We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“View not worth the price of the room”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Moraine Lake Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Moraine Lake Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
Level Contributor
95 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“View not worth the price of the room”
Reviewed October 25, 2007

I booked a room at this hotel for two nights for the latter part of September, but cancelled the second night once I was shown my room. To the hotel's credit, they only put up a token fight to my insistence on the cancellation.

At close to $400 per night, I expect two chairs in a room intended for two people, and if there is no TV, which is fine by me, I expect there to be a floor lamp, so I can read without having to go to bed. I would hate to be room-bound in this claustrophobia-inducing accommodation.

I was lucky that the people above me went to bed shortly after coming in. For while they were getting ready, I was given ample opportunity to 'appreciate' the wffects of the lightweight construction.

The one positive was the restaurant with friendly service and good food and beer.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Everything
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
10 Thank ergoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

696 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    501
    127
    53
    10
    5
See reviews for
97
493
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2007

My wife and I stayed 2 nites in mid-Sept at the Moraine Lake Lodge. We stayed in a Lodge Queen room. I would highly recommend it. The lodge sits in a pristine setting on its own at the end of the Moraine lake road near Lake Louise. It has Canadian rockies scenery at its best. Lodge guests can use canoes in the Lake for free. ( $35/hr for others). Hiking around the lodge is excellent as well as nearby Lake Louise. However, be aware that groups of 4 are required by Parks Canada for trails heading out from Moraine Lake due to it being in grizzly bear habitat. Sept is probably the best time to visit. More clear blue skies and the larch trees are changing colour.
Our room was adequate and had a good view of the lake. It had a gas fireplace and no TV, which is a plus in this setting.
Food in the restaurant was excellent with good service. You have to drive about 8-10 miles on a windy mountain road to Lake Louise to find anywhere else to eat. The restaurant is a little pricey but once again has large glass windows that front the lake and the glaciated peaks behind. A very reasonable continental breakfast is included in the room rate. You can have a cooked breakfast for additional charge if you like.
I have seen the Cathedral Mountain Lodge mentioned in the previous review. it is new and looks very nice. However the location can't compare. If you had to choose one over the other go with Moraine Lake Lodge.

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
5 Thank tratfordtrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pa.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2007

If you are going to Moraine Lake Lodge for the view, you will be very happy. It is just beautiful. If you are going for the rooms, then maybe you should consider Moraine Lake's sister lodge, Cathedral Mountain. We booked three night in a room and we were rather surprised when we were led to our room. ON the web site, the view from the rooms we rented were up high. We were led down steps into a basement type room. The patio was a tiny concrete slab with a drain. The room was nice but not great. Only one chair and that is not bad for one night...but we really wanted two chairs so one of us would not have to always sit on the bed by the fire. When we asked for another chair, they brought the chair in from our "patio" and put pillows on it.

As it turned out, they were unable to get our heat to work and for almost four hours we were freezing. It was very cold on our visit, and snowing. They realy did try and they were very, very nice. Finally, we had to get in the car and drive all the way back to Cathedral Mountain Lodge for another night. Moraine Lake had No more rooms available.

So, if you want just the view, this this the place to stay. The rooms are just ok. No pictures were on the wall. ONly holes where two were. The one wall was all scuffed up from other renters. No place to put your clothes if it is a lengthy stay. And if you do rent here. ASK for a room on TOP. Or you will feel like your in the basement! I did hear the food was great and the kind manager offered us dinner on him while we waited for the heat to get fixed. But we had been hiking all day and were muddy and had no place to shower, so we had to decline. We did appreciate his willingness to try to make things right.
All in all, their sister lodge rocked. (Cathedral Mountain) Even though it was in the middle of nowhere. So, try one for the view, and one for the awesome cabins.

  • Liked — The view
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank Moosinator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2007

We stayed here for the last 3 nights of our holiday and could have stayed longer. We were in the main lodge in a double room (2 double beds) and had incredible views of the lake and mountains. The room was extremely comfortable and the hotel has a luxurious feel - this one is definitely a treat! The complimentary breakfast was generous and tasty - wondeful coffee and pastries. We ate in the restaurant one night, it is expensive but the food is well worth it - you have to eat here at least one night! The other nights we ate at the Station Restaurant in Lake Louise - can recommend this also.

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
4 Thank sjsScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2007

Just returned from 2.5 week visit to Canada, third year in a row. This year, we went from Vancouver to Calgary via the Okanagan and the Rockies. Out of all the hotels and B&Bs I have stayed in in Canada over the last 3 years, this comes top of the list. The rooms with their fires are perfection down to the cushions with moose and bears on. The walk along the side of the lake is idyllic with the most stunning views. The food in the restaurant is fantastic. I was GUTTED that we stayed here for just the one night. We went on to Emerald Lake Lodge which basically had bus-loads of tourists staying and didnt feel anywhere near as personal and special as this place. Staff very friendly. Would love to go back some time.

  • Liked — Wonderful rooms
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank doobey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2007

My wife and I stumbled onto the Moraine Lake Lodge online as we were planning our honeymoon. To be honest, I wasn't really sure what to expect of it. We booked their Romance in the Rockies package. Our stay was also at the very beginning of their season to be open each summer. We had a cabin that overlooked the lake. From the moment we drove up to the small lodge, we were blown away, all my worries were gone. The staff was amazingly warm and welcoming. The cabin we had was wonderfully clean and comfortable. It is designed to be rustic yet very upscale, which we found to be perfect. We didn't go there for a tv and a telephone, so it was wonderful.

The scenery is absolutely breathtaking there and amazing to be there with so few people. We did not experience major tourist traffic during that first week of June, although the Fairmont on Lake Louise was quite busy when we stopped by to see and hike the lake. The first evening, my wife and I went out to the lake shore nd were the only people in sight. It was only 9:30pm, that is something that makes this place wonderful.

We did several of the trails that head out from the Lodge, which provided amazing views and scenic travels. Once again, we only saw a handful of people while on these trails. It was an amazing place and the Moraine Lake Lodge was a wonderful place for us. We would definitely spend the money to stay there again.

  • Liked — the serenity of the location
  • Disliked — only 1 restaurant which is expensive
  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Oso13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2007

Our two night stay in a Lodge Queen room was way beyond expectations. Photos on the web do not do justice to the spectacular views from the balcony, and the room (with no phone, no TV, a flame effect fire and no disturbances from any tourists) was exceptionally peaceful. In house dining is very good (and not ridiculously expensive compared to UK standards for decent restaurants). There were a couple of very isolated occasions with the young summer casual staff element which drives the lodge, where we felt like we were uninvited guests to someones social life instead of being the client, but service was generally exceptional throughout. The lodge and the lake area is very special and we would love to go back!

  • Stayed August 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank warrenUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Louise hotels
6.7 mi away
Mountaineer Lodge
Mountaineer Lodge
#4 of 5 in Lake Louise
1,237 reviews
6.3 mi away
Deer Lodge
Deer Lodge
#5 of 5 in Lake Louise
1,535 reviews
6.4 mi away
Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Lake Louise Inn
Lake Louise Inn
#3 of 5 in Lake Louise
2,292 reviews
5.1 mi away
Baker Creek Mountain Resort
Baker Creek Mountain Resort
#3 of 10 in Lake Louise
713 reviews
6.2 mi away
Paradise Lodge & Bungalows
Paradise Lodge & Bungalows
#1 of 10 in Lake Louise
680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moraine Lake Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moraine Lake Lodge

Property: Moraine Lake Lodge
Address: Moraine Lake Road, Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta T0L 1E0, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Lake Louise
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Lake Louise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Moraine Lake Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moraine Lake is the iconic lake pictured on the old Canadian twenty dollar bill. Many visit Moraine Lake, the lucky ones stay at the only accommodation on the lake, Moraine Lake Lodge. Located in Banff National Park, 15 minutes away from Lake Louise, Moraine Lake is known as the Jewel of the Rockies. Steps from their rooms, guests staying at the lodge are treated to the stunning beauty and pristine splendor of the iridescent turquoise-coloured lake and the Valley of the Ten Peaks. Each guest receives a complimentary package that includes guided hiking, naturalist presentations and canoeing on Moraine Lake. Moraine Lake Lodge is also renowned for its cuisine, with signature dishes featuring regional and seasonal ingredients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Moraine Lake Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moraine Lake Hotel Lake Louise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing