We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise at Louise”
Review of Post Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Post Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Lake Louise
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 4, 2010

To begin with, this is not a location for visitors traveling on a budget. This hotel is for upscale travelers that value the finer things in life. The head chef continually puts out fantastic dishes night after night. Spa is a great retreat from the daily stresses in life. Service from the staff is stellar! Finally for all the wine aficionados, the list is one of the best I have seen, PERIOD. Contrary to the negative reviews, this hotel will meet all the needs of the affluent traveler.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Monty03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,011)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

803 - 809 of 1,011 reviews

Reviewed February 17, 2010

My wife and I spent a 3 night President's Day / Valentine weekend at the Post Hotel & Spa. We wanted a quiet and relaxing winter retreat and were very happy with our choice. We had a Post Lodge Suite which was located in the historic section of the Inn. There appears to be 7 of these suites located on the 2nd floor (they also appear to be similar to the "M" suites in the newer section; sans the balcony and extra bed). They are all similar in size and amenities. The main floor has an ample foyer, a nice size bathroom with a Jacuzzi, double sinks, a and separate shower. There is a comfortable sitting area (see pics.) with a wet bar, wood burning fireplace and stairs leading to a sleeping loft. The loft itself has a half-bath, King bed, window seat and closet. All very comfortable.

The suites span the width of the historic section with the lower levels looking out on the skating rink, parking lot, and on to the mountains; and the lofts looking out to the individual cabins, the river, and the ski area in the distance. Everything was covered in snow and I can't fault either view although a preference would be the river view if you were staying in the newer section (pic.). As mentioned in previous reviews the Trans-Canada rail line is not far from the Inn on the parking-lot side but we found the sight and sound of it rather pleasant and not an issue in the least. Of course this was winter and we had the windows closed but even in the summer I don't think it would be a deal-breaker.

The public spaces were exactly as pictured on their web site. The Lobby was open and airy, looking out onto the ice rink (pic.), and had Tea Service in the afternoon. The Library (pic.) was a hidden gem on the 2nd floor and accessible at the end of the hall in the historic section. We probably wouldn't have known it was there if not for it being close to our room. The Lounge (pic.) was a great place to have a light lunch and wine by the fire.

The restaurant (pic.) was very nice with good service, excellent food & wine and fairly hefty prices. It looked out onto the ice rink and the skaters. The Pub was what you would expect - dark, with well-worn comfort, a roaring fire, and a good selection of pub-grub. A great place to watch the Olympics with congenial Canadians (go figure, they were all over the place :).

Most of the staff are there on Young Worker Visas and are from Europe. All were very accommodating and a pleasure to talk to.

There were convenient shuttles to Banff (great town worth a review all by itself ) and to the nearby slopes. The Chateau at Lake Louise and all that it offers (much) was about a 15 min. drive. As a side note the Post has it hands down over the Chateau when it comes to ambiance ( nice place to visit - wouldn't want to stay there). - we were very glad we made the choice we did.

We had some minor glitches in regards to housekeeping, but not worth making a fuss over.

We highly recommend this as a relaxing winter getaway. We plan on trying it again in the summer.

Additional Traveler Information: Lake Louise is about 2 hours from the Calgary Airport. If you are returning to the States be sure to allow for extra time to clear exit customs. It took us about 45 min. Most airlines close check-in 1 hr prior to departure. Don't get there at the last minute and expect to make your flight. The Rental Car check-in is at the airport so that helps. Also Trans Canada Highway 1, as it goes through Calgary, is stop-and-go and could be congested during rush-hour.

An additional note would be that both the Lake Louise and Banff areas are located within the Banff National Park and there is a $20/day fee if you are driving, payable in advance at the park entrance.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank pkad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2010

My family stayed at the Post Hotel for one great night. All three of us loved the property and its amenities. The area of Lake Louise is peaceful and beautiful and the Post Hotel is so quietly elegant. This hotel is truly a great place to get away.

We had a suite with a king size bed, a twin bed, living area and bathroom with whirlpool tub and separate shower. Everything worked well and was clean and the king bed was really comfy. The pool was nice, the on-site skating rink was great and we all enjoyed the food in the Post dining room and the Outpost Pub (the pub offers restaurant food and children are allowed). All restaurant staff at both establishments were wonderful about a food allergy.

I also went for a massage at the spa. It was just divine.

Thank you to the Post Hotel for a wonderful little getaway for my family.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JoTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2010

Not pretentious at all. Clientele clearly monied. No night life at all. After six hours of skiing you don't need night life. Not much for teenagers. Front desk staff are incredible. Great first impression. Suites with fireplaces are very comfortable. Food was very good, but not exceptional,. This anecdote will tell you all you need to know... we went to breakfast the first morning of a six day stay and after spending $23 apiece for breakfast, we asked for cream cheese. Fairly quickly they delivered two modest pieces of cream cheese and then outrageously charged $4 for the cheese. Please. Spending $550 a night, $150 for dinner with wine, charging for cream cheese. Suffice to say we ate somewhere else for the next five days. That $4 cost them nearly a $1,000

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank beachrestaurantfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2009

An exceptional property in a very special location. The room was comfortable, the dining was amazing, and the hospitality was way beyond expectations. They made us feel as if we owned the place. In fact, we spoke to one of the owners at dinner and he wanted to make sure everything had exceeded our expectations. Every detail was accounted for and then some. I can't imagine how it could be rated anything other than perfect. After and extremely lengthy trip at many properties all we could think about was The Post Hotel. The Canadian Rockies has much to offer, the lakes, the rivers, the fantastic hiking, but none better than the comfort and memories of The Post. Thank You for making this our best vacation ever.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SanDiedoBackpacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2009

The Post is one of the nicest hotels I've stayed in. It's surrounded by mountains and the air is crisp and alpine. When we opened our French doors we could hear the wolves howling. This hotel has a distinct Swiss feel to it. The beds are very comfy, with soft feather pillows. The room decor is classic and simple, the bathroom is stunning, and the bathrobes are the best. I would definitely stay at this hotel again. It is small, intimate and charming.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nwmouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2009

After touring 2 weeks in West Canada, we spent the last 2 nights at the Post Hotel in Lake Louise before traveling back home. We actually liked all the hotels and B&B's during our stay, however, this one stood out in quite many ways. First of all, it was very good value for the money. The food was great (both breakfast and dinner), the rooms spotless and there's that special kind of "old charm" that spreads around the hotel. Most of all we have been impressed by the 2 owners (2 brothers from Switzerland who have been managing this property for over 25 years). I've never been in a hotel where the owners/managers have been so visible. They made sure all is going well, took time to sit down with guests to chat, instructed staff and extended a warm Welcome the minute we had arrived (we actually bumped into one of them while searching our room). Many of the staff are Swiss nationals whom we felt were well-mannered and went "the extra mile" to make their guests comfortable. I was actually surprised that the young man at the reception knew my name after the first day, although it wasn't him who had checked us in. These are the small little differences that , in my opinion, make an impact. Last but not least: The Post Hotel has been around for a while and the rooms are not the most modern ones. However, this hotel definitely makes it up by many small details that you don't find in "ordinary places".

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cri0423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Louise hotels
0.2 mi away
Mountaineer Lodge
Mountaineer Lodge
#4 of 5 in Lake Louise
1,442 reviews
1.4 mi away
Deer Lodge
Deer Lodge
#5 of 5 in Lake Louise
1,765 reviews
1.7 mi away
Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Lake Louise Inn
Lake Louise Inn
#3 of 5 in Lake Louise
3,122 reviews
7.2 mi away
Baker Creek Mountain Resort
Baker Creek Mountain Resort
#3 of 10 in Lake Louise
907 reviews
6.8 mi away
Moraine Lake Lodge
Moraine Lake Lodge
#2 of 10 in Lake Louise
788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Post Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Post Hotel & Spa

Address: 200 Pipestone Rd, Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta T0L 1E0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Lake Louise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Lake Louise
Price Range: $281 - $452 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Post Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity and Cancelon so you can book your Post Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Post Hotel And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing