We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”
Review of Post Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Post Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Lake Louise
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 17, 2014

We stayed here in August of 2013. Flew into Calgary and drove to Lake Louise on our way up to Jasper. Unfortunately, we only stayed here one night, but very much enjoyed it. The room was comfortable with a nice balcony overlooking the river. But it's the overall hotel grounds, the river, etc. that we really liked. It's just a beautiful looking hotel, beautiful river, beautiful views of the mountains. Ate at the pub our one night there, which was good. I would definitely recommend it as a beautiful peaceful place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ItsJustMe262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (981)
There are newer reviews for Post Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

480 - 486 of 981 reviews

Reviewed June 9, 2014

Such a treat to stay in this old hotel, with its lovely room and beautiful grounds. The bed was comfort plus, the room warm and the bathroom had all the supplies we needed. Dining in the restaurant was a great experience and the breakfast was fabulous. Door, reception and restaurant staff were all very helpful and welcoming. It was all quite expensive but it was worth it for the experience of this traditional hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JacquiBrianWinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2014

She likes: The proximity to the village (for different breakfast options), the room away from the train and by the river (pay the extra $30-50/night for this), and the friendly and excellent hotel staff

He likes: The pub is connected to the hotel (excellent beer and burgers!!), the afternoon happy hour with coffee and desserts, and this hotel reminds him of his European heritage. He also likes the wet sauna, the swimming pool, and the hot tub-> perfect after a day of hiking and walking.

She's happy; he's happy! Both happy -> what else do you want?

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MISSREENA30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2014

My husband and I stayed here at the end of May 2014 for just one night and we were more than happy with everything at this lovely hotel. From our arrival to check out, we were made to feel very welcome and as if nothing were too much to ask. The first room we were alocated was on the parking lot/railway track side of the hotel and it had a very pretty view of the mountains from the balcony. However, when the first train went past, we were both rather shocked at just how loud it was and, as we always like to sleep with our windows open, were concerned about the impact that this may have on our night's sleep. We went to the front desk, mentioned this to the receptionist and she immediately offered us a room on the creek side of the hotel. Our suitcases were moved for us with minimum fuss and the non-feather bedding that I had requested before our arrival was also changed efficiently. We found the beds to be very comfortable and the two armchairs in the room really meant that we could chill out and look through our photos during the evening. The bathroom was very luxurious, with a spa bath and fabulous toiletries, including bath salts. Initially we had issues connecting to the wifi, but in our second room, which was nearer to the lobby, we connected at all and had great connection speed. We didn't eat in the hotel, as we felt it was a little on the expensive side, but we did have cocktails in the lounge bar and found the ambience and service to be exceptional. All in all, we were very happy with our time at the Post Inn and would love t have stayed longer. Maybe if we had been on the side of the parking lot, we would have felt differently, but our room with a view of the creek, as well as the comforting sound of the rapids, made for a lovely stay.

Room Tip: Unless you are prepared for some rather loud train noise, I would definitely recommend a room on the...
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Diane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2014

The bathroom was the nicest part of this room. It had a jetted tub and nice tile work. The room was very dated, stuffy, with a very hard uncomfortable mattress. The balcony over looked the parking lot. The walls were thin and we heard a lot of noise from the room next door. For $260 I expect a lot more.

Room Tip: Don't over look the parking lot.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank laedanville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2014

We stayed here a few years ago on 2 separate occasions. Our first stay was in an "L" Suite and our second stay in an "N" Suite. Both were lovely but I preferred the "L" suite.
Our visits were in the winter and the front lawn had been flooded and turned into an absolutely beautiful ice rink. Watching our kids learn to ice skate amongst the fairy lights was priceless.
My husband and I had dinner in their award winning restaurant and loved it. Definitely a first class dining experience.
The best part of our whole experience was the welcome we received from the reception desk on arrival. After a very long flight and then drive, being welcomed by name as I entered the hotel sets this gorgeous lodge apart from many other hotels.
We will stay here again, and would not choose to stay anywhere else in Lake Louise.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank FourSkiers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2014

This beautiful hotel in the Rockies was everything a top hotel should be. The rooms were very attractive and comfortable. The bed and bedding were high quality too, so sleep was easy. I am disabled and the staff were very helpful about my mobility scooter. The grounds were beautiful, and a river ran along the perimeter with a charming wooden footbridge. There was plenty of parking.

The restaurant was superb. Needless to say, the tableware was excellent, as was the menu. It was very expensive though, so we had one slap up meal there, then ate at cheaper places near the hotel.

This is the only place in my Canadian trip where properly boiling water was available for tea. The other hotels had coffee makers in the room, but getting boiled water for tea wasn't possible, so this hotel leaves me with fondest memories on those grounds. (The hotel in Saskatoon didn't even have a kettle in their own kitchens or anywhere else on the premises). I also suggest that fellow tea drinkers take their own teabags as the hotel's teabags were very weak, even when I used two in a cup. And be prepared to bring or buy your own means of boiling water such as a travel kettle or an immersion heater.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Louise hotels
0.2 mi away
Mountaineer Lodge
Mountaineer Lodge
#4 of 5 in Lake Louise
1,397 reviews
1.4 mi away
Deer Lodge
Deer Lodge
#5 of 5 in Lake Louise
1,723 reviews
1.7 mi away
Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Lake Louise Inn
Lake Louise Inn
#3 of 5 in Lake Louise
2,933 reviews
1.0 mi away
Paradise Lodge & Bungalows
Paradise Lodge & Bungalows
#1 of 10 in Lake Louise
741 reviews
0.1 mi away
HI Lake Louise Alpine Centre
HI Lake Louise Alpine Centre
#5 of 10 in Lake Louise
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Post Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Post Hotel & Spa

Address: 200 Pipestone Rd, Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta T0L 1E0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Lake Louise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Lake Louise
Price Range: $287 - $359 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Post Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Post Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Post Hotel And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing