the evening.
We left on the Saturday after our wedding, and after taking the canoes out on the lake, and were quite sad to leave, I cannot wait to go back and we definitely will!
We spent a lot of time emailing and speaking with the Lodge to get things arranged for our wedding and they were fantastic (and very patient!) throughout the whole process, accommodating a lot of things they wouldn't normally.

A really big thank you to Michael and the rest of the staff at Moraine Lake Lodge for making our stay, and our wedding, perfect in every way! Thank you! x

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TealBlueWater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
250 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2010

In a stunning location, this hotel excelled in every way. Service was fantastic, it was completely relaxing and just an all around wonderful experience. We seriously considered changing our entire itinerary and extending our stay.
Extra bonuses are not even apparent until you arrive. Afternoon tea with pastries is served in the lounge from 3 till 5 every day (free). The best perk was the free access to as many hours as you might want in a kayak on the stunning lake. Much as the general public can hire kayaks during the day, hotel guests can also have access out of hours and with a bit of a smile, we were even allowed to take our life jackets and padels back to our room so we could go out 1st thing. Paddling the completely still lake as the day lightened around 6am is one experience I will remember for the rest of my life...

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank happytravellady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2010

I'd kept our last 2 nights of our stay in the rockies a secret from my husband so was hoping and praying that it lived up to my expectations and it didn't disappoint.
(This is by far the most expensive place we have stayed - usually we use B&Bs.)
The location is simply stunning - Moraine Lake is by far the most beautiful and dramatic lake we saw during our trip. Because of this there are lots of visitors to the area but, when they all leave for the evening, you you feel very special to have the lake to yourselves (and the fellow guests).
I'd opted for the 'Getaway Package' which included 2 nights in a king cabin with three course meals in the restaurant.
The cabin was stunning - the furnishings seemed nicely in keeping with the lodge and the views were amazing - you could lie on the bed and look out onto the lake through the huge window. The log fires, with plenty of wood suplied, made for cosy evenings with a book. It was definately for the best not to have televisons is the rooms. We also had a small bottle of sparkling wine in ice awaiting us with a lovely handwritten note.
The food in the restaurant was lovely and the waiting staff really seemed to know their stuff. Although my husband was worried they might be small, overly presented plates of food (he loves hearty, simple food) we were both full by the time we'd got through 3 courses and he was converted.
We loved the extras included and managed to make the most of the guided walks, evening talks, canoe hire and afternoon tea in the library.
My dream now is that we can one day afford to return to the rockies and, especially, here for a distant anniversary.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HannahandPeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2010

Very much enjoyed our stay at the lodge. The staff is friendly and ensures all your needs are met. The cabin we stayed at was clean with decorating fitting for the Canadian Rockies. There are a lot of visitors that come to the lake but the lodge does a good job keeping them at a distance. The dinners are pricey but the food is outstanding.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PORML
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2010

While the location of this hotel is without a doubt spectacular, the hotel itself was disappointing. We do not often stay at hotels in this high of price range, but we do like to splurge every once in awhile. Rooms are approximately $300-500/night during high season. When I called to book a room, I requested one of the cheaper rooms and was told none were available. I was offered an 'upgrade' and thought that was quite nice. Our room was in the main lodge above the restaurant. The room had a small gas fireplace and lake view. Did not think the location of the room would be a problem when we checked in - but realized it was indeed a problem when we went to sleep and had to listen to the exhaust fan from the kitchen making alot of noise. Be aware of this if you are staying in the main lodge, especially if you are offered an upgrade from a cheaper room!

I told a staff member in the morning about the noise, and he seemed unconcerned. He looked up our reservation on the computer reminded me that I had recieved an 'upgraded room'!! Hmm? When we checked out, I mentioned the noise to the general manager and told him we did not get a very good sleep at all. He said the fan was 'supposed to' be turned off at night, he mumbled something about the architecture of the building being responsible for the noise traveling, abruptly changed the subject to the weather, smiled broadly and wisked us out the door as fast as he could!

We were really looking forward to our stay to celebrate a special occassion and just wish our experience would have been more positive. Will choose one of the other mountain lodges on our next trip.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Cheyenne11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapSuspensionBridge, Owner at Moraine Lake Lodge, responded to this review, September 30, 2010
Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at Moraine Lake Lodge. We have tried to contact you about your recent visit, to no avail. However, your input ensures that the something like this won't happen again. We strive to create an experience that leaves our guests wanting to come back, and in your case we failed. Please call it is our desire to have you return in the future.

Nancy Stibbard, Dave Hutton
Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Louise
3.7 mi away
Post Hotel & Spa
Post Hotel & Spa
#1 of 5 in Lake Louise
4.5 of 5 stars 809 reviews
3.6 mi away
Mountaineer Lodge
Mountaineer Lodge
#3 of 5 in Lake Louise
3.5 of 5 stars 1,065 reviews
3.7 mi away
Deer Lodge
Deer Lodge
#5 of 5 in Lake Louise
3.0 of 5 stars 1,330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
3.9 mi away
Lake Louise Inn
Lake Louise Inn
#4 of 5 in Lake Louise
3.0 of 5 stars 1,656 reviews
3.4 mi away
Paradise Lodge & Bungalows
Paradise Lodge & Bungalows
#1 of 10 in Lake Louise
4.5 of 5 stars 653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moraine Lake Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moraine Lake Lodge

Property: Moraine Lake Lodge
Address: Moraine Lake Road, Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta T0L 1E0, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Lake Louise
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Lake Louise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Moraine Lake Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moraine Lake is the iconic lake pictured on the old Canadian twenty dollar bill. Many visit Moraine Lake, the lucky ones stay at the only accommodation on the lake, Moraine Lake Lodge. Located in Banff National Park, 15 minutes away from Lake Louise, Moraine Lake is known as the Jewel of the Rockies. Steps from their rooms, guests staying at the lodge are treated to the stunning beauty and pristine splendor of the iridescent turquoise-coloured lake and the Valley of the Ten Peaks. Each guest receives a complimentary package that includes guided hiking, naturalist presentations and canoeing on Moraine Lake. Moraine Lake Lodge is also renowned for its cuisine, with signature dishes such as buffalo carpacchio with roasted pine nuts and deer tenderloin with juniper berries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Moraine Lake Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moraine Lake Hotel Lake Louise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing