We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slightly Above Average”
Review of Moraine Lake Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Moraine Lake Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 18, 2007

Stayed in cabin for 4 nights in mid-August. Cabins are small, comfortable and better than lodge rooms; upper cabins are better (more private) than lower ones which experience a steady stream of tourists from morning until about 6pm. Continental breakfasts are nothing special. Prepared meals are excellent but ridiculously expensive. House-keeping is spotty. Do you really want to pay $300+ for a room that doesn't get swept/vac daily? Fantastic location, particularly for the tour bus crowd. For the money, I'll seek lodging elsewhere next time.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Timoan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (790)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

684 - 690 of 790 reviews

Reviewed August 18, 2007

This is a really tough review to write. In just about every way a hotel can excel on its own merits, the Moraine Lake Lodge is above average or excellent. The staff is friendly. The cabins and rooms are the perfect mix of cozy and rustic. The scenery out the front door is perhaps the best in all of North America. Literally. But Moraine Lake is so beautiful, that it is a massive tourist magnet. And the hotel is only a few feet from the huge public parking area and tourists stream through the hotel walkways, dining areas, and gift shop by the thousands during the day. It was so bad that one time during my 2 night stay, it took me 30 minutes to get to the hotel parking lot from the access road (normally a 10 minute drive) due to the massive volume of vehicles that led to an actual traffic jam on the winding 2-lane road to get to the hotel. When the lot fills (and it does every day), cars park indiscriminantly on the side of roads and often block lanes. Tour buses and RVs are everywhere. And while nobody excepts complete seclusion at their hotel, I found that it was actually unpleasant to be around the lake (other than in my cabin) between 10am and 4pm.

I absolutely loved taking advantage of the free canoe rentals early in the morning when nobody was around. But soon after, the water is swarming with non-guest canoe renters. I loved the dinner I had at the Wilcox Dining Room (though it was perhaps a bit overpriced), as well as the top notch free breakfast in the same location, but during the day, the whole dining area feels like a high school cafeteria, not a cozy getaway.

I'm honestly not sure whether or not to recommend this hotel. Away from peak season, I can imagine that the glut of tourists is far less invasive, and the incredible positives of this lovely hotel probably stand out far stronger. However, during peak tourist season,
you need to book with caution at the Moraine Lake Lodge. If you are the sort who likes to hit the hiking trails during the day and doesn't mind vacating the premises from 10-4pm, you'll love your stay. If you were hoping to spend some lazy days by the water enjoying the peace and quiet of this remote mountain lake, this may not be the place for you.

The hotel is lovely. But make sure it's a good fit for you if you're coming during the peak of summer.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LookingForHelp24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2007

We had read that September is the time to go to Moraine Lake, but we've discovered that June is wonderful too. It's true we missed the wildflowers, but we had just enough snow. . . We stayed 3 nights at the Lodge in the suite with a fireplace and jacuzzi. It was still cool while we were there, so the fireplace was wonderful and the jacuzzi was just what we needed after some long hikes up into the snow! We went conoeing, hiked, climbed around on rocks, took lots of photos, and generally just enjoyed the feeling of a "roughing it" (HA) in a our cozy room. The dining room was excellent and the staff helpful and pleasant to talk with. Pricey. . .yes. . . but excellent food so well worth it. One morning one of the young ladies even got us some coffee "to go" so we could go up to the rockpile before anyone else for a morning cup of coffee before breakfast.

We had a gorgeous view of Babel Mountain from our room and two comfy overstuffed chairs for sitting in front of the fire. We would definitely stay here again.

Also - an added bonus- we were celebrating our 30th anniversary and a bottle of champagne appeared in our room one evening. It was very thoughtful.

We didn't get in our car until we left. There was just enough to do at the Lodge to keep us entertained for our three night stay. On the way out - we stopped at Lake Louise and hiked to the plain of 6 glaciers teahouse (more snow!) Wonderful! And after seeing the Fairmont, we were quite happy with our decision to stay at Moraine Lake.

  • Stayed: June 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank pcsjms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2007

Just returned home from a great 3 week trip to the Canadian Rockies, part of which was a 3 night stay at Moraine Lake.
This was our third stay at this fabulous lodge and it was good to see that 5 years later it was just as good.
We were able to hike some wonderful trails, so do not just stay by the lake - get out there and enjoy it and leave the crowds behind.
The location is stunning and to wake up early and get up onto the rock pile was fantastic - best time of day for photographs.
The rooms are excellent, clean and very comfortable. The lodge staff are friendly and very helpful. The breakfast buffet is excellent and part of the room price. To eat in the evening is expensive and was the only part of the stay that we thought we were paying for the location, having said that the food was excellent.
We will be returning - but not quick enough!

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nut_and_Bud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2007

Moraine Lake Lodge was fantastic – definitely our favourite place on the holiday! We recently spent two nights there and thoroughly enjoyed every minute. We had a King Cabin which, though not enormous, was cosy, beautifully decorated, and had great views of the lake. The fire each evening was very welcome and it was a nice way to relax after dinner with a book. It was also really great to be able to enjoy the natural wilderness without the lure of tvs, laptops and mobiles which no-one seems to be able to travel without these days!

True, two nights here did amount to about a third of our overall accommodation budget, but it was well worth it. Beautiful surroundings, excellent walks with the naturalist (we saw lots of wildlife and learnt loads from Liesel), entertaining presentations in the evenings, and lovely luxury touches like the complimentary canoeing and afternoon tea in the library. When we arrived the room wasn’t quite ready, so the receptionist gave us the tour, then we settled down with the paper in front of the roaring library fire, just as tea and scones were being delivered – perfect timing!

We ate in the restaurant on the first night and it was so good, we booked again for the following night. Expensive but definitely the best meals we had on our entire trip. Wine was excellent and the staff attentive and knowledgeable. In fact, all the staff we encountered were polite, friendly and professional, and we felt completely pampered.

I would thoroughly recommend a stay here if your budget allows – we made economies elsewhere and were very glad we did. It was a great place to stay between our other bases in Jasper and Banff and we were very sorry to leave. Only a walk to the Lake Agnes tea house shook off our glum feelings!

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Kitty44a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2007

Overall our experience was excellent. Of all the places we stayed at on our holiday this was the best.

The lodge itself has a rustic feel. It's not an overly large place which made it feel small and personal. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

We stayed in a "cabin" which had excellent view of the lake and was clean and cosy.

We ate in the restuarant both nights and the food was absolutely excellent.

I would strongly recommend taking one of the guided hikes. We did and it was well worth it. It took about 4 hours, the information from the guide was good and the views stunning.

It's not cheap to stay at the lodge and for this reason we did consider other places. However we are really glad we decided to part with the extra pennies as it was more than worth it.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank SussexbySea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2007

We stayed in one of the 'cabins' in early June 2007.

This is an amazing location, a beautiful lake surrounded by forestery and awe inspiring mountains. In my opinion this is even more beautiful than the over crowded lake louise. The blue of the lake is amazing, in all qualities of light.

The guided tour when we arrived was nice, and our bags were ferried in by golf-cart.
The main building houses the library, cafe, restaurant and gift shop. Staff were polite and very friendly. Resident naturalists were also full of information and wisdom. We didnt have time for the lectures or guided walks, but from the naturalist I talked to I think they would have been fascinating.

The cabin itself was nice. Rustic but cosy. The view was through the trees, but amazing. The wood fire was a lovely touch - it could be lit every night, with fuel replaced by the staff each day.

Canoe rentals were complementary, which was a nice activity. Some great walks nearby.

This was expensive. Much more so than anywhere else on our 14 day canadian trip, but worth it in my opinion for the location alone. The accommodation is good.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank BWUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Louise hotels
6.7 mi away
Mountaineer Lodge
Mountaineer Lodge
#4 of 5 in Lake Louise
1,458 reviews
6.3 mi away
Deer Lodge
Deer Lodge
#5 of 5 in Lake Louise
1,781 reviews
6.4 mi away
Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7 mi away
Lake Louise Inn
Lake Louise Inn
#3 of 5 in Lake Louise
3,244 reviews
5.1 mi away
Baker Creek Mountain Resort
Baker Creek Mountain Resort
#3 of 10 in Lake Louise
929 reviews
6.2 mi away
Paradise Lodge & Bungalows
Paradise Lodge & Bungalows
#2 of 10 in Lake Louise
759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moraine Lake Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moraine Lake Lodge

Address: 1 Moraine Lake Rd, Lake Louise, AB, Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta T0L 1E0, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Lake Louise
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Lake Louise
Price Range: $561 - $825 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Moraine Lake Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moraine Lake is the iconic lake pictured on the old Canadian twenty dollar bill. Located in Banff National Park, 15 minutes away from Lake Louise, Moraine Lake is known as the Jewel of the Rockies. Steps from their rooms, guests staying at the lodge are treated to the stunning beauty and pristine splendor of the iridescent turquoise-coloured lake and the Valley of the Ten Peaks. Each guest receives a complimentary package that includes guided hiking, naturalist presentations and canoeing on Moraine Lake. Moraine Lake Lodge is also renowned for its cuisine, with signature dishes featuring regional and seasonal ingredients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Moraine Lake Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moraine Lake Hotel Lake Louise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing