We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Staff and Beautiful View!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Moraine Lake Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Moraine Lake Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Wonderful Staff and Beautiful View!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Moraine Lake is one of those pristine places that you can't believe exists until you actually see it. We stayed at the Lodge two nights in September in the main lodge which is rustic and cozy. From the moment we checked in until the checkout the staff was most accommodating. Erin's bright smiling face and friendly demeanor was welcoming. Rory always made sure firewood was plentiful in the common areas and one night when the kitchen staff has left one of the range vents on (kitchen was below our room) he kindly found out the issue and turned it off. Louise waited on us for most of our meals and she was outstanding. The breakfast buffet has a wide variety which should please anyone and our dinners were very tasty.

We found the educational evening explaining the history of the area was quite informative and we enjoyed it. I'm an Alberta resident and my mom was visiting from Texas and we both would recommend the lodge. We had two beds in our room in the main lodge which was a bit small but we weren't in the room much anyway. It was a bit cold and it didn't seem that the heat could quite keep up but it wasn't a problem.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank LizzyWizzy66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

671 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    481
    122
    53
    10
    5
See reviews for
94
475
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberystwyth
Level Contributor
74 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We stayed here for three nights 25th to 27th September in a room in the Queen wing with a balcony and wonderful lake views. a comfy bed and good sized bathroom. We lit the fire each evening which was lovely but could not keep it burning for long! Moraine Lake was very popular with tour buses arriving by 9 in the morning(or earlier) to see the 'golden larches' and to catch the sunrise hitting the peaks but we didn't find it intrusive. Breakfast was included and very good. We enjoyed the led walk to Consolation Lakes. The restaurant seems pricey but the food, service and ambience made it worth it and compared to some of the other prices we experienced in Canada it was good value. As guests we had free canoeing on the lake. On one evening a local wildlife expert gave a talk about wolves which was very entertaining.

Room Tip: Rooms in Queen wing (away from the hotel main building) are on two levels. Our room, 21, had ground...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank elveston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks County, PA
Level Contributor
233 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Moraine Lake Lodge defines rustic elegance. We had a deluxe king cabin and loved it. You enter into a small hallway with the bathroom on your left and then walk into the king bed area. From there you can either walk out on to your balcony that looks out over Moraine Lake, or go down two steps to your sitting area, also with a full length window on to Moraine Lake. The sitting area is comprised of a sofa, one chair and a wonderful fireplace. The entire area is not expansive but it is "just right." The room is cozy and comfortable and additional firewood and kindling is stacked right outside your door. The bed is very comfortable and the bathroom functional, with an excellent shower and tub. The setting could not be more beautiful. Moraine Lake, with the mountains surrounding it, may be the most beautiful lake we have ever seen. We actually found Moraine Lake more beautiful than Lake Louise, and if given the choice, would rather stay at Moraine Lake Lodge than the Fairmont. It is rustic, but at the same time it is serene, quiet, peaceful and elegant its own way. The staff could not have been friendlier, with most coming from across Canada and Europe. The restaurant, with its daily continental breakfast was also extremely good. The lake and lodge are about a ten minute drive from Lake Louise Village and close for the winter. However, next season, if your plans include coming to this part of Canada, we would highly recommend Moraine Lake Lodge and the beauty of Moraine Lake.

Room Tip: Request a cabin that has a view of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Arch68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We stayed in cabin 18 and had the most amazing view of Moraine Lake. Our room was smaller than I expected, especially the bathroom, but nothing that couldn't be dealt with. The room was very clean upon our arrival. We loved the wood fire, kept us warm all night! We enjoyed tea and biscuits in the library in the afternoon. The use of the canoes is included in the price and something I highly recommend for people to see another side of the lake. We ate at the restaurant for dinner, and although pricey, it was the most delicious meal I've had in a while! Breakfast was included in the price also, and this was ok. All of the staff were very friendly and courteous. We loved staying here, I only wish we had of stayed for more than one night!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Elyce4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We stayed at the hotel for 3 nights 22 - 25th September. Our room with a balcony and view by the lakeside had a fairly limited view of the lake: the room had an aircon system which was disturbingly noisy and we were unable to turn it off. We asked for this to be looked at, but no improvement was achieved. So we had 3 nights of disturbed sleep, with aircon and other clumping noises from the heating system. Staff were not very friendly and the hotel was priced according to the location, certainly not in line with the service it offered. Very disappointed and would not recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank C B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worksop, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

We scheduled a stop at Moraine Lake Lodge for 2 nights to give us a bit of a break from travelling. Oh how we wishes we had booked longer!. The place is magical and just right to rekindle your batteries and rest. We arrived on a cold wet day and dropped by our coach driver at the bottom of the drive. Two minutes later our cases were carried on a little wagon directly to our room. The rooms are a bit on the small side but were warm and welcoming with a real log fire. Spectalur views of the lake and mountains from our balcony. There are no phones or televisions in the rooms - perfect! The only downside was that the room could have done with a small table or something for small personal objects.

Woke up on the first morning to snow falling, absolutely beautiful. Spent a restful day just walking and relaxing and throwing logs on the fire. All the staff from the manager down to the "house maids" were brilliant. They should be commended. Had two terrific meals in the restaurant, although pricey were excellent - you must taste their bread and butter pudding - delicious! Forget the Chateau on Lake Louise - try this place. The smell of wood smoke will forever mean Lake Moraine Lodge to us.

Room Tip: Worth paying that bit extra for lake view and log fire
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lindilou60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida
Level Contributor
77 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

I had decided to spend one night here because I am a photographer & wanted to be close to Moraine Lake (which is beautiful) in the evening and early morning when all the tourists would be elsewhere. For that reason alone I don't regret spending so much. At most lodges and cabins you can drive directly to your cabin. Here you cannot and I had to wait a while to get someone to take my luggage on a golf cart to my room. My room with a small sitting area was lovely but a little smaller than I expected. I did have a small balcony. I had a dinner in the restaurant and the fish was excellent. I am not a gourmet and some of the other things on the plate I didn't even know what the heck they were and didn't care for the taste.The restaurant has many excellent reviews so you probably should ignore this one as from someone with a questionable palate.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank flajann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Louise hotels
3.7 mi away
Post Hotel & Spa
Post Hotel & Spa
#1 of 5 in Lake Louise
4.5 of 5 stars 839 reviews
3.6 mi away
Mountaineer Lodge
Mountaineer Lodge
#3 of 5 in Lake Louise
3.5 of 5 stars 1,103 reviews
3.7 mi away
Deer Lodge
Deer Lodge
#5 of 5 in Lake Louise
3.0 of 5 stars 1,388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
3.4 mi away
Paradise Lodge & Bungalows
Paradise Lodge & Bungalows
#1 of 10 in Lake Louise
4.5 of 5 stars 666 reviews
3.9 mi away
Lake Louise Inn
Lake Louise Inn
#4 of 5 in Lake Louise
3.0 of 5 stars 1,778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moraine Lake Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moraine Lake Lodge

Property: Moraine Lake Lodge
Address: Moraine Lake Road, Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta T0L 1E0, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Lake Louise
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Lake Louise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Moraine Lake Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moraine Lake is the iconic lake pictured on the old Canadian twenty dollar bill. Many visit Moraine Lake, the lucky ones stay at the only accommodation on the lake, Moraine Lake Lodge. Located in Banff National Park, 15 minutes away from Lake Louise, Moraine Lake is known as the Jewel of the Rockies. Steps from their rooms, guests staying at the lodge are treated to the stunning beauty and pristine splendor of the iridescent turquoise-coloured lake and the Valley of the Ten Peaks. Each guest receives a complimentary package that includes guided hiking, naturalist presentations and canoeing on Moraine Lake. Moraine Lake Lodge is also renowned for its cuisine, with signature dishes such as buffalo carpacchio with roasted pine nuts and deer tenderloin with juniper berries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Moraine Lake Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moraine Lake Hotel Lake Louise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing