We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel”
Review of Post Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Post Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Lake Louise
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 23, 2011

We booked the Post hotel in preference to the Fairmont Lake Louise as we wanted something "different", having just come from the Banff Springs. Upon arrival we were delighted to find ourselves upgraded from a "preferred side" room to a suite (room 225 in the main building. This is a lovely room, spacious and luxurious. Initially the keys failed to work in the door so I wandered back to reception - which was busy. However, we were then assisted personally by the owner (the problem was with the keys not us!). The complimentary wi-fi was appreciated (although the access - via a portal - was a bit clumsy). We didn't eat in the restaurant as we have had a bit too much "fine dining" of late, instead going to the Outlook pub one night (cosy and friendly, good service, okay food) and the Station Restaurant the next (historic, comfortable, good food, amateur service). However, the adjoining bar was comfortable with good service.

We didn't use the spa or pool either, but they certainly looked impressive. All in all, a lovely, well located hotel.

Room Tip: Book direct with the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EbbishamTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,011)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

752 - 758 of 1,011 reviews

Reviewed June 22, 2011

The Post Hotel was just what we needed: A beautiful, semi-wilderness getaway from city life, but with many of the comforts of home.

We stayed in the Whitehorn Cabin by the river. Adorable structure, excellent location, just steps from the main building, but different enough to feel special. We stargazed from our immaculately maintained little "yard" at night, fell asleep to the soothing sounds of the water flowing nearby, and during the day, sat in the adirondack chairs watching the scenery and admiring the flowers blooming on the cabin window ledges.

Unfortunately, we pulled ourselves away to do sightseeing all around Banff, and wish we'd spent more time enjoying the property. We didn't get to use the pool or hot tub or other hotel amenities, but these areas looked nice.

The cabin was cozy for two, with a comfortable bed, nice wood-burning fireplace, sofa seating, and a small bathroom. Our biggest complaint was that the room smelled fairly strongly of fireplace soot, especially when we awoke the next morning (and despite ensuring the flue was open). It's possible the issue has since been fixed by chimney sweeping?

We also had a couple other hotel residents peeking in our windows during the day to check out the cabin, although privacy wasn't a significant issue. The furnishings were fine, but a bit outdated and not particularly attractive. Staff expertly prepared our fireplace wood/kindling for us each day.

The common areas were well-maintained, and the hotel desk staff were abundantly friendly and helpful, taking plenty of time to map out hiking trails, activities, etc. Parking was easy in the large, free lot. As city folk, we did find ourselves a bit leery of imagined bears in the darkness as we walked around at night.

We had dinner one night in the hotel's acclaimed fine-dining restaurant. The food was quite good and well-prepared, and wine options were plentiful, although neither stuck out as particularly one-of-a-kind exceptional. The service was good, but we were a bit frustrated that the waiter was reluctant to make recommendations, even when we pressed for them.

The location of the property was well-positioned for sightseeing, access to town amenities and overall seclusion. We paid around $350/night during the shoulder season, which is a bit of a splurge for us and for staying in the wilderness, but in this case, a worthwhile one.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank finickytripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2011

I can't recommend this hotel highly enough. The rooms are super comfortable and the bed one of the best I have ever slept in. The bathroom is simply luxurious. Massive jacuzzi hot tub in the bathroom of the room I was in. Free wiifi was perfect. Parking free too.

The spa and gym were fully equipped and in perfect condition. Everything worked and was clean and new.

The location is fantastic alongside a flowing river with a 5 minute walk to the Lake Louise Mall/Shopping Center. Lake Louise itself is a 10 minute drive up the mountain but I prefer to stay away from the crowds and visit the sites at my leisure. Breakfast was scrumptious. A veritable feast with huge choice either buffet or a la carte. (N.B. if offered fresh juice as you sit down this is not part of the buffet price but additional).

I never managed to have dinner in the main restaurant (which I gather is fantastic) but because I got back so late from taking photos every night I went to the Outpost Pub on 3 different evenings.

Nothing was too much trouble for the staff and they were ALL very helpful and courteous.
I would go back in a flash and stayed for 5 nights having only intended to stay for 3!
I can totally understand why they are part of the Relais and Chateau group. They deserve it and if you are after a more personal experience with a family run hotel then this is your place.

Room Tip: It doubt it matters. They all looked amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MARINAROSEK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2011

Booked this little gem from afar and upon arrival, really delighted. I completely enjoyed the rustic and welcoming elegance of this property along with the really pleasant staff and international staff. The lobby area is very inviting with views of the property in comfy chairs ~ the perfect spot to sit and read the paper or a good book in the morning or evening. This was a little treat trip for my mother who lives in Calgary, so my 10 year old daughter and I shared a double room with her and felt like we were in great shape. The room itself is not large, but it is pleasant, cozy and restful. The beds are very comfortable and have nice linens and really nice comforters. The bathroom is very nice with a jacuzi tub and up to date sink area with plenty of nice fluffy white towels. The pool, steam and exercise areas were enjoyed, especially on the cool, rainy evening on which we arrived. We appreciated the turn down service, complimentary chocolates & bottled water while we were at dinner.

We ended up dining in the Outpost Pub, which is attached to the Hotel but accessible from outside. It was very casual, but the staff were friendly and accommodating and we enjoyed the traditional French onion soup along with a glass of wine. There are TVs on the walls and a fire place ~ thought it would be wonderful in the winter after a long day skiing. There is plenty of kid friendly options as well as a home made soup of the day and fresh specials. A decent wine list and selection of local beer and cocktails is offered and the staff were willing to accommodate requests.

Although this lodge type hotel is older, we found it to be very clean and well maintained for its age. The grounds are very inviting with lush plantings of summer blooming color and manicured grass lawns along with white adirondack chairs about. To me it is the quintessential alpine experience. I am anxious to come back and stay in one of the little cabins next to the meandering river which have their own wood burning fireplace. I'm also anxious to try the lovely restaurant next time as well.

Another bonus ~ complimentary WiFi from your room ~ just ask for a password at the front desk. There is also no parking fee at this hotel. Really, I thought it was great value.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Canafornian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

This first class hotel gives you a feeling of a cozy mountain lodge with all amenities you can imagine, fabulous, European accented food and beverage services and the owners are actually there to greet you, and if it's not upon arrival, they will catch up during dinner or at breakfast the next morning; dining at the Post is a must.

Room Tip: ask for a room facing the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fin_de_Mina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

From the check-in to departure you are treated extra special at the Post. The food is outstanding and their wine list is very comprehensive. Thanks again for a wonderful visit...we will be back next year!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tnixon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2011

We stayed at The Post Hotel on our way to Galgary after spending a day at Jasper. It was a bit of a challenge to locate the hotel initially due to a lack of proper signage (even though it's just located just next to the main road and a river). But once you've overcome this, the experience is impressive.

On the day that we arrived, there was a huge tent erected in the carpark and we had to park our car quite a distance away and were not able to unload our luggages in front of the lobby. However, the bellboy was quick to notice us and push a trolley all the way from the main reception area to where we parked our car to assist us.

The check-in was smooth and the bellboy (his name is Julian if I'm remember correctly), who assisted us, showed us to the room and explained every single detail from the services and the switches in room to us. And this guy is only an intern with the hotel!

The room is not decorated to my taste ( a bit on the old side) but it was very comfortable. The bathroom has its own hot tub and a comprehensive range of Aveda toiletries (and they actually provide shower gel when most other hotels do not even provide such basic toiletry).

We wanted to dine at the restaurant but found it a bit stifling to our liking (there was a wine event in the restaurant and everyone was rather well dressed). Before we left for our dinner in town, we checked with the restaurant manager whether breakfast would be served. We were told by the restaurant manager that they were not serving breakfast due to the wine event in the hotel but this was not what was communicated to us at the front desk when we checked in. A communication mishap between the restaurant and front desk.

The hotel provides turn down service (this really differentiates the god hotels from the mediocre ones).

The next morning, we took some time to use the gym facilities and the pool. There is a hot tub just and a communal steam room besides the pool.

On the whiole, it was a great experience.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank QCInspector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Louise hotels
0.2 mi away
Mountaineer Lodge
Mountaineer Lodge
#4 of 5 in Lake Louise
1,459 reviews
1.4 mi away
Deer Lodge
Deer Lodge
#5 of 5 in Lake Louise
1,783 reviews
1.7 mi away
Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Lake Louise Inn
Lake Louise Inn
#3 of 5 in Lake Louise
3,247 reviews
7.2 mi away
Baker Creek Mountain Resort
Baker Creek Mountain Resort
#3 of 10 in Lake Louise
929 reviews
6.8 mi away
Moraine Lake Lodge
Moraine Lake Lodge
#1 of 10 in Lake Louise
790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Post Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Post Hotel & Spa

Address: 200 Pipestone Rd, Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta T0L 1E0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Lake Louise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Lake Louise
Price Range: $285 - $621 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Post Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz and Cancelon so you can book your Post Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Post Hotel And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing