We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy and anything but Peaceful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Paradise Lodge & Bungalows
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 21, 2013

We stayed for 7 nights in the Temple Suite as we wanted the space and king bed for a week stay. First, the staff is professional, friendly & somewhat helpful. Also, it was nice to have an assigned parking space. And the property is quaint, decorated accordingly, comfortable and in a good location in proximity for our daily hikes.

However, this location is directly on a main road to Lake Louise, as in RIGHT ON THE ROAD. The traffic noise is EXTREMELY LOUD: a steady stream of cars, trailers, motorcycles & trucks.

Before booking, I was told there was only noise during the day, A COMPLETE LIE (thanks for the honesty)!. On arriving in the late afternoon, we sat on the balcony only to be immediately driven off by the smell of exhaust and noise. We tried again that evening with still too much noise & exhaust. By the second day, we gave up.

Just as bad, the are only 2 windows to open (no air conditioning). One is on the road side & we learned right away we could not leave it open. The other window still faces the road, but a little further away but no better noise wise and could only leave it open while not there. Even with windows closed, it's LOUD. This goes on ALL NIGHT. It gets better in the wee hours of the morning, but it never completely stops and is at full traffic again by 7am. And it doesn't matter what day of the week it is.

Living in the Southeast, we have hot-and-humid-with-a-million-mosquitos, so booking this suite was to be a real treat: hike all day, then sit on the balcony all evening in the cool mountain air.

Talk about feeling RIPPED-OFF???? And the mattress? Very poor quality.

What's really ironic? There is a "noise ordinance" on the guests!

Room Tip: there are many "cabins" but only a few in the back that are not as affected by the street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank jogrant2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradise L, Owner at Paradise Lodge & Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2013

Thank you for your review . If you are unhappy with your stay after the first night we would suggest you bring it to the attention of management at that time. We can always attempt to accomodate changes in reservations if we are made aware of them.

We always do our best to make sure all of our guests have the best experience possible.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (759)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

374 - 380 of 759 reviews

Reviewed September 20, 2013

This is a very nice and quiet place, the bungalows are very comfortable and each bungalow has a parking place. The staff is professional. The only thing I didn't really appreciate is the fact the kitchen is in the same room as the bed, and when you cook in the evening, you can smell the cooking afterwards. The room is very large and clean. the bathroom is very large and clean too.

Room Tip: The Peyto cabin has a kitchen, which is convenient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank josette H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

These wood frame log cabins and more modern lodge suites are the ideal blend of old world rustic charm, and creature comforts that traveller's naturally pine for after a hard day exploring the hiking trails that abound.

The wooded property is ideally situated a short distance from the natural, scenic splendor of Lake Louise, with splendid views of the surrounding mountains.

Having just completed a spur of the moment overnight halt at one of the log cabins, and spend multiple earlier trips at the lodge, I marvel at the watchful eye of the long time owners who make sure that everything is functioning as it should. The housekeeping staff's meticulous attention to detail creates a restful, looked after feeling.

All that the guest has to do is relax, enjoy the rustling of the wind,and let the cares of the world drift away. If you want to remove yourself from the hustle and bustle of city life, then the property's name says it all!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pra50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Expensive (but not that expensive by Canadian Rockies standards), but well worth it! We stayed in a second floor bungalow for one night and were in heaven. Very comfortable, clean, and spacious. The grounds are gorgeous and the bungalows are very well appointed - downright dreamy. Location, location, location - you're about 3 minutes from Lake Louise and even closer to the intersection leading to Maligne Lake. Despite this incredible location, it is absolutely serenely quiet and peaceful at night. Great for sleeping, except for the annoying refrigerator located in the kitchen and almost next to the bed. HINT: Since you are so close, it is very easy to get up early and get fabulous photos at Maligne Lake and Lake Louise when the light is perfect, the water is still (incredible reflections) and you have the places almost all to yourselves. SECOND HINT: If you are hiking any of the trails originating at Lake Louise, the Chateau (3 minutes away) has a 24-hour deli at the end of the wing closest to the lake (entrance at the end closest to the lake). Great for breakfast and incredible sandwiches to take on your hike. Nice washrooms too! All in all, you can't go wrong with Paradise Lodge.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank George K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Very nice accommodation! This was not far from Lake Louise and we really enjoyed staying there. The cabin was very attractive and cozy! Great place for relaxing. The price was actually lower than the other comparable properties. We had a great time.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank naturelover430
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We loved this place. It's close enough to walk to Lake Louise, which is handy given the crowded parking lots at the lake. We were in a Peyto cabin, which was very nicely appointed and roomy. The gas stove comes in handy even in August. We didn't have a deck, but there are plenty of benches around the property to enjoy the view. The bathtub was heavenly -- room for two. The staff are incredibly friendly and helpful - they even let us borrow bear spray!

Room Tip: Request a cabin toward the back of the property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank snow_is_old
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We left Calgary for Banff then drove to Lake Louise with no reservations. The origional plan was to stay at Lake Maligne..the Lake is beautiful but we didnt care for the tour buss activity and crowds. After checking out several places we found Paradise Lodge and the Grizzly Cubs. We stayed 4 days. The property is quiet and close to Lake Louise and the Skoki Lodge trail head Our cabin #9 was charming, lodge chic, comfortable and well equipt for small meals. Modern flat screen TV (we never turned it on) and wifi. Beautiful attention to flowers and landscaping...
A big bonus were the two grizzly bear cubs recently kicked out of the nest that liked hiking on the same trails.. They were totally into digging and flipping boulders for grubs..
The only negative is the "loud bathroom fan/vent". When you turned on the bathroom light the fan/vent was a bit noisy ..problem solved by using bathroom in the dark:0)

Room Tip: We preferred the cabins over the lodge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ohminihaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Louise hotels
1 mi away
Mountaineer Lodge
Mountaineer Lodge
#4 of 5 in Lake Louise
1,459 reviews
0.6 mi away
Deer Lodge
Deer Lodge
#5 of 5 in Lake Louise
1,783 reviews
0.9 mi away
Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Lake Louise Inn
Lake Louise Inn
#3 of 5 in Lake Louise
3,246 reviews
7.2 mi away
Baker Creek Mountain Resort
Baker Creek Mountain Resort
#3 of 10 in Lake Louise
929 reviews
6.2 mi away
Moraine Lake Lodge
Moraine Lake Lodge
#1 of 10 in Lake Louise
790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradise Lodge & Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Lodge & Bungalows

Address: 105 Lake Louise Drive | Box 7, Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta T0L 1E0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Lake Louise
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Lake Louise
Price Range: $244 - $369 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Paradise Lodge & Bungalows 2.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Paradise Lodge and Bungalows offers a unique setting of individual cabins and suites in the heart of the Canadian Rockies. Located only 1 Km from Lake Louise and 20 time Alberta Housekeeping Award winner, Paradise Lodge and Bungalows exceeds expectations. Attention to detail and a welcoming atmosphere makes a destination to come back to. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Paradise Lodge & Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradise Lodge & Bungalows Hotel Lake Louise
Paradise Lodge And Bungalows

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing