We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh Air and Relaxation”
Review of Moraine Lake Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Moraine Lake Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 13, 2013

The air is fresh and the water is fresher.

We thoroughly enjoyed our King Cabin. The view was so amazing that we never shut our curtains. The bed was very comfortable and the open fire relaxing.

Be prepared…there is no fridge, safe or TV and the bathroom is very compact.

The 2 guided walks with Hannah were a real highlight. The Larch Valley walk delivers magnificent views…but you really have to earn them as it is a long way up... Hannah also recommended that we walk Wilcox Pass which is opposite the Athabasca Glacier. This was an easy route for us to follow on our own and delivered amazing views too.

The lake was magnificent and we took advantage of the complimentary canoe a couple of times. It was SO relaxing, so quiet and so beautiful.

The restaurant is on the expensive side, however the Tenderloin and Halibut were fabulous. Be prepared at breakfast...if you see pancakes get them on your plate quick as they are not kept topped up and we missed them for whole breakfasts!

The staff seemed young, probably because the hotel is only open for half the year. But they were very keen.

Room Tip: Cabins 17 and 18 have especially nice views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SarahNewark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (790)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

400 - 406 of 790 reviews

Reviewed October 9, 2013

We stayed here for two nights at the end of the 2013 season - and the end of our holiday in the Canadian Rockies. It was the perfect end to a fantastic two-and-a-bit weeks.

We had a deluxe king cabin - a fabulous split-level room with vaulted ceiling: the lower level was a sitting 'room' with a log burning fire and the most enormous picture window overlooking the lake; the upper level was the bedroom with a huge, very comfortable bed, a small balcony and a well-appointed full bathroom (with a deep tub). Only teeny weeny criticism would be the minimalist provision of drawers/hanging space for clothes (but for two nights, it really didn't matter).

Dinner was excellent on both occasions. The wine list was a bit disappointing (many wines not available because it was the end of the season and stock had been run down).

Breakfast was also very good - a buffet with hot and cold choices included in the room price.

The staff were very all friendly and helpful and the whole place had a lovely atmosphere.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlisonandColin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We enjoyed five nights at Moraine Lake Lodge at the end of the 2013 seasons, with a log fire in our room for cosy cwtches in the evening after dinner and while it snowed. The restaurant menu was nicely varied, with additional starter and entree specials each evening, we would recommend the halibut and seafood pasta entrees. The guided walks to Consolation Lake and Larch Valley were an added treat, plus the evening presentation on grizzly bears in the library. We were surprised by the number of coaches and tourists who visit the lake, and would compliment the lodge on positioning and setting as the rooms are well positioned so you don't see or really notice the daily 'hustle and bustle' of visitors to the National Park.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosie008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

The log cabins were wonderful right on the lake. Ours had a wooden fire with loads of wood supplied. We went the last week of the 2013 season and there was no decline in the cleanliness nor attention to detail. With it being the end of season (May to October) the rates were very acceptable

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thekentishcouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

The lodge (cabins) are right on Moraine Lake surrounded by huge peaks - fantastic view from our cabin, lovely wood fire place, comfy bed and huge ceiling to floor windows - could lie in bed and enjoy the wonderful view.

The restaurant was reasonably priced and the food was good.

Breakfast was included - a buffet which was a little tired by the time we got to it - ok but not great.

Only spent 1 night which was not enough - if you have the time allow atleast 2 nights to wallow in this spectacular wonderland

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ilona K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

We really enjoyed our relaxing stay at Moraine Lake Lodge. The cabin was very comfortable and had a great view of the lake.

There wasn't much to do though, we didn't want to go outside as there were too many tourists, the canoes were closed so we couldn't go out on the lake, and there were no further activities provided (not even a simple board game in the room). The huge window had a blind to stop the tourists from looking in but closing that meant we couldn't look out at the view that we paid to stay there for.

Dinner was disappointing. I paid a fortune for the lamb dish and was only given a tiny amount of meat. The presentation was great, the food was nice, but it was greatly overpriced for the minuscule amount that was given. We went 20 minutes down the road to Fairmont the next night and had a great meal that we couldn't finish (due to the large amount of food) for a fraction of the cost.

The cafe staff weren't helpful at all and quite unfriendly.

Overall, the only positives we took from staying here were the cosy cabin and the beautiful scenery surrounding it. I would definitely recommend paying that little bit extra to stay at Fairmont, it offers much more for your money.

Room Tip: If you're choosing a cabin, ask for a cabin higher than 10, these are closer to the lake and don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

I had been to Lake Moraine on other occasions and consider it to be the most beautiful place in the world. So what better place to stay for asking my then girlfriend to marry me? The lodge is very nice, staff is friendly and helpful, food at the restaurant was great... The only issue I had was the price of a nights stay....

Room Tip: Book early and ask for a cabin along the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dantfman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Louise hotels
6.7 mi away
Mountaineer Lodge
Mountaineer Lodge
#4 of 5 in Lake Louise
1,458 reviews
6.3 mi away
Deer Lodge
Deer Lodge
#5 of 5 in Lake Louise
1,780 reviews
6.4 mi away
Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7 mi away
Lake Louise Inn
Lake Louise Inn
#3 of 5 in Lake Louise
3,243 reviews
5.1 mi away
Baker Creek Mountain Resort
Baker Creek Mountain Resort
#3 of 10 in Lake Louise
929 reviews
6.2 mi away
Paradise Lodge & Bungalows
Paradise Lodge & Bungalows
#2 of 10 in Lake Louise
759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moraine Lake Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moraine Lake Lodge

Address: 1 Moraine Lake Rd, Lake Louise, AB, Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta T0L 1E0, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Lake Louise
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Lake Louise
Price Range: $561 - $825 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Moraine Lake Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moraine Lake is the iconic lake pictured on the old Canadian twenty dollar bill. Located in Banff National Park, 15 minutes away from Lake Louise, Moraine Lake is known as the Jewel of the Rockies. Steps from their rooms, guests staying at the lodge are treated to the stunning beauty and pristine splendor of the iridescent turquoise-coloured lake and the Valley of the Ten Peaks. Each guest receives a complimentary package that includes guided hiking, naturalist presentations and canoeing on Moraine Lake. Moraine Lake Lodge is also renowned for its cuisine, with signature dishes featuring regional and seasonal ingredients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Moraine Lake Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moraine Lake Hotel Lake Louise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing