We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful small lodge by fantastic lake”
Review of Moraine Lake Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Moraine Lake Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 10, 2013

A treat stay during our canada trip - for wedding anniv. The location is wonderful - lake/mountains/snow. Rooms are a little small but have wood fire (logs and kindling by the door), views over lake.

Main building - cosy lounge with BIG fire. Dinning room with lots of windows to see lake and mountains. Food was very very nice.

We got a bit stuck - the storm / rain (june 2013) flooded Canmore and highway 1 closed. So couldn't move on to banff/Calgary. Staff very helpful with phone calls. Wifi was a great help. Eventually got sorted - had to drive back to Vancouver and Westjet sorted out extra flights for us. Not quite the anniversary stay we expected but the lodge was great.

Would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Broaden-the-mind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (788)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

450 - 456 of 788 reviews

Reviewed July 2, 2013

Small, discreet lodge with helpful staff, contemporary food, and decent wine list. Acomodations are comfortable though cramped. Architects and decorators, take note: Travelers need space to put their stuff - adequate drawers and surface area. We are experienced travelers so the room size was not a deal breaker. We chose the place for the location, away from the madding crowd (even with day trippers). The altitude is 6100 ft, so it's in a cooler part of the park, at least 5 degrees cooler than Lake Louise area, Banff, which is lower still. In late June we hit an unusally chilly, wet patch. Upside was spending down time in our cabin with the (real) log fire, reading and gazing at the incredible glacial blue color of the lake. 10 pm sunsets in June are a plus.
Downside was the chill (40's and mid-50's) at that time of year, but hey that's the way it goes. We spent 3 nights so we had enough time to enjoy the area,dodge the rain, and get outdoors.
There are trails right from the property, canoes for the Lake, and the scenery is gorgeous. There were lots of easy walks as well.
A car is obligatory. I Recommend the guided hikes by Joel Hagen & Nadine Fletcher, husband/wife team who give evening lectures at the inn. Great Divide Nature Interpretation
www.greatdivide.ca. Informative, very personable.

Room Tip: The rooms are comfy but the space is tight (didn't they know people were bringing suitcases?) O...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lymepond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

The staff was most helpful and professional, the dinner was spectacular, chef Steven Lay 's dinner menu was a very pleasant bonus for the accommodations. The lodge is in a secluded location, so the rooms are expensive and very small but the view is unbeatable. The experience was worth it, after all, you are experiencing the Canadian wilderness and you cannot expect the Four Seasons in the middle of the Rockies.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MWang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We spent three nights in the main lodge while travelling through the Rockies.
We had a reasonable, albeit small, room, and everything that you would expect from a good quality hotel.
The Lake view was nice (at certain times of the day), but be prepared that the Lodge is adjacent to the main public car park for access to the Lake and trails. Consequently hordes of visitors roll up in coaches, campers and cars to this location.
The cheaper eating place (the cafe) is not open during the evening and, with nowhere of any note to eat at Lake Louise village, the restaurant almost has a captive audience. The food was superb but overpriced. The wine list showed a lot of imagination – mainly in the pricing of domestic BC wines!!!!
Still a great place to stay (and eat) but be prepared.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank EricandKay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

This lodge operates only 4months in a year and is located in a relatively secluded location, away from crowds and in the midst of serenity and beauty. Room lodges are on the high side but worth it for the good service and comfortable lodging. Amenities are excellent. Breakfast was good. Dinner available at the dining room was great. I would recommend it for the experience.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank THTan2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

We stayed here as a last min decision as we were traveling thru lake louise. When i booked the room online it was described as a room with a wood burning fire place, but had a gas burning fire place when we checked in.. it also advertized online the room included canoe rental but while we were there the canoes were not in service. It is a beautiful clean place to stay and the view was amazing.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jennifer1128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

The service here was fantastic. They put firewood and kindling in your fireplace for you each day and it is ready to go...just light the match. The room we had was very nice with a view of the lake. Our room was in a separate building from the main lodge, so we had to put on a coat each time we went to eat in the restaurant, but that wasn't that big of a deal. The only negative I can say is that there is nowhere to put your stuff. No drawers and no closet. We had to sit our suitcases on the floor and live out of the suitcase while we were there. It had a very nice bathroom with a vanity area for toiletries. The soap and shampoo provided was very nice quality. The help was so friendly. We went on a guided hike, which was free for guests, and we went to an evening talk on bears which was also included for guests. We absolutely loved the food in the restaurant, although pricey, the quality and flavor was excellent. Breakfast was included, which could use a little improvement, no hot cereals available. It did have one hot dish and bacon and sausage, the rest was toast or cereal and danish which was just ok. Every afternoon, they had complimentary tea and cookies, but the cookies were from a package. It would be nicer if they were home baked. The lake is absolutely beautiful and the room very cozy and comfortable, even though it was small. We loved our stay here and would definitely come back. This was our favorite hotel out of five on our trip through the Rockies.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Louise hotels
6.7 mi away
Mountaineer Lodge
Mountaineer Lodge
#4 of 5 in Lake Louise
1,439 reviews
6.3 mi away
Deer Lodge
Deer Lodge
#5 of 5 in Lake Louise
1,761 reviews
6.4 mi away
Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Baker Creek Mountain Resort
Baker Creek Mountain Resort
#3 of 10 in Lake Louise
899 reviews
7.0 mi away
Lake Louise Inn
Lake Louise Inn
#3 of 5 in Lake Louise
3,105 reviews
6.2 mi away
Paradise Lodge & Bungalows
Paradise Lodge & Bungalows
#1 of 10 in Lake Louise
759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moraine Lake Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moraine Lake Lodge

Address: 1 Moraine Lake Rd, Lake Louise, AB, Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta T0L 1E0, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Lake Louise
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Lake Louise
Price Range: $487 - $810 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Moraine Lake Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moraine Lake is the iconic lake pictured on the old Canadian twenty dollar bill. Located in Banff National Park, 15 minutes away from Lake Louise, Moraine Lake is known as the Jewel of the Rockies. Steps from their rooms, guests staying at the lodge are treated to the stunning beauty and pristine splendor of the iridescent turquoise-coloured lake and the Valley of the Ten Peaks. Each guest receives a complimentary package that includes guided hiking, naturalist presentations and canoeing on Moraine Lake. Moraine Lake Lodge is also renowned for its cuisine, with signature dishes featuring regional and seasonal ingredients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Moraine Lake Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moraine Lake Hotel Lake Louise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing