We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced!!”
Review of Post Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Post Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Lake Louise
Certificate of Excellence
San Carlos
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Overpriced!!”
Reviewed August 18, 2007

We decided to stay at this hotel because we wanted to be in Lake Louise area. Post Hotel & Spa has a feel of an expensive hotel from the lobby but the rooms are small-ish considering how much we were paying. We decided to stay on the prefer side because of what I read about train noises but you could still hear it when it goes by at night even though the staff told me you won't and during the day you'll hear the tour buses.

However, while I was there I checked out some other hotels in the area and they all had the same feeling of over priced and unkept. The town of Lake Louise is a very small (one strip mall) so consider staying in a different town and do day trips in to see the sights.

  • Liked — Nice pool
  • Disliked — Unfriendly staff
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank GotKids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

956 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    664
    169
    65
    40
    18
See reviews for
204
517
22
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2007

What a disappointment! The location of the hotel is curious. It's next to the town "mall" and it feels like you are in a parking lot. We were so surprised by our room as well. We booked on the "preferred" side and for that price ($440), we had the darkest room (cavelike) and the least amount of room of any room during our vacation. We tried to like the place but ventured up to the Fairmont LL for a drink after dinner and decided to move the next day. For less $ we had a spectacular view and great service. By the way, the staff at the Post was remarkably unresponsive to our displeasure. They were fully booked and they sort of shrugged their shoulders. So we left!

  • Liked — pretty dining room
  • Disliked — location, rooms, attitude
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jsh55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington Dc, District Of Columbia, Usa
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2007

A budget hotel experience at a luxury hotel price. Of the more than 100 Relais & Chateaux properties at which I have stayed, this is by far the worst. Surly service, unimpressive lodging. By no means the optimal Lake Louise experience. There is no reason to stay at the Post Hotel.

  • Liked — The moment of departure
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
9 Thank Suchot1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahwah, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2007

Elegant and Enjoyable!
The Post Hotel/Spa/Restaurant are first class all the way!
We booked a "B" room on the preferred side, but when the property knew we were on an anniversary trip, they promptly upgraded us to an "F" suite also on the preferred side. The preferred side overlooks a lovely, photogenic, babbling stream, while the other side of the hotel looks out over the parking lot. It was certainly worthwhile to spend a little bit more money for the preferred side of the property. The room was spacious with a large, tiled bathroom, the service was prompt and courteous and the food in the restaurant, though expensive, was well worth it! Probably the best meal we had in all of British Columbia and Alberta! If planning a trip back to the Lake Louise and Banff area we would book the Post Hotel & Spa again!

  • Liked — great accomodations, service, and food
  • Disliked — prices of suites/meals are a little high
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank photogal06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level 6 Contributor
283 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2007

If you can afford the staggering cost of a riverside cabin or a third floor riverside room - the Post Hotel may be fine. Otherwise, you are paying nearly $500 for a ho-hum room, with no view. We were there in July and in the brief Canadian summer, there is no AC and poor ventilation. In addition, the all-hours rumble of the super-long Canadian freight trains makes a good night's sleep a problem. I have stayed in many Relais Chateau hotels and this was the least worthy of that number. We happily cut short our stay at the Post and moved to a very nice chalet on 1A at half-the price and used the money saved for excellent meals.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank GaddisGadabout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2007

Stayed at the Post in February for a ski getaway. The hotel was really nice.. parts of it definitely have a 'hotel' feel, rather than a charming getaway feel, but all in all it's a terrific place! The rooms are very nice! We stayed on a second floor room with a fireplace and nice little balcony - not sure what 'level' room it was, but very spacious. The staff are terrific. The the steam room very nice, the pool is 'nice' but certainly a fair number of kids running around.. and it's not open late enough!

One night we went up the hill to the Fairmont for dinner... after browsing the menus, and in general being horrified by the commercial nature of the place (it's truly an horrific sight in the middle of such splendor!), we opted to return to the Post. We had a fantastic meal. The waiter was terrific. All in all the staff are friendly and courteous, but not over the top.

In summary, this is a great hotel for a family or a couple. If you like what Vegas has to offer, waste your money on the Fairmont. If you want a good value, stay at the Post.

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jfburkhart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, MO
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2007

It was actually this past Sept that we stayed at the Post Hotel in Lake Louise, and it was a fantastic experience. It was our 4th year in a row visiting the area for our wedding anniversary and our first time staying at the Post Hotel. The first 3 years we made the mistake of staying in Banff and driving out to Lake Louise, when we finally discovered that we were consistently spending more time in the Lake Louise and Yoho areas to hike than in Banff. This time we decided to split our stay between the post, Cathedral Mountain lodge in yoho (also excellent) and Buffalo Moutain lodge in Banff (good value) just for our last night. Out of the 3, the Post greatly exceeded our expectations. The room was outstanding, we loved the fireplace, the view from the deck, the beds, the huge tub and well appointed bathroom, the restaurant was unbelieveable (great wine list, outstanding service), great little cigar room with a nice selection of liquor (great small batch bourbons), fireplace and stylish leather couches. No matter what we wanted, the staff was there for us immediately, it seemed like whenever we needed something, we would turn around and it was there or would be there immediately. One of our favorite memories was hiking the iceline trail for an entire day, then coming back to the Post, relaxing by the birch wood burning fire with the complimentary bottle of champagne and chocolate covered strawberries they had waiting for us in the room for our anniversary, then going to dinner and having a truly first class meal and retiring to the jacuzzi with the aveda bath products (great bath salts).

I noticed some have complained about the noise, just stay on the preferred side, we never heard the train at all. Also, to the people who complained about the post that hadnt even stayed there, why write a review if you dont know what your talking about? Although the strip mall (just a small convenience visitor center for lake louise vistors) is close by, you wouldnt know it because the resort is surrounded by huge, beautiful trees with an adjoining stream. I mean come on, The Post is a Relaise and Chateaux property, and clearly lives up to their worldwide standard. Its amazing how well kept the property is, from the manicured lawns to the immaculate rooms to the clean look of the log cabins with the red rooves that always look freshly painted.

Without a doubt, this is the best resort to stay at in the entire banff, lake louise area based on the style, class, feel/atmosphere (like staying in a swiss chalet), service, amenities, restaurant, bars/pubs (also great food and beer selection for something more laid back), location (great proximity not only to skiing but to some of the best hiking in western canada).

We actually returned one evening after we had checked out just to hang out there in the pub because we loved the property so much. If your staying in the Lake Louise area, in our opinion the Post Hotel is an absolute must!

Stayed June 2007
Helpful?
7 Thank Mattsrh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Louise hotels
0.2 mi away
Mountaineer Lodge
Mountaineer Lodge
#4 of 5 in Lake Louise
1,348 reviews
1.4 mi away
Deer Lodge
Deer Lodge
#5 of 5 in Lake Louise
1,670 reviews
1.7 mi away
Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Lake Louise Inn
Lake Louise Inn
#3 of 5 in Lake Louise
2,753 reviews
1.0 mi away
Paradise Lodge & Bungalows
Paradise Lodge & Bungalows
#1 of 10 in Lake Louise
718 reviews
7.2 mi away
Baker Creek Mountain Resort
Baker Creek Mountain Resort
#3 of 10 in Lake Louise
828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Post Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Post Hotel & Spa

Property: Post Hotel & Spa
Address: 200 Pipestone Rd, Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta T0L 1E0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Lake Louise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Lake Louise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Post Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, World Independent Hotel Promotion, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Post Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Post Hotel And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing