We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“A Gem in the Canadian Rockies” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Post Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Post Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Lake Louise
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“A Gem in the Canadian Rockies”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

I go to the Post Hotel once a year, and love the staff, service and this hotel.
Sure the train is loud but you are in the Rockies and the railway system is part of the history.
We have a Condo in Canmore and guess what- the trains are loud there as well.
The railway station (now a restaurant) is within walking distance and the drive to Moraine lake is awesome.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aft43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

868 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    598
    156
    60
    37
    17
See reviews for
176
467
21
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (253)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

We had been RV camping and decide on the Post for a nice meal out. We were not in our Sunday go to meeting clothes but we were in no worse turn out than any of the other diners. The Maitre d' was stuffy, pretentious and unwelcoming. The waitress was stiff but attentive if not well informed about the food she was serving. The menu is extensive and although not imaginative presented itself as first class. The food was disappointingly ordinary. Seasonal vegetables were a mound of over cooked yellow beans with bacon. The roasted potatoes were dry and appeared to have been kept in a warming pan too long. My husbands buffalo was fine but my fillet did not have the reduction the menu said it came with. The wine list is excellent. My coffe was luke warm but the waitress kindly made me a fresh pot. At $250.00 the bill was ridiculous. At that price I don't want to afford a second chance.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Heather D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

We were staying at the Chateau and the concierge recommended dinner at The Post. I was so pleased, I couldn't have had another meal in the Saloon Bar. Dining options at the Chateau at this time of year seem to be limited.
Dinner at The Post is at the other end of the spectrum....it was magnificent. My son had a bison steak, my husband had caribou and I had salmon. All beautifully prepared and cooked. Lovely atmosphere, open fire, great staff. Our waiter Stefan was knowledgable about the wines (the cellar is incredible...25,000 bottles) and the menu. The dinner was a highlight of our trip, we loved it.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank BF2_2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cochrane alberta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

This is a very expensive hotel. I paid over $300.00 for a very average room. I was looking forward to a Jacuzzi bath in the morning but it was not working. The beds are hard, the trains are loud and I should have spent a few dollars more to stay elsewhere. I won't be staying again, nor will I be recommending this overpriced very average hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank dan k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
233 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

We had the pleasure of staying here over Christmas, it was expensive but worth every penny. We had a lovely room with terrace and fire on the top floor with a fabulous view through the snow covered trees to the skihill The public areas were beautifully decorated and the staff excellent. This place has a personal charm that the Chateau certainly does not. It was nice to visit the Chateau but lovely to return to the Post knowing our snug room awaited us. We had a beautiful meal (one of the best I have experienced) on the 28th and were very well served by Michael including a visit to the amazing wine cellar! Thank you for making our stay so special,My only gripe was the pub which we visited for dinner on Christmas Day where the special was turkey Unfortunately this was slices of meat atop mashed potato with a few sprouts, nothing else! well if that's how you celebrate Christmas in Canada I am staying in London!!

Room Tip: The top floor at the back had a stunning view and was very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skinsid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
140 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

Spent 6 nights at the Post Hotel - my previous three stays were more than 6 years ago. The Hotel is frankly amazing. The decor, maintenance and attention to detail are extraordinary. While the rooms are well furnished, there are wonderful public places to hang out in, including a well equipped library with fireplace, many books and games. Housekeeping is thorough; the turn down service can include, if required, a full redo of the room - towels, cleaning, etc. The front desk is very helpful with ski and sightseeing arrangements and has a huge collection of excellent dvd movies if the satellite offerings don't sate. Breakfast options are excellent - though the cold buffet could use a little higher quality fresh fruit and $10 for oatmeal is a bit much. Afternoon tea by the skating area is a delight - with the beverages complimentary. The dining room is one of Canada's finest and lives up to its reputation with very well executed food, discreet service and excellent wine choices. The informal pub in the basement shares the same kitchen, has solid offerings, though the service when we were there was spotty. The hotel has an immaculate pool, hot tub and exercise room. The proprietors are on site a lot and seem totally on top of it; it means a lot in this era of soulless luxury hotels.

Years ago when one US dollar equalled 75 Canadian cents the Post Hotel was a deal. Now it is just good value for a great experience.

This was a family trip so we did not take advantage of the man cave accessed from the restaurant for cigars, scotch, after dinner drinks. The setting and ambiance suitably impressed my teenage son and drew after dinner guests from the Fairmont up at Lake Louise while we were there.

Room Tip: There is a variety of room options, inlcuding loft suites for families with working fire palces. So...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChicagoFamilyGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

We love the Chateau at Lake Louise but this was even nicer. $380 a night gets you a nice room with a wood-burning firplace, a nice view of the mountains, and great service. If you want to have a special dinner the restaurant there is superb (somallier and all), yet the pub is also fun. Some nice nooks and crannies where you can relax. Wish they had skates you could rent to try out the ice rink out front. The entire staff was very friendly. Just a short trek to the Bow River for a wonderful hike. Had a great couple's massage. We definitely plan to come back again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Enduro338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Louise hotels
0.2 mi away
Mountaineer Lodge
Mountaineer Lodge
#3 of 5 in Lake Louise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,145 reviews
1.4 mi away
Deer Lodge
Deer Lodge
#5 of 5 in Lake Louise
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,437 reviews
1.7 mi away
Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lake Louise Inn
Lake Louise Inn
#4 of 5 in Lake Louise
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,918 reviews
1.0 mi away
Paradise Lodge & Bungalows
Paradise Lodge & Bungalows
#1 of 10 in Lake Louise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 678 reviews
3.7 mi away
Moraine Lake Lodge
Moraine Lake Lodge
#2 of 10 in Lake Louise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Post Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Post Hotel & Spa

Property: Post Hotel & Spa
Address: 200 Pipestone Rd, Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta T0L 1E0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Lake Louise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Lake Louise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Post Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Post Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Post Hotel And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing