We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay for a special holiday”
Review of Post Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Post Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Lake Louise
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We have just enjoyed 2 nights at the post hotel and spa in Lake Louise and thoroughly enjoyed it. When we arrived the porter, Andrew took us to our room, but unfortunately, it wasn't as nice as we were expecting, having thought we had booked on ' the preferred side' of the hotel, but we were facing the railway line, and the room was too dark. However, Andrew was intent on getting us a better room, and we were delighted with the time and trouble he took to ensure we were happy! Our room was gorgeous, facing the river with the most comfortable bed we' d slept in this trip, and a log fire set up ready for use. One tip, the 'pub' serves food that comes from the same kitchen as the fine dining restaurant upstairs, and is better priced and a more relaxed place to spend the evening. One of the waitresess told us where the best road to see a bear, and the next morning we were thrilled to see a black bear by the side of the road,having his breakfast! Would have appreciated a coffee maker in the room, given the class ( and price!) of the hotel, but made the most of the complimentary coffee available early morning and afternoon. Would definitely recommend the post hotel, and hope to return there for a longer stay.

Room Tip: Web site isn't that easy to ensure you get a preferred side room, e-mail hotel before you book t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank onlyturnsleft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,010)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

599 - 605 of 1,010 reviews

Reviewed June 17, 2013

We recently celebrated our 50th wedding anniversary with a stay at the Post Hotel. The quiet elegance and excellent service could not be beat. Personal touches such as champagne and chocolate covered strawberries along with a personal hand written card from one of the owners greeted us in our room. It only got better. The dining room staff and the food was outstanding. Very attractively presented with superb sauces. If we had known this we would have planned to stay more than one night as we didn't have time to experience any of the spa services.
A & J

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Jmg G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

The service was amazing, food was incredible and view was spectacular! I will definitely be coming back soon! There is a really nice village full of shops and cafes within a km. The hotel has a very comfortable library, with a fireplace, books and games. The location is very close to so many trails and a river.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a deck or patio if in summer, the view is unbelievable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

You cannot beat the setting of Post Hotel. It is nestled among beautiful mountains right in Lake Louise. The hotel is more on the expensive side but they have nice little touches. Hotel staffs were very friendly and helpful. Hotel staffs were nice enough to let us know the weather is expected to rain next day, so we rushed and viewed the major sites quickly on the first day. The only drawback is hearing the train rumble on - but can't be helped.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 777happy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

The hotel is in a great setting with views up to the ski slopes of Lake Louise. Our room had an open log fire that was prepared for lighting every day, along with a large water jet bath tub in the bathroom. The staff were very friendly and not just attentive but anticipated your needs. Came back from a run and was offered bottled water by the doormen. When leaving they helped load the car and offered coffee to go. Afternoon tea (free) served daily in the comfortable reception area. Great Spa treatments.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AWorldVoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

This is not a hotel for budget travellers. If you reserve one of the standard rooms you will be disappointed and not be getting your money's worth. They will put you in a room on the main floor facing the parking lot and you'll wonder why it cost 300.

If on the other hand you are willing to spend enough to get one of the rooms on the third floor with a fireplace on thepreferred side, you will love this hotel.

Otherwise the hotel is lovely with great amenities. The people are helpful and friendly. We enjoyed the tea in the lounge (tea is free and pastry is extra).

I would avoid eating at the outpost. It wasn't bad but you can do much better at the station restaurant. We did not eat at the dining room as children were not welcome (most of the people staying at the hotel were well over 40).

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Cavandash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

I vacationed here in May for 4 nights (solo), and it was everything and more than I expected. It's a lovely property situated in a most idyllic setting: you could not ask for a hotel with a better view in any direction! From the moment the attendant opens the door for you, it's clear that the management put a premium on meeting the customers' needs. My room was well-appointed, which included a wood-burning fireplace which was carefully stocked and ready daily - very cozy! Don't look for a surfeit of amenities, but it was more than adequate and the room was clean. I especially appreciated the elegant bathroom. The rail line is adjacent to one side of the property, so do choose the "preferred" side (as I did) if you're sensitive to moderate train noise. The hotel is in Lake Louise Village, with a choice of restaurants and shops nearby. Note that breakfast is not included, so you'll pay $20-25 CAD per person in the elegant restaurant on the premises. For a cheaper option, a small cafe just a stone's-throw away in the Village serves all standard breakfast fare for half the price of the hotel. I found the hotel staff not only very professional and attentive, but also very engaging on a personal level. I think this is THE place to stay in the Lake Louise area.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ScannerGFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Louise hotels
0.2 mi away
Mountaineer Lodge
Mountaineer Lodge
#4 of 5 in Lake Louise
1,458 reviews
1.4 mi away
Deer Lodge
Deer Lodge
#5 of 5 in Lake Louise
1,779 reviews
1.7 mi away
Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Lake Louise Inn
Lake Louise Inn
#3 of 5 in Lake Louise
3,241 reviews
7.2 mi away
Baker Creek Mountain Resort
Baker Creek Mountain Resort
#3 of 10 in Lake Louise
928 reviews
6.8 mi away
Moraine Lake Lodge
Moraine Lake Lodge
#1 of 10 in Lake Louise
790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Post Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Post Hotel & Spa

Address: 200 Pipestone Rd, Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta T0L 1E0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Lake Louise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Lake Louise
Price Range: $285 - $605 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Post Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Post Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Post Hotel And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing