We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very relaxing”
Review of Post Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Post Hotel & Spa
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Lake Louise
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 3, 2013

our second trip to this hotel. Love it! The afternoon tea is amazing. Four star restaurant does not disappoint. The service is excellent. Ask for a second floor room for more privacy (also do the preferred side) There was a wedding party there who was a bit loud, but what a great spot to celebrate!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ColoJan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,005)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

539 - 545 of 1,005 reviews

Reviewed October 2, 2013

This is possible the best Hotel we have ever stayed at. The service is perfect, the rooms are excellent and the staff is always exceptional. The Hotel owner always seem to be on the property and cares if you enjoy your stay. The restaurant is also five stars, for both food and service, the atmosphere is exceptional also

Room Tip: Book early as they are often booked, recommend recommendation for the restaurant for the same reason...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donald W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We spent 3 nights at the Post. We were on the riverside (preferred side) and had no problems with train noise. Our first floor room looked out the backyard toward the Pipestone River, with a gentle river sound when we had our patio door open. The bed and pillows were quite comfortable; housekeeping was excellent. The front desk was helpful when needed. We quite appreciated the Swiss cooking with breakfast of Rosti potatoes as we travel frequently to Switzerland. We had one special dinner at the restaurant (see my review) which was also excellent. Don't miss the afternoon tea (complimentary) in the lobby area with a great view of the mountains. The hotel was intimate and luxurious without being large and impersonal. The location was good for trips to Lake Louise as well as other excursions down the Bow River parkway and the CA1. A great base for a perfect visit to the area. One of our most enjoyed stays at a Relais & Chateau property.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Cal_Travel_Lover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We spent two nights at the Post Hotel in early-mid September. The hotel is very charming and extremely clean. We enjoyed the lovely room and beautiful grounds and found the location to be quiet and convenient with the mini-mall and restaurants close by.

Our room was on the railroad track/parking/"non-preferred" side of the building. We enjoyed hearing the trains and that our room had a view of the mountains. We were in an "E" class room, which had a small patio area with a table and chairs.

The staff was friendly, the bed was very comfortable, and the bathroom very nice.

The cost was extremely expensive ($330 per night) and I have a hard time justifying it despite all of the positives. With few other good options in the area, we reluctantly paid it. We did not want to incur the cost of the restaurant but tried the pub, but it was overcrowded.

Room Tip: Almost all of the rooms have a balcony or patio, but a few don't so check. The railroad/parking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sniper33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

We spent four nights at the Post Hotel while exploring Lake Louise, Banff, and the Icefields Parkway. Our room was spotless and comfortable with a welcoming bowl of fruit and a fire laid in the stone fireplace. Our balcony had a great view of the mountains, a wonderful place to relax after a day of hiking. There was a small shopping area in easy walking distance. We were satisfied with the two meals we ate in the Pub, but our best dinner was the one in the hotel restaurant. The food and service were exceptional. It is easy to see why they have consistently earned four diamonds.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FLwalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Very pleasant , small wooden decor , small pool , jacuzzi . Nice food at the small pub attached . Very cosy , absolutely spotless , spacious rooms , very comfortable beds and wide bathtubs . The staff is very good .

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank DafnaG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

This is a high-end hotel, part of the Relais & Chateau group (Wiki it for a description). As a result, you can expect a high price, a great facility, and the above-average service that comes with the price tag and the association with R&C. In some respects, this hotel lived up to that and in others, not so much.

I thought the staff were fine. The lobby is quite nice, lodge style. Check in was a breeze, they ran us through the facilities and off we went to our room/cabin. We stayed in the Whitehorn Cabin, which was, as others have pointed out, quite small, smaller than it appears in the photo. The cabin is well-appointed with a fireplace, but overly crowded with furniture in an already small space. In addition, a little thing like no shelving in the bathroom for toilet articles is somewhat off-putting given the CAD330-plus per night price tag. Additionally, though the cabin is free standing, it is close to all the other cabins and the rear window faces the main hotel, a loss of privacy.

The hotel is in a beautiful location right on the river. However, I would not describe it as, one reviewer noted "alpine village" but rather upscale rustic(?) high end log cabin community(?). Please note these are not complaints, but just trying to give a better idea of the appearance. Also, that appearance is for the rear of the hotel, facing the creek, the so-called "preferred" side. The "discounted" side runs you about CAD40/night less, and gives you a view of the parking lot and noise from the railroad not so far from your main hotel building window.

We opted to eat in the pub, rather than the restaurant. The food was acceptable pub grub with an attentive waitress and acceptably-priced drinks. Nothing to write home about. It may have been a mistake to skip the restaurant, given the many fine reviews, but I thought it rather expensive and somewhat limited. Besides, we were tired after a flight to Calgary and a 2 hour drive to Lake Louise and a high-end restaurant probably wasn't in the cards anyway.

Given that this was intended as a stopover on the way to Jasper, it is possible I did not do enough at the hotel to fully appreciate all of its charms. As a result, I am torn between a 3 or 4 star rating for the hotel. The extra money spent to be on the "preferred" side is definitely worth it, but that extra $$$ comes with the expectation of more from a property, in my opinion. So, I'm going for 3-stars because of the small cabin, the rear window thing, and the average pub, and all because of the high price. Also, the fact that I don't think I would come back to this hotel for another stay (and I will be back to the area), sealed its 3-star fate.

Room Tip: You should stay on the "preferred" side. You have to decide whether it's worth it to y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Warwick Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Louise hotels
0.2 mi away
Mountaineer Lodge
Mountaineer Lodge
#4 of 5 in Lake Louise
1,429 reviews
1.4 mi away
Deer Lodge
Deer Lodge
#5 of 5 in Lake Louise
1,752 reviews
1.7 mi away
Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Lake Louise Inn
Lake Louise Inn
#3 of 5 in Lake Louise
3,038 reviews
1.0 mi away
Paradise Lodge & Bungalows
Paradise Lodge & Bungalows
#2 of 10 in Lake Louise
755 reviews
6.8 mi away
Moraine Lake Lodge
Moraine Lake Lodge
#1 of 10 in Lake Louise
783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Post Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Post Hotel & Spa

Address: 200 Pipestone Rd, Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta T0L 1E0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Lake Louise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Lake Louise
Price Range: $286 - $401 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Post Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Post Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Post Hotel And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing