We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Swiss Style in Canada”
Review of Post Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Post Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Lake Louise
Certificate of Excellence
Germany
Level Contributor
60 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Swiss Style in Canada”
Reviewed October 31, 2013

The Post Hotel & Spa is part of the Relais & Chateau collection of fine independent hotels.
It is located in the small town of Lake Louise, it is about 15 min by car to the Lake Louise.

The rooms were clean, yet a little outdated. The lobby is very cosy, the public areas are well maintained, there even is a guy whose only job is to care for fresh flowers every day.
The owners are swiss, and so the restaurant has lots of swiss food available.

To choose the room is a little tricky. The rooms to the south are cheaper, yet they face the parking lot and a railway line, while the rooms to the north face the river. I prefered my room to the south for the great views on Mount Temple and the afternoon sun on my private balcony.

The noise from the railway line might be too much for some people, these should look for a room on the north.

I stayed 5 nights and felt very comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Canyonlands2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

909 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    629
    163
    63
    37
    17
See reviews for
191
489
21
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hungerford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
270 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Outstanding amongst the top class hotels we stayed at during a month-long trek across Canada. From arrival to departure, service was excellent. Accommodation and tranquility as expected. Food and service exemplary. Only slight bore was tramping above our bedroom in early hours one night but not repeated. Cigar Room a treat; would that it survives the bureaucrats' attentions.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hunger4d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Although this is a medium sized hotel it feels cosy and welcoming - inside there are cosy couches in front of roaring fireplaces; outside the river runs through the grounds - either sit on the porch or leave the door is open and listen - if you're not relaxed after all that then book a session at the spa, you need help :)

Rooms are large and have an outdoor area - the cabins looked wonderful!

The rail road is close - on the other side of the river (I did watch a freight train go though during the day, but either nothing went past in the night or it didn't wake me! Either way it wasn't a bother).

What really stood out was the food. Two restaurants on site - fine dining upstairs and a snug bar downstairs (which uses the same kitchen as upstairs). I had Thanksgiving dinner in the bar and was wowed by it!

Internet is free, breakfast is not included. Spa and pool on site.

Short drive up to Lake Louise (hotel has shuttle, so no need for the car if you want to leave it behind); short walk to the village shopping area and visitors information.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GypsyJax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelan, Washington
Level Contributor
84 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

We went into the library bar for and after dinner drink and had a beautiful glass of Honig Cab. The bartender was so helpful and let us taste a couple of wines before we settled on the Honig. We did not stay at the hotel, but wished we had. The cottages next to the river looked so nice, we will be back to stay.

Room Tip: The river cottages are lovely, a bit pricey, but worth it. The rooms in the lodge looked great also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We just had the most wonderful week-end at the Post Hotel. We booked the Gourmet Package and we were spoiled! Lake Louise is full of tourists and we enjoyed getting back to the Post for some quiet and enjoyed tea in the lobby. The breakfasts were most enjoyable and excellent value - the portions were generous and we were not hungry until supper. The six-course dinner with wine pairing was exceptional - a must-do for anyone who enjoys exceptionally prepared meal. The service was impeccable and yet friendly. The bed and pillows were very comfortable. We are looking forward to going back soon!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AusiliaP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
106 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Believe it ~ it is immaculate, the service exceeds expectations, the bed is exceptional from linens to mattress & pillows. We comfortably left the doors open to enjoy the sounds of the river and the fresh air. Although we were not on the parking lot side, we did hear the train and found it charming. The fireplace was set each day so we could enjoy it each evening, along with the fresh fruit and chocolates. Thank you for the bottled water provided each day for our hikes in all four National Parks.!! We spoiled ourselves with a suite while our family stayed next door in another room. ALL was lovely and service was perfection.

We made the right choice, the Post is so much finer than staying in one of those huge hotels with the crowds in and around the place. Just the thought of the busloads of tourists each day made me grateful we could enjoy the Post Hotel instead.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Art_L0ver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chula Vista, California
Level Contributor
69 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2013

I can not say enough wonderful things about The Post Hotel and Spa. My husband wished we had stayed at least a week. The staff is fabulous! The rooms are perfect! The food fantastic! We stayed here after reading other reviews and we are so glad that we did. The drive to Lake Louise is very short and it was nice to stay away from the crowds. Thank you to the previous reviewers. You were spot on with your high marks for the Post Hotel and Spa!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CherBear123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Louise hotels
0.2 mi away
Mountaineer Lodge
Mountaineer Lodge
#3 of 5 in Lake Louise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,258 reviews
1.4 mi away
Deer Lodge
Deer Lodge
#5 of 5 in Lake Louise
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,557 reviews
1.7 mi away
Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Lake Louise Inn
Lake Louise Inn
#4 of 5 in Lake Louise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,395 reviews
7.2 mi away
Baker Creek Mountain Resort
Baker Creek Mountain Resort
#3 of 10 in Lake Louise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
1.0 mi away
Paradise Lodge & Bungalows
Paradise Lodge & Bungalows
#2 of 10 in Lake Louise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Post Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Post Hotel & Spa

Property: Post Hotel & Spa
Address: 200 Pipestone Rd, Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta T0L 1E0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Lake Louise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Lake Louise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Post Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion and Hotwire so you can book your Post Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Post Hotel And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing