We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection in the Canadian Rockies”
Review of Post Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Post Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Lake Louise
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pa
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Perfection in the Canadian Rockies”
Reviewed June 23, 2009

Our family just spent a week at the Post Hotel, using it as our base to tour the awesome landscape of YoHo and Banff National Parks.
The hotel fully deserves a five star rating. Every staff member smiled and were helpful at every turn. The rooms were clean, with high quality appointments. We loved our breakfasts, Dinner was as good as it gets. The Spa was attractive and run by real professionals.Yes, the Post is expensive but you are not short changed. It was worth every penny. I wish I could travel around the world and find more places like the Post Hotel. We will be back!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JHD22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

938 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    654
    163
    65
    39
    17
See reviews for
195
510
22
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (273)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2009

I love this hotel. It feels like coming home. There is nothing better than hitting the slopes for the day and then arriving back to luxury, to receive a friendly welcome and tea and cake in the lounge.
The rooms are very comfortable with lovely bathrooms. Housekeeping care for your room extremely well. The staff could not do more to make your stay perfect and nothing is too much to ask.
To top it all off the spa is the prefect place for a pamper or a post ski revive-the Thai stem massage is amazing, and my sisters favourite is the baltic mud wrap. Also, if your lucky enough to be visiting whilst there is a special occasion brunch, go very hungry and prepare to witness genius at work!

  • Stayed April 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sb_travel_bug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romsey Hampshire
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 18, 2009

Had a most wonderful week skiing at Lake louise, the highlight was the most fantastic Post Hotel and Spa. Wake up and early Swim and hot tub, breakfast then Ski (sometimes with the hotel's ski instructor Yves), back for afternoon tea, Hot tub and steam or a trip to the Spa, early beer in the Outpost pub and dine in the World renown restaraunt (try the chef Hans tasting menu) washed down ith the largest wine list i hve ever seen!!
Was so impressed i have booked to go back with my daughters in 2 weeks time!!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SpeedyMuffler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2009

We stayed here for 4 nights as part of a ski vacation, and the hotel is only a 5 minute bus/car journey to the slopes which was ideal. This was our 4th visit and we generally found the service and food to the high standard we had experienced previously. The rooms are very clean, cozy and well appointed. Our room had a comfortable sitting area with coffee table and complimentary fruit bowl, which was a nice touch. The pool/fitness area is lovely and the view from the jacuzzi breathtaking. You might find the temperature of the pool a little breathtaking too (or maybe just 'bracing'!).
We have only ever stayed on the 'preferred' side of the hotel and would recommend spening the extra few $ to reduce the noise from the trains at night. The outback pub is popular with good value casual food. The main restaurant and wine list is expensive, but standards are high and worth it in the evening. However we felt that breakfast was very expensive and there were few tables occupied in the morning even though the hotel seemed fairly busy, so maybe others agree. If you're skiing, it's much better value to have breakfast up at the Lake Louise ski area before you hit the slopes.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SLG29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tidmarsh
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2009

We have been to this Hotel in the past and liked it so much we returned during March 2OO9.

All the staff are most helpful and welcoming and they played a large part in creating the enchanting atmosphere of the Hotel.

Our room was warm and cosy and nicely furnished. We had a lovely stone fireplace with a real fire and a constant supply of logs. There was a comfortable sofa and arm chair with a widescreen T.V. and a large selection of free D.V.D.s to choose from and free Wireless Internet connection in each room. Our bathroom had a Jacuzzi bath and a large separate shower.

The housekeeping girls were very helpful and always kept the room immaculately clean and tidy. A nice touch was the luxury chocolate left on our pillows by them at night and the bottle of water on our bedside cupboard together with a card giving details of the weather for the following day.

We preferred the rear of the Hotel and our room had a large balcony with lounge chairs and a table and chairs with views of the riverside chalets and the sun rising over the mountains and during the morning our balcony was bathed in sunshine.

There is a good swimming pool with steam room, sauna and Jacuzzi. The fitness room and beautician and spa facilities look great but we didn’t try them – perhaps next time!

The food in the Post Restaurant is quiet exquisite and is well known for its fine cuisine and wine cellars, hosting various gourmet and wine producer events. From the moment you pick up the menu for breakfast and feel irresistibly drawn to try everything listed through to dinner when you find difficulty choosing what to eat you find everyone’s taste is catered for. We ate most evenings at the Outpost Pub restaurant. It has a pleasant and informal relaxed setting. The food was extremely good value with quite generous portions.

There is an welcoming/enchanting lounge where there is always a large roaring open fire and comfortable sofas around the bar which is always there to tempt you to pass away a quiet moment to rest and recuperate.

The two Schwartz brothers who own the Hotel have thought of everything to make your stay unforgettable. Complimentary tea and coffee is served in the lobby lounge during the afternoon. There is a dessert trolley available with the most delicious selection of cakes which is impossible to resist. If you are strong enough you can share a portion and it makes you feel less guilty! When the sun is shining you can sit outside on the terrace by the skating rink.

Once of twice a week fascinating informal talks about the wild life in Lake Louise, aimed at both children and adults, given in the Hotel’s library by naturalist experts. Complimentary tea, coffee and delicious homemade biscuits are served.

It is the personal hands on touch the Schwartz Brothers give when they pass through the restaurant talking to guests making sure that they are happy with their room or the food or just making sure they get another cup of coffee. They are often to be seen in the lobby lounge to ask if you have enjoyed your skiing etc. This all contributes to the feeling of a wonderfully caring atmosphere of the Hotel.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BobJohnsonUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 5, 2009

We enjoyed 11 nights with our sons as part of a skiing holiday. What a pleasure it was to return each day to such a relaxing and welcoming hotel. The staff are so polite and helpful. The rooms are really comfortable - we were lucky to have a fireplace with a couple of sofas. There is a spa/pool with steam room and a really well kitted out fitness centre. The restaurant is the best for miles around in our minds, for those wishing a more informal meal, go to the Outpost Pub (part of the hotel) - again great food at bargain prices. Yes - it is quite expensive, but worth every penny.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BerliozWinchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2009

We booked a room with a king size bed so you can imagine our surprise when we were given a smallish room with two double beds. We queried this with the porter and he said he would go and find out what happened. So rather than unpack our bags we sat and waited and waited and waited... after 30 minutes we called down to reception but the was no answer. Then we called the operator and no one ansered there either. Then we walked down to the reception and it was empty. Finally we found someone in the restaurant and she tried to phone for someone to go to reception and help us but she couldn't find anyone either. This was so weird. Eventually we did get someone in reception and she said that king sized beds were subject to availability not guaranteed. We pointed out that we had actually booked a room 'with a king size bed' but this didn't make any difference. At one point she said we had to pay $20 extra to get a king size bed which didn't make sense. If you book a room with a king size bed, wouldn't the rate they charge include the $20 extra ???? Then she said there were no king size beds available which seemed even weirder since we still hadn't seen any other guests in the hotel and the carpark was empty. So we settled for the 'room with a king size bed' with 2 double beds and spent the weekend walking around the two double beds.

The other thing to realise is that this hotel is on the train line. Well not quite 'on it' but a few metres to the left of the train line. When a train comes through at 4 am it feels as though you really are right on the train line though. They are incredibly loud and long - it must take 10 minutes for the train the pass by.

How's the serenity ? A linen truck came at about 8 am and parked out the front of the hotel and left its engine running while the driver went in to do his pick up/drop off. It was loud and who knows why the driver had to leave the engine running - was he worried the linen would freeze ? And why do delivery trucks come to the front of the hotel - isn't there a loading dock ? Anyway, after listening to the truck engine for 20 minutes (the driver was probably searching for hotel staff - we know that feeling) we called down to reception to suggest that they get the driver to turn the engine off... but you guessed it, no one ansered the phone. By this time we were wide awake so we just got up and started our day.

Apart from these human deficiencies it was a nice enough hotel. The decor is 'flowery' (I think someone else called it 'chintzy') but it was very nice and very clean.

This hotel is expensive and has the 'name' coz everyone talks about it but I won't stay there again.

I didn't think the food in the restaurant was anything special. It seemed to be like the gluggy starchy over cooked stuff my grandmother used to make. If I'm going to pay a lot for food I want to be surprised and delighted not being reminded of my grandmother's cooking.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ajay99Ottawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Louise hotels
0.2 mi away
Mountaineer Lodge
Mountaineer Lodge
#4 of 5 in Lake Louise
1,319 reviews
1.4 mi away
Deer Lodge
Deer Lodge
#5 of 5 in Lake Louise
1,633 reviews
1.7 mi away
Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Lake Louise Inn
Lake Louise Inn
#3 of 5 in Lake Louise
2,650 reviews
0.1 mi away
HI Lake Louise Alpine Centre
HI Lake Louise Alpine Centre
#5 of 10 in Lake Louise
266 reviews
1.0 mi away
Paradise Lodge & Bungalows
Paradise Lodge & Bungalows
#2 of 10 in Lake Louise
703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Post Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Post Hotel & Spa

Property: Post Hotel & Spa
Address: 200 Pipestone Rd, Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta T0L 1E0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Lake Louise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Lake Louise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Post Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Post Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Post Hotel And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing