We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old World Charm”
Review of Post Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Post Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Lake Louise
Certificate of Excellence
Spokane, Washington
2 reviews
“Old World Charm”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

One of the nicer hotels I have stayed at. Excellent staff. Very comfortable rooms. Spectacular Lounge. Excellent dining and menu. And the best shower I've experienced in years. Akin to per-conservation days. Aaaaaahhhhhh. Old World charm at a very reasonable price. You get what you pay for these days, and The Post delivers. Not a destination for the budget-minded, but if you want to splurge every now and again, this is a place to do it! Sundries walking distance, and only a short drive to the Lake.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

921 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    640
    162
    64
    38
    17
See reviews for
194
496
22
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Michigan
Level Contributor
107 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

My wife and I have been fortunate enough to have stayed in some lovely places throughout the world. On a recent hiking trip to the Canadian Rockies, we stayed at the Post Hotel in Lake Louise for four nights. The Post Hotel will easily fit into our top ten! It is elegantly understated, aesthetically pleasing, warm and inviting. Our suite (O-preferred side) was spotless and lovely. After 5-7 hours a day of spectacular but taxing hiking, I cannot tell you how wonderful it was to return to the Post! Their staff is friendly, efficient and spot-on professional. The combination of the Post's ambience and its stunning location made us think we were in Switzerland several times! (The owner-brothers are Swiss as a matter of fact, and we enjoyed meeting and speaking with them.) Another huge plus to the Post is of course their dining room. We ate dinner there two nights in a row and were thrilled with both meals and service. This is world-class first rate dining. They pride themselves in obtaining the freshest and most local ingredients available. The waitstaff is very knowledgeable on the menu choices and the Post's 29000 bottle cellar, and their service is seamless. Do not miss the opportunity to dine here! In closing I need to give them one last accolade and that pertains to their spa. After a difficult and very cold (and snowy!) hike, my wife and I availed ourselves to the use and ministrations of their beautiful spa and its staff...an afternoon slice of heaven, let me tell you! The Post Hotel on every single level is stellar and we look forward to returning.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

I won't add to the long list of positive comments from other reviewers about the Post Hotel and Spa except to say that it offers excellent accommodations and dining in a beautiful location. The hotel is well maintained, the staff attentive and the beds are very comfortable.

One suggestion, however. If you are planning to avail yourself of the spa facilities or even if you might be tempted by a massage, facial, pedicure, etc. I strongly suggest that you book your treatment at the time of your reservation to avoid disappointment. We didn't and being a weekend and the hotel busy there were no bookings available to us during our stay. A mistake we won't repeat.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SnowbirdsAlberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minchinhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

This was an excellent, top quality hotel and we had a large comfortable room with a terrace near to the river. The staff were polite and helpful and service was impeccable. Certainly somewhere to stay for longer than the one night we had booked, with the only negative (probably because of the very relaxed, casual mood we were in) being the somewhat pretentious and high priced nature of the main restaurant. There is little choice for food in the area so we went to the "pub" in the grounds of the hotel. Great atmosphere and excellent service, but unfortunately the food didn't match...we had the most tasteless lamb ever, but I suspect we were unlucky that night. The breakfast next morning was excellent. It is an easy 2 minute walk through to a small shopping area, and the surrounding scenery is wonderful, especially Lake Louise itself.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
COLO
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

our second trip to this hotel. Love it! The afternoon tea is amazing. Four star restaurant does not disappoint. The service is excellent. Ask for a second floor room for more privacy (also do the preferred side) There was a wedding party there who was a bit loud, but what a great spot to celebrate!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ColoJan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ennis, Texas
Level Contributor
184 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

This is possible the best Hotel we have ever stayed at. The service is perfect, the rooms are excellent and the staff is always exceptional. The Hotel owner always seem to be on the property and cares if you enjoy your stay. The restaurant is also five stars, for both food and service, the atmosphere is exceptional also

Room Tip: Book early as they are often booked, recommend recommendation for the restaurant for the same reason...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donald W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
169 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

We spent 3 nights at the Post. We were on the riverside (preferred side) and had no problems with train noise. Our first floor room looked out the backyard toward the Pipestone River, with a gentle river sound when we had our patio door open. The bed and pillows were quite comfortable; housekeeping was excellent. The front desk was helpful when needed. We quite appreciated the Swiss cooking with breakfast of Rosti potatoes as we travel frequently to Switzerland. We had one special dinner at the restaurant (see my review) which was also excellent. Don't miss the afternoon tea (complimentary) in the lobby area with a great view of the mountains. The hotel was intimate and luxurious without being large and impersonal. The location was good for trips to Lake Louise as well as other excursions down the Bow River parkway and the CA1. A great base for a perfect visit to the area. One of our most enjoyed stays at a Relais & Chateau property.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Cal_Travel_Lover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Louise hotels
0.2 mi away
Mountaineer Lodge
Mountaineer Lodge
#4 of 5 in Lake Louise
1,281 reviews
1.4 mi away
Deer Lodge
Deer Lodge
#5 of 5 in Lake Louise
1,592 reviews
1.7 mi away
Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Lake Louise Inn
Lake Louise Inn
#3 of 5 in Lake Louise
2,523 reviews
0.1 mi away
HI Lake Louise Alpine Centre
HI Lake Louise Alpine Centre
#5 of 10 in Lake Louise
264 reviews
1.0 mi away
Paradise Lodge & Bungalows
Paradise Lodge & Bungalows
#1 of 10 in Lake Louise
682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Post Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Post Hotel & Spa

Property: Post Hotel & Spa
Address: 200 Pipestone Rd, Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta T0L 1E0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Lake Louise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Lake Louise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Post Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Post Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Post Hotel And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing