We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular”
Review of Post Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Post Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Lake Louise
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 1, 2010

Everything at the Post was spectacular. We felt like royalty from the momment we walked into the property until we left. The hotel was clean, upscale and comfortable. Our room (137) had a patio that sat the 2 of us and was right on a creek. It was so peaceful and romantic. Secluded and quiet, it was perfect for us. Bathroom had a jet tub, shower and all amenities. Turn down service each evening allowing you to feel truly special.

The restaraunt on the property is rated as a top culinary treat and it was. The prices were a bit high, but the food was extraordinary adn the views spectacular. The hotel offers a lot of sitting areas for your enjoyment as well. We sat on the outdoor lawn for sunset and basked in the warmth while the staff came out to serve drinks. There is a library in the building as well with a fireplace for peaceful reading and trading of books. You can just take one off the shelf.

We each had massages in the spa that were perfect.

We did a lot of hiking and this location was perfect to launch from. From the hotel we walked to the Fairmont at Lake Louise (6 KM each way). Beautiful there, but definitely not us! We were so pleased that we chose the Post adn read the comments on tripadvisor. The Fairmont has the beautiful and famouse view of Lake Louise, which was part of what we saw as the problem. There were busses coming and going and tons of people walking around the property. Large groups of Asian travellers who were difficult to menuever around for photographs. We were told that the average stay at the Fairmont and Lake Luoise was 20 minutes -- time for a photo and a trip to the souvenier store. Yuck! The best was coming back to our place and having the ahhhh.

The 2 owners of the hotel were visible often and talked to guests to assure all was good. The staff was empowered and did whatever they had to to make the guests happy. We wanted to see the cabins so we knew what to ask for on our next trip. They openned the doors to us and showed us 3 different cabins with different configurations. Also not a bad option for your stay!

I really can't rave enough about this place and can't wati to return.

BTW, two of the hikes we loved were Johnston Canyon and Consolation. Beautiful. Great restaurants: Bakers Creek and the Post.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laura1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,005)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

778 - 784 of 1,005 reviews

Reviewed September 27, 2010

Although this hotel seemed lovely upon arrival, we were given a tiny room with shabby decor and no amenities except a tiny TV 100 years old. The room was situated on the ground floor directly on the parking lot with railroad tracks located just beyond that. Trains went by throughout the day and night. In addition, the room was next to a noisy room housing the ice machine and drinks vending machine.
When I spoke to the manager he was very rude accusing me of having bought the "Lure" and was now expecting to get a free update. He wanted to show me more expensive rooms at my own expense.
My husband and I did ask for a "Standard" room but a Relais and Chateau with exhorbitant prices should have higher standards than a sub standard Motel 6 room. This was a come on. Needless to say we did not get much rest at this Relais.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tgoldman60763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2010

My sister and I stayed two nights at the Post Hotel at the end of a two-week hiking vacation. Considering that there is virtually no "village" of Lake Louise and that the Chateau Lake Louise seems to be hyped as the only luxury destination in town, we were very pleasantly surprised at the ambiance and high quality of services at the Post Hotel. We opted for the Gourmet Package, which included a six-course prix fix dinner with accompanying wine selections. The food was excellent and all six wine servings were very generous! Our room rate also included the plentiful cold breakfast buffet and one hot selection from the menu. Some nice Swiss touches at breakfast included muesli and rosti. Gratuity was included in all our vouchers, so we felt the overall cost was really a good value. The dining room and guest accommodations were all Relais et Chateaux elegant, comfortable, yet understated. The furnishings were up-to-date, with down duvets, granite countertop in the bathroom, jacuzzi bathtub, and great water pressure in the shower. A beautiful stone wood-burning fireplace in the room added to the luxury lodge feel. Our room faced the railroad, but we hardly noticed. In fact, knowing the history of the area and its connection to the Canadian Pacific, just made the setting more atmospheric. The pool and spa are lovely. Also, if you're just in the mood for pub food, the casual Outpost restaurant on the property is a great alternative. When we return to the Canadian Rockies, we will definitely book a stay at the Post Hotel again.

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bsirova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2010

This hotel is in the town of Lake Louise, which is about 5 miles from the famous scenic Lake Louise. In general, all of the business establishments in Lake Louise are unusually expensive. Banff is about a 45 minute drive south of here and there is much more competition and you can get a better hotel at 1/2 the cost.

The is a member of the Relais & Chateaux listed hotels, so my expectations were high.

The front door of the hotel (and my room) was about 50 yards from an active railway track. At least 4 long freight trains went by during the night (could have been more that didn't wake me up).

The room was clean and comfortable with nightly turn-down service. However, no desk, no in room internet, and no plastic laundry bag. The bathroom was expecially attractive, but the sink faucet handle rotations were reversed.

Nevertheless, in chatting with other tourists who stayed at less expensive hotels (only $189 per night),
the Post Hotel was probably the best value at $285 per night (plus tax) for the lowest priced room.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gordon140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2010

This is nice place, it is walking distance to downtown Lake Louise. It is only a few miles to Lake Louise. The beauty of Banff national park is breath taking. The hotel has a wonderful pool and whirlpool.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SLUG87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2010

My husband and I stayed here for five nights and enjoyed every second. It is true that one side of hotel faces railroad which might bother some folks. We did not notice the trains too much. Certainly, the other side of hotel faces river and would be quieter and more picturesque. Facility is well maintained, employees are polite and helpful, and general atmosphere is first class. Must mention flowers, both inside and out--gorgeous. The small spa is wonderful--pool relaxing. Would go back any time.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dmdyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2010

We stayed here for 2 nights of an 8-night vacation in the area, and this was our favorite hotel. At first we were a little disappointed in the room because its decor looked kind of dated --the bedding looked like it was from the 70s or 80s!. But we were won over by the great service, nice touches, and beautiful public areas like the lobby. We arrived wet and cold and were greeted by hot tea and coffee service in the welcoming lobby. They have this every afternoon. The indoor pool and hot tub were beautiful. There were nice, big, thick towels there, and the great feature of a little machine that spun the water our of your suit -- makes for much quicker drying. We had body treatments in the spa, and it was the nicest spa either of us had been to. Very nice experience, beautiful decor, relaxing. Ample free parking, short walk to the village of Lake Louise which has a few shops and cafes. The staff were friendly and accomodating. No air conditioning, which was not a problem while we were there, but I don't know how comfortable it would be if it was hot. They did bring a fan to the room upon request.

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IowaMidwestTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Louise hotels
0.2 mi away
Mountaineer Lodge
Mountaineer Lodge
#4 of 5 in Lake Louise
1,430 reviews
1.4 mi away
Deer Lodge
Deer Lodge
#5 of 5 in Lake Louise
1,755 reviews
1.7 mi away
Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Lake Louise Inn
Lake Louise Inn
#3 of 5 in Lake Louise
3,046 reviews
1.0 mi away
Paradise Lodge & Bungalows
Paradise Lodge & Bungalows
#2 of 10 in Lake Louise
755 reviews
6.8 mi away
Moraine Lake Lodge
Moraine Lake Lodge
#1 of 10 in Lake Louise
784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Post Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Post Hotel & Spa

Address: 200 Pipestone Rd, Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta T0L 1E0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Lake Louise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Lake Louise
Price Range: $286 - $401 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Post Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Post Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Post Hotel And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing