We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Post Hotel & Spa
Nearby Hotels
$719
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Kootenay Park Lodge(Kootenay National Park)(Great Value!)
$246
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$417
$405
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$272
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$333
$306
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Banff Aspen Lodge(Banff)(Great Value!)
$363
$345
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$490
$378
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Plus Siding 29 Lodge(Banff)(Great Value!)
$381
$319
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,048)
Filter reviews
1,049 results
Traveler rating
727
187
71
43
21
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
727
187
71
43
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswine cellargourmet packageturn down servicepipestone rivertrain noisewood burning fireplacefacing the parking lotmain restaurantbath saltscanadian rockiesevery afternoonadirondack chairsbow riversteam roomfavorite hotelworld classlight sleeper
Filter
Updating list...
651 - 656 of 1,049 reviews
Reviewed March 29, 2013

What a greta experience staying here was. We did a road trip from Toronto to Alberta and stayed a night in Lake Louise. The Lake is breathtaking. Our room was on the second floor and had a fireplace. Very romantic. The view is amazing, surrounded by mountains. The pool area was very nicely done and very quiet.

The most outstanding aspect of our 1 night visit to the Post was our dinner. We had caribou and buffalo for our dinners. I can not adequately describe the exceptional meal we enjoyed. From the wine the sommelier recommended to the dessert that completed the experience this was by far the very best meal my wife and I have EVER experienced. The service was perfect, everything was as it should be for a romantic meal in one of the most beautiful settings in the world.

Room Tip: Get a fireplace room, well worth the price.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank SirC_LadyDD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

I spent the day at the spa while my friends went skiing (couldn't go due to injury), and had a fantastic experience. I did the same at a hotel in Banff last weekend and was very dissatisfied (see my other reviews). This spa is lovely - private hot tub and eucalyptus steam room in the changing rooms, which are spotlessly clean and have every amenity you can imagine. The lounge is very comfortable, the only comment I would have is the lack of reclining chairs. Tea, coffee, water etc all available and staff always plumping up the pillows and offering you more tea. Magazines, waterfall and fireplace too. The treatment rooms are comfortable and my massage was very good - the masseuse very accommodating for my injury. The hotel pool is also available to spa guests and also has another hot tub with lovely mountain views and a co-Ed steam room. Also spotlessly clean. I had a bite to eat in the bar afterwards and was also very pleased with the service and quality of food. Roaring fire was kept alight by staff tirelessly bringing more wood. I would definitely stay at this hotel if I was in the area.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
3  Thank charlotteJimmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

The Fairmont Chateau may be more famous but the Post Hotel is the best quality hotel in Lake Louise. As you would expect from Relais et Chateau, the staff are discreet and well trained, the rooms are pretty, comfortable and well fitted out and the public rooms are spacious and welcoming. We were a group of 4 friends who ski together for a week each year and we like our creature comforts but we also want good value for our money. As we had a whole week we enjoyed the benefits of the hotel - lovely pool and spa, cosy fire lit bar, excellent and on demand van service to the slopes - practically to ourselves. On Friday the hotel started to fill up and over the weekend it appeared full. So if you want the buzz, come on the weekend, if you want tranquility come during the week. The restaurant is of a very high standard, and the wine cellar holds an impressive 29,000 bottles according to the history of the hotel on the wall. However, we found it a bit rich for our blood for every night and we found our way to the pub bar, also located in the hotel but reached only by putting on your boots and going outside, where there was a limited menu of more informal fare in a room with a large fireplace. In fact our only complaint all week was that we wished there were more places to eat, which is not really a criticism of the hotel so much as of the resort itself.

Room Tip: If you like trains ask to sleep on the non-"preferred" side and you can hear when they occasionally go by, especially if you open your window. If you think trains will bother you, ask to sleep on the "preferred" side. There are also individual riverside cabins which can be booked for real intimacy.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LondonPetunia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

We checked in Sunday for 2 nights, the place was very quiet and it was like we had it to ourselves. This is was our second time here, and we requested the King with fireplace on the "preferred" side. It is certainly quieter than the "train" side. We did the "Gourmet Package" which included a 6 course tasting menu with wine, and 2 breakfasts (and a 500ml bottle of wine and fruit basket in the room). This is a great value since gratuities and tax is included in the package price. The jacuzzi in the room worked great (bath salts are a nice), plenty of wood, and the higher-end soaps & shampoos were a nice touch. You also get robes and slippers. It's also nice that they have a coffee station on each floor, so you can just go get a cup of coffee or tea (no other options, and there is not a coffee/tea maker in the room).

6 Course dinner & wine was amazing. We were disappointed in the breakfasts, they chef doesn't know how to poach eggs medium. One morning the whites were runny, the next morning they were way over cooked. If your going to charge $17 for eggs, you better know how to poach and egg!

We hit the pool, spa, steam room in the afternoon, and we were the only people there. The pools sparkled and were very clean (& the hot tub was perfect after a day of skiing). Tip: They keep their steam room off, so make sure you turn it on when you get there, since it takes >30 minutes to heat up.

Bring your skates, the hotel has a skating rink right off the main lobby. We did visit the Pub one night, but just left, they only had 2 beers on tap. The Lobby bar was great for drinks, and had a roaring fire with comfortable seats. They also have a limited menu, we ordered a pizza, but the dough wasn't cooked through, so it was soggy and doughy. The main lobby has tea time from 2-5pm, but we didn't partake.

If it wasn't for the improperly cooked eggs and the under cooked pizza, I would have rated this 5 stars. The rooms have the "rustic" feel, but they were very comfortable and having a real fire was very nice. Great place to go for a romantic getaway, since the dining room was amazing!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TheCriticalTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

This hotel welcomes us back each year like we are family ! It is just a special place! Staff is professional but friendly. Dining is excellent. The bar is so inviting with the fire going and the beautiful scenery. We love the Post Hotel and Spa so much !!!

Room Tip: choose the preferred side of the hotel unless you are going in winter....train and parking lot on the non preferred side can be a bit noisy....
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RobinAveryArtist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews