We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Worth being in that setting” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Moraine Lake Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Moraine Lake Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Lexington, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Worth being in that setting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

Small, discreet lodge with helpful staff, contemporary food, and decent wine list. Acomodations are comfortable though cramped. Architects and decorators, take note: Travelers need space to put their stuff - adequate drawers and surface area. We are experienced travelers so the room size was not a deal breaker. We chose the place for the location, away from the madding crowd (even with day trippers). The altitude is 6100 ft, so it's in a cooler part of the park, at least 5 degrees cooler than Lake Louise area, Banff, which is lower still. In late June we hit an unusally chilly, wet patch. Upside was spending down time in our cabin with the (real) log fire, reading and gazing at the incredible glacial blue color of the lake. 10 pm sunsets in June are a plus.
Downside was the chill (40's and mid-50's) at that time of year, but hey that's the way it goes. We spent 3 nights so we had enough time to enjoy the area,dodge the rain, and get outdoors.
There are trails right from the property, canoes for the Lake, and the scenery is gorgeous. There were lots of easy walks as well.
A car is obligatory. I Recommend the guided hikes by Joel Hagen & Nadine Fletcher, husband/wife team who give evening lectures at the inn. Great Divide Nature Interpretation
www.greatdivide.ca. Informative, very personable.

Room Tip: The rooms are comfy but the space is tight (didn't they know people were bringing suitcases?) O...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lymepond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

692 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    497
    127
    53
    10
    5
See reviews for
96
491
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
46 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

The staff was most helpful and professional, the dinner was spectacular, chef Steven Lay 's dinner menu was a very pleasant bonus for the accommodations. The lodge is in a secluded location, so the rooms are expensive and very small but the view is unbeatable. The experience was worth it, after all, you are experiencing the Canadian wilderness and you cannot expect the Four Seasons in the middle of the Rockies.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MWang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

We spent three nights in the main lodge while travelling through the Rockies.
We had a reasonable, albeit small, room, and everything that you would expect from a good quality hotel.
The Lake view was nice (at certain times of the day), but be prepared that the Lodge is adjacent to the main public car park for access to the Lake and trails. Consequently hordes of visitors roll up in coaches, campers and cars to this location.
The cheaper eating place (the cafe) is not open during the evening and, with nowhere of any note to eat at Lake Louise village, the restaurant almost has a captive audience. The food was superb but overpriced. The wine list showed a lot of imagination – mainly in the pricing of domestic BC wines!!!!
Still a great place to stay (and eat) but be prepared.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank EricandKay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

This lodge operates only 4months in a year and is located in a relatively secluded location, away from crowds and in the midst of serenity and beauty. Room lodges are on the high side but worth it for the good service and comfortable lodging. Amenities are excellent. Breakfast was good. Dinner available at the dining room was great. I would recommend it for the experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank THTan2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

We stayed here as a last min decision as we were traveling thru lake louise. When i booked the room online it was described as a room with a wood burning fire place, but had a gas burning fire place when we checked in.. it also advertized online the room included canoe rental but while we were there the canoes were not in service. It is a beautiful clean place to stay and the view was amazing.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jennifer1128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
282 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

The service here was fantastic. They put firewood and kindling in your fireplace for you each day and it is ready to go...just light the match. The room we had was very nice with a view of the lake. Our room was in a separate building from the main lodge, so we had to put on a coat each time we went to eat in the restaurant, but that wasn't that big of a deal. The only negative I can say is that there is nowhere to put your stuff. No drawers and no closet. We had to sit our suitcases on the floor and live out of the suitcase while we were there. It had a very nice bathroom with a vanity area for toiletries. The soap and shampoo provided was very nice quality. The help was so friendly. We went on a guided hike, which was free for guests, and we went to an evening talk on bears which was also included for guests. We absolutely loved the food in the restaurant, although pricey, the quality and flavor was excellent. Breakfast was included, which could use a little improvement, no hot cereals available. It did have one hot dish and bacon and sausage, the rest was toast or cereal and danish which was just ok. Every afternoon, they had complimentary tea and cookies, but the cookies were from a package. It would be nicer if they were home baked. The lake is absolutely beautiful and the room very cozy and comfortable, even though it was small. We loved our stay here and would definitely come back. This was our favorite hotel out of five on our trip through the Rockies.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

Being able to stay at this gorgeous lake and be on location before sunrise is worth the expense, as is the food: best beef tenderloin I have ever had! With close proximity to other great landscapes, this is an ideal base in the Rockies. Deluxe cabin delivered, and there is always a great fireplace nearby whether in your room or at dinner. All staff were warm, accommodating and offered great hiking advice.

Room Tip: Deluxe king cabin #6 worked for me! Great sitting area with fireplace, good view although one direct...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kyle A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Louise hotels
3.7 mi away
Post Hotel & Spa
Post Hotel & Spa
#1 of 5 in Lake Louise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 868 reviews
3.6 mi away
Mountaineer Lodge
Mountaineer Lodge
#3 of 5 in Lake Louise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,145 reviews
3.7 mi away
Deer Lodge
Deer Lodge
#5 of 5 in Lake Louise
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
3.4 mi away
Paradise Lodge & Bungalows
Paradise Lodge & Bungalows
#1 of 10 in Lake Louise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 678 reviews
3.9 mi away
Lake Louise Inn
Lake Louise Inn
#4 of 5 in Lake Louise
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moraine Lake Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moraine Lake Lodge

Property: Moraine Lake Lodge
Address: Moraine Lake Road, Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta T0L 1E0, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Lake Louise
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Lake Louise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Moraine Lake Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moraine Lake is the iconic lake pictured on the old Canadian twenty dollar bill. Many visit Moraine Lake, the lucky ones stay at the only accommodation on the lake, Moraine Lake Lodge. Located in Banff National Park, 15 minutes away from Lake Louise, Moraine Lake is known as the Jewel of the Rockies. Steps from their rooms, guests staying at the lodge are treated to the stunning beauty and pristine splendor of the iridescent turquoise-coloured lake and the Valley of the Ten Peaks. Each guest receives a complimentary package that includes guided hiking, naturalist presentations and canoeing on Moraine Lake. Moraine Lake Lodge is also renowned for its cuisine, with signature dishes such as buffalo carpacchio with roasted pine nuts and deer tenderloin with juniper berries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Moraine Lake Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moraine Lake Hotel Lake Louise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing