We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Wish we had stayed longer” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Moraine Lake Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Moraine Lake Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Worksop, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Wish we had stayed longer”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

We scheduled a stop at Moraine Lake Lodge for 2 nights to give us a bit of a break from travelling. Oh how we wishes we had booked longer!. The place is magical and just right to rekindle your batteries and rest. We arrived on a cold wet day and dropped by our coach driver at the bottom of the drive. Two minutes later our cases were carried on a little wagon directly to our room. The rooms are a bit on the small side but were warm and welcoming with a real log fire. Spectalur views of the lake and mountains from our balcony. There are no phones or televisions in the rooms - perfect! The only downside was that the room could have done with a small table or something for small personal objects.

Woke up on the first morning to snow falling, absolutely beautiful. Spent a restful day just walking and relaxing and throwing logs on the fire. All the staff from the manager down to the "house maids" were brilliant. They should be commended. Had two terrific meals in the restaurant, although pricey were excellent - you must taste their bread and butter pudding - delicious! Forget the Chateau on Lake Louise - try this place. The smell of wood smoke will forever mean Lake Moraine Lodge to us.

Room Tip: Worth paying that bit extra for lake view and log fire
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lindilou60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

692 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    497
    127
    53
    10
    5
See reviews for
96
491
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Florida
Level Contributor
83 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

I had decided to spend one night here because I am a photographer & wanted to be close to Moraine Lake (which is beautiful) in the evening and early morning when all the tourists would be elsewhere. For that reason alone I don't regret spending so much. At most lodges and cabins you can drive directly to your cabin. Here you cannot and I had to wait a while to get someone to take my luggage on a golf cart to my room. My room with a small sitting area was lovely but a little smaller than I expected. I did have a small balcony. I had a dinner in the restaurant and the fish was excellent. I am not a gourmet and some of the other things on the plate I didn't even know what the heck they were and didn't care for the taste.The restaurant has many excellent reviews so you probably should ignore this one as from someone with a questionable palate.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank flajann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Charles, MO
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

We stayed 2 nts. in the main lodge right next to the library (room 25). While the walls were paper thin (we could hear the guy right next to us shave every morning), we were lucky that the other guests seemed aware of that and behaved accordingly so we didn't really have to listen to heavy footsteps & loud voices. The room had a feel of rustic elegance. I didn't mind not having a TV or radio. My husband is addicted to the TV and would have driven everyone around us crazy with it turned on every minute we were in the room. The beds were tall, a little too tall for a 5'1" person like myself. I would have had trouble climbing into bed every night had I not brought along a small collapsible foot stool that I use on the plane. The view of the lake was very nice, but it was a little too chilly in the evening to sit out and enjoy it. Besides, a short person sitting in the patio chair tends to look out straight into the railing rather than the lake. We enjoyed the complimentary features such as breakfast, guided hike with Kevin & the evening lecture in the library. Dinner was nice but also very pricey. I don't mind spluging occasionally, and our overall experience in Banff & Jasper National Parks was that you will spend more money than you care to. But this place is really expensive. If you ask me, I was ok with spending $429 a nt., but if you ask my husband, he would have chosen something less expensive (and with a TV). At least we had wi-fi (albeit very slow) to stay connected with the outside world. Oh, and it's true about the hordes of visitors. There's nothing private about the place. You share the view with tons of day trippers who are strolling through to take in the beauty of Moraine Lake. I overlooked that because we did the same thing to the guests staying at the Fairmont Lake Louise.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank skoc50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

The Moraine Lake Lodge is a wonderful hotel to stay in during your visit through the Canadian Rockies. We spent 10 days driving through the Rockies in early September and happened to stay one night at Moraine Lake which was wonderful, I am sorry that we only had the one night and not more. The hotel was friendly, clean and very comfortable. The food was delicious and the views AMAZING. You could sit on the balcony and look for hours at the reflection of the mountains in the lake.

It is a great base to tour the area, enjoy the local hikes and scenery whilst slightly away from the crowds (or at least before the day trippers arrive and once they leave). I hope to make it back here one day.

Thank you for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, KY
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed in Cabin 6 (we were told it's the owner's favorite and requested frequently by guests). When they opened the door the smell of wood smoke knocked us over. The smell in the cabin was so strong it was unbelievable. I was told "they all smell like that". The entire time we were in the room for the three days my eyes watered and my nose burned. If they didn't have a 2-week cancellation policy, we would have left and found another place to stay. We felt trapped there and tried to find things to do to stay out of the room as long as we could each day which is a shame because the cabin is a big part of the experience and cost. We stayed there on days 2-4 of our 9-day trip and when we got home our dirty laundry from those days still wreaked of smoke. I took a white washcloth and started dusting the room when we first got there and it was covered in soot when I was through. There were actually pieces of soot visible on the tops of the bedposts I noticed after I dusted on day three that my book and other personal items on the bed stand were coated in soot again. It was actually suffocating. The bed is a mattress on a hard wood base and is not very comfortable.

The location is fantastic, the lake phenomenal, the staff lukewarm, the restaurant is good. The snack bar is average and the shop is very overpriced. The area is very popular because of the hiking trails and the beauty of the lake. The parking lot is full by 10 am and cars are parked all the way down the road. There are many, many buses that come and fill the area. Guests have reserved parking, although cramped, but it was nice to have a space close to the lodge.

The free guided hiking and canoes are a nice addition to your room rate.

For $650 a night (US conversion), we expected a cleaner atmosphere and cabin. We would not stay there again. We were very disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cathy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt203
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

The location of the lodge is amazing, you can't believe the views, however we found that the room fell well below our expectations upon arrival.

The lodge isn't cheap, so you expect certain standards, the room being clean for one. We were shown to our room and upon pulling the blinds down, were amazed by the peppering off dead insects all over the blind and window sill.

Did mention this to reception, who didn't really seem to care. They said they would mention it to the housekeeping staff, but as we were only there one night, this didn't mean an aweful lot to us.

The lodge is set in amazing surroundings, but in comparrison with other hotels/lodges we stayed at during our trip, this offered the worst value for money.

Room Tip: Inspect your room before allowing the reception staff to disapear!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Matt203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, England
Level Contributor
70 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

The lodge is a stunning place to stay. We had a Queen wing room with fireplace. The bathroom was a good size with large mirror and plug sockets. Our balcony overlooked the mountains and lake which gave for a great early evening drink before dinner. Breakfast was included in our package and consisted of cereals, fruit, yogurt, pastries, pancakes and of course scrambled egg, bacon and sausage, which was very good. The evening meal (which was not included) was a little on the expensive side, but unless you want to drive down to Lake Louise village which is a fair way, that's you're only option in the evening. The lodge did guided hikes and also on certain nights provide speakers about the wildlife. Please note that there is no TV (which is no bad thing) but there is wifi should you need it. Overall a great place to stay with superb views.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paddocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Louise hotels
3.7 mi away
Post Hotel & Spa
Post Hotel & Spa
#1 of 5 in Lake Louise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 868 reviews
3.6 mi away
Mountaineer Lodge
Mountaineer Lodge
#3 of 5 in Lake Louise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,145 reviews
3.7 mi away
Deer Lodge
Deer Lodge
#5 of 5 in Lake Louise
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
3.4 mi away
Paradise Lodge & Bungalows
Paradise Lodge & Bungalows
#1 of 10 in Lake Louise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 678 reviews
3.9 mi away
Lake Louise Inn
Lake Louise Inn
#4 of 5 in Lake Louise
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moraine Lake Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moraine Lake Lodge

Property: Moraine Lake Lodge
Address: Moraine Lake Road, Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta T0L 1E0, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Lake Louise
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Lake Louise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Moraine Lake Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moraine Lake is the iconic lake pictured on the old Canadian twenty dollar bill. Many visit Moraine Lake, the lucky ones stay at the only accommodation on the lake, Moraine Lake Lodge. Located in Banff National Park, 15 minutes away from Lake Louise, Moraine Lake is known as the Jewel of the Rockies. Steps from their rooms, guests staying at the lodge are treated to the stunning beauty and pristine splendor of the iridescent turquoise-coloured lake and the Valley of the Ten Peaks. Each guest receives a complimentary package that includes guided hiking, naturalist presentations and canoeing on Moraine Lake. Moraine Lake Lodge is also renowned for its cuisine, with signature dishes such as buffalo carpacchio with roasted pine nuts and deer tenderloin with juniper berries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Moraine Lake Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moraine Lake Hotel Lake Louise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing