We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Breathtaking location, awesome staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Moraine Lake Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Moraine Lake Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Castaic, California
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Breathtaking location, awesome staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Superb start to our Canadian Rockies vacation...We parked the car and didn't go near it till it was time to leave...There is NO need to leave this property and this setting while you're there. The place is perfect on every level. Excellent location, excellent amenities, and excellent staff! Ready to go back again and again and again...

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChiefRR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

677 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    484
    125
    53
    10
    5
See reviews for
94
480
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, IL
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We decided to stay here as a treat to ourselves. We had visited Moraine Lake before and loved it and wanted to experience staying there. It was a bit pricey for us, but well worth it. We stayed in a Deluxe King Cabin for two nights and couldn't have been happier. Our view was magnificent and the cabin very comfortable for the two of us. We enjoyed the wood burning fireplace at night and we ate at the restaurant especially enjoying the salmon. We hiked both days, up to Eiffel Lake, Larch Valley and Sentinel Pass. We highly recommend these hikes. They had some amazing views! We also hiked to Consolation Lake but were a bit disappointed.....bugs were awful there so we would not recommend that one. The best thing though about staying there was enjoying the peace and tranquility of the lake in the morning before the crowds came and in the evening after they left. We were able to canoe after hours so the lake was not crowded and we got some beautiful photos of the peaks mirrored on the lake at dusk and at sunrise. We found the staff to be very helpful. If you are in the area, plan a stop here...I guarantee you will love what you see and you'll want to come back to stay. It was definitely worth the splurge!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ILKathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester
Level Contributor
136 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

A treat stay during our canada trip - for wedding anniv. The location is wonderful - lake/mountains/snow. Rooms are a little small but have wood fire (logs and kindling by the door), views over lake.

Main building - cosy lounge with BIG fire. Dinning room with lots of windows to see lake and mountains. Food was very very nice.

We got a bit stuck - the storm / rain (june 2013) flooded Canmore and highway 1 closed. So couldn't move on to banff/Calgary. Staff very helpful with phone calls. Wifi was a great help. Eventually got sorted - had to drive back to Vancouver and Westjet sorted out extra flights for us. Not quite the anniversary stay we expected but the lodge was great.

Would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Broaden-the-mind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Small, discreet lodge with helpful staff, contemporary food, and decent wine list. Acomodations are comfortable though cramped. Architects and decorators, take note: Travelers need space to put their stuff - adequate drawers and surface area. We are experienced travelers so the room size was not a deal breaker. We chose the place for the location, away from the madding crowd (even with day trippers). The altitude is 6100 ft, so it's in a cooler part of the park, at least 5 degrees cooler than Lake Louise area, Banff, which is lower still. In late June we hit an unusally chilly, wet patch. Upside was spending down time in our cabin with the (real) log fire, reading and gazing at the incredible glacial blue color of the lake. 10 pm sunsets in June are a plus.
Downside was the chill (40's and mid-50's) at that time of year, but hey that's the way it goes. We spent 3 nights so we had enough time to enjoy the area,dodge the rain, and get outdoors.
There are trails right from the property, canoes for the Lake, and the scenery is gorgeous. There were lots of easy walks as well.
A car is obligatory. I Recommend the guided hikes by Joel Hagen & Nadine Fletcher, husband/wife team who give evening lectures at the inn. Great Divide Nature Interpretation
www.greatdivide.ca. Informative, very personable.

Room Tip: The rooms are comfy but the space is tight (didn't they know people were bringing suitcases?) O...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lymepond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

The staff was most helpful and professional, the dinner was spectacular, chef Steven Lay 's dinner menu was a very pleasant bonus for the accommodations. The lodge is in a secluded location, so the rooms are expensive and very small but the view is unbeatable. The experience was worth it, after all, you are experiencing the Canadian wilderness and you cannot expect the Four Seasons in the middle of the Rockies.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MWang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We spent three nights in the main lodge while travelling through the Rockies.
We had a reasonable, albeit small, room, and everything that you would expect from a good quality hotel.
The Lake view was nice (at certain times of the day), but be prepared that the Lodge is adjacent to the main public car park for access to the Lake and trails. Consequently hordes of visitors roll up in coaches, campers and cars to this location.
The cheaper eating place (the cafe) is not open during the evening and, with nowhere of any note to eat at Lake Louise village, the restaurant almost has a captive audience. The food was superb but overpriced. The wine list showed a lot of imagination – mainly in the pricing of domestic BC wines!!!!
Still a great place to stay (and eat) but be prepared.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank EricandKay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

This lodge operates only 4months in a year and is located in a relatively secluded location, away from crowds and in the midst of serenity and beauty. Room lodges are on the high side but worth it for the good service and comfortable lodging. Amenities are excellent. Breakfast was good. Dinner available at the dining room was great. I would recommend it for the experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank THTan2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Louise hotels
3.7 mi away
Post Hotel & Spa
Post Hotel & Spa
#1 of 5 in Lake Louise
4.5 of 5 stars 843 reviews
3.6 mi away
Mountaineer Lodge
Mountaineer Lodge
#3 of 5 in Lake Louise
3.5 of 5 stars 1,112 reviews
3.7 mi away
Deer Lodge
Deer Lodge
#5 of 5 in Lake Louise
3.0 of 5 stars 1,390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
3.4 mi away
Paradise Lodge & Bungalows
Paradise Lodge & Bungalows
#1 of 10 in Lake Louise
4.5 of 5 stars 666 reviews
3.9 mi away
Lake Louise Inn
Lake Louise Inn
#4 of 5 in Lake Louise
3.0 of 5 stars 1,804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moraine Lake Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moraine Lake Lodge

Property: Moraine Lake Lodge
Address: Moraine Lake Road, Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta T0L 1E0, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Lake Louise
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Lake Louise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Moraine Lake Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moraine Lake is the iconic lake pictured on the old Canadian twenty dollar bill. Many visit Moraine Lake, the lucky ones stay at the only accommodation on the lake, Moraine Lake Lodge. Located in Banff National Park, 15 minutes away from Lake Louise, Moraine Lake is known as the Jewel of the Rockies. Steps from their rooms, guests staying at the lodge are treated to the stunning beauty and pristine splendor of the iridescent turquoise-coloured lake and the Valley of the Ten Peaks. Each guest receives a complimentary package that includes guided hiking, naturalist presentations and canoeing on Moraine Lake. Moraine Lake Lodge is also renowned for its cuisine, with signature dishes such as buffalo carpacchio with roasted pine nuts and deer tenderloin with juniper berries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Moraine Lake Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moraine Lake Hotel Lake Louise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing