We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bears , Mounties and moose !”
Review of Moraine Lake Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Moraine Lake Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 2, 2014 via mobile

Well we did see some bears but as yet no moose or Mountie .
The location here is simply out of this world with views of the lake and surrounded by mountains .
We are not what you would call out door types but we loved everything about this place , Easy walks or hikes if you wanted . Lake Louis is near by and Banff an easy drive .
Staff were great and the restaurant although a little pricey was pretty good value taking the location into account .
We stayed in one of the lodges in the grounds , fabulous ! Loved lighting the fire every night ( haven't done that for years )
Smashing place to stay .

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BInck113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (788)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

380 - 386 of 788 reviews

Reviewed June 29, 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The cabins are architecturally well designed and very comfortable. We loved the low corner with its fire place and comfortable seating in front of such a dramatic view of lake and mountains in Cabin 18. It was very cold and misty while we were there but we could enjoy the view and watch the birds and wildlife in comfort. The restaurant meals were good. The staff were extremely helpful. A highlight was the "Birdbrain" talk.

Sarah - Australia

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2014

Firstly many thanks to all for a special stay, from the moment we arrived, we felt the warmth of the employees here, not like your average large hotel experience, every visitor is made to feel special here. This property may not have the luxuries that the bigger Fairmont has, but if you want preferential service, world class cuisine, views that make lake Louise look shabby, visit the lodge and all it has to offer.
Best reason to stay at this hotel is because it's home from home with log fires in each guest cabins. Try the delicious Elk currently on the menu. Many thanks for a great stay:)

Room Tip: Go for the lower tier lodges 10-13 better view of lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tilly001200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2014

From the moment we arrived, we were welcomed by the friendly staff once we stepped out of our car and checking in was a breeze. We were transported right to our cabin door steps and given an orientation of the room and lodge facilities. The king cabin had everything to keep us comfortable, right by lake as requested, incredibly cosy and had magical views of Moraine Lake. We had snow fall that evening and we lit the wood fireplace which was already set for us, the room ambience is simply extraordinary. The experience of sitting at our private balcony in the quiet evening facing the lake and mountain peaks to experience the tranquil and peace here is indescribable. You have got to experience this yourself. We booked a few months in advance and the Manager Michael Clark handled all our reservation queries and requests efficiently and gave us all the information and assurance needed for this stay, the staff we encountered here were all extremely warm and welcoming, simply commendable. Do yourself a favor if you are visiting Moraine Lake or Lake Louise area, stay here to experience this magical place.

Room Tip: Go for the King cabin
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aletus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2014

My wife and I visited the Canadian Rockies for the first time recently. Moraine Lake (with the remaining ice receding daily and the water level rising) and the surrounding mountain peaks were majestic. I can't imagine a more beautiful setting. Our king cabin accommodations were very nice, with the bed, fireplace, and deep soaker tub all big pluses. Staff was helpful, and the dinners were quite good. We enjoyed an entertaining presentation by a retired park ranger / naturalist one evening. Crowds of day trippers didn't detract from our experience, but as the summer season warms up, some of the quaint isolation of the location may be lost. We hope to return again.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Ron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2014

The hotel itself is a delightful cabin with bespoke rooms, relaxing lounge and great dining room with a good choice of meals and wines. We stayed on the upper floor just for one night and found it very peaceful. However take seriously the comments about the tourists in the day time from 10am the coaches arrived and as the hotel offers a cafe and gift shop they are naturally attracted to it. So you will get peace but not all day tranquility that you may expect from the hotel literature. This isn't a negative though just something to be aware of especially in the summer and for the price.

Room Tip: I'd avoid the ground floor in the lodge due to other tourists walking around.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ScottishExposure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2014

We had cabin 18 which overlooks the lake. And what an awesome view it was even though still frozen. The cabin was superb - the bed big enough for three or more ;). A real log fire (obviously UK 'elf and safety hasn't discovered Canada). The breakfast was good but the evening meals were superb. Excellent cuisine and service.

Only negative points were that the cabin wardrobe space was limited and the bathroom was tiny. They also had the weirdest shower curtain that made me feel I was showering in bed.

But these were minor issues and anyone considering staying at the awful Fairmont in Lake Louise should stay here instead. Unless you like a Disney/Las Vegas inspired hotel.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank ClusteredIndex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Louise hotels
6.7 mi away
Mountaineer Lodge
Mountaineer Lodge
#4 of 5 in Lake Louise
1,439 reviews
6.3 mi away
Deer Lodge
Deer Lodge
#5 of 5 in Lake Louise
1,762 reviews
6.4 mi away
Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Baker Creek Mountain Resort
Baker Creek Mountain Resort
#3 of 10 in Lake Louise
901 reviews
7.0 mi away
Lake Louise Inn
Lake Louise Inn
#3 of 5 in Lake Louise
3,110 reviews
6.2 mi away
Paradise Lodge & Bungalows
Paradise Lodge & Bungalows
#1 of 10 in Lake Louise
759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moraine Lake Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moraine Lake Lodge

Address: 1 Moraine Lake Rd, Lake Louise, AB, Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta T0L 1E0, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Lake Louise
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Lake Louise
Price Range: $494 - $807 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Moraine Lake Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moraine Lake is the iconic lake pictured on the old Canadian twenty dollar bill. Located in Banff National Park, 15 minutes away from Lake Louise, Moraine Lake is known as the Jewel of the Rockies. Steps from their rooms, guests staying at the lodge are treated to the stunning beauty and pristine splendor of the iridescent turquoise-coloured lake and the Valley of the Ten Peaks. Each guest receives a complimentary package that includes guided hiking, naturalist presentations and canoeing on Moraine Lake. Moraine Lake Lodge is also renowned for its cuisine, with signature dishes featuring regional and seasonal ingredients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Moraine Lake Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moraine Lake Hotel Lake Louise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing