We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful accommodation!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Paradise Lodge & Bungalows
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 7, 2008

My husband and I stayed at Paradise bungalows for 3 nights during a 2 week trip to Canada. It was by far the best place we stayed at! The bed was so comfy it was difficult to get up in the morning and the fantastic bathroom was much better than you would get in your typical 5* hotel with a huge free standing bath- great for a much needed soak after a day of hiking!

The complimentary coffee and pastries in the mornings in the beautiful cosy lounge was a real bonus as nowhere else we stayed offered anything like this. Even during an overnight power cut in the whole Lake Louise area the staff managed to make everyone coffee!

Don't waste your money staying at the Fairmont- it looks like a parking lot and you'll have loads of tourists wandering around the place. This is a far better option and much cheaper as well!

Recommendations for dinner:
- The Station Restaurant - this has a fancy fine dining option which is rather expensive but it also has a normal restaurant menu and when we were there they had a BBQ on the patio. A bit pricier than some other places but a nice treat and a lovely quiet location.
- Bill Peyto's Cafe - in the youth hostel but don't let that put you off! This place is popular so get there early. Great homemade food and friendly atmosphere.
- The Outpost Pub - this is in the Post Hotel and is hidden away in the corner. Simple menu and good food.

Hikes
- Moraine Lake- Consolation Lakes Trail- walk is a bit boring as is mostly through trees. High chance of seeing bears- check with the info office before doing the walk as you often have to go in groups. Although the walk isn't that exciting it's quite easy and when you get to the end the lake is quiet and peaceful. A welcome respite from the crowds at Lake Louise.

- Lake Agnes - this is an uphill slog (3.5K uphill!!) but you are rewarded with a fantastic view of Lake Louise and there is a delightful tea house at the end of the walk serving homemade cakes, sandwiches and tea. There is another walk up to the Big Beehive but we didn't manage it- it's a steep uphill climb to the top!

I would also recommend the Lonely Planet guide to Banff/Jasper/Glacier national parks as it gives full details of all the hikes, biking trails etc...

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JENTZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (759)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

611 - 617 of 759 reviews

Reviewed June 28, 2008

The accommodation was 1st class all round. Fully equiped top class self catering accommodation. We stayed in the Honeymoon suite which had a jacuzzi in the room and a gas fire and very comfortable furniture in the living area. The views from the room were magnificent.
The accommodation was very clean and spacious. The staff were very friendly and helpfull at all times.
As the accommodation is self catering, no breakfast was supplied, however, fantastic complimentary pastries & tea/coffee were served in the morning.

Would recommend this accommodation and we will certainly be returning.

Niel & Mo Taylor

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nielandmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2008

We were very pleased with our "saddleback suite" at Paradise Lodge and Bungalows. There were two bedrooms each with a queen bed and TV. Please note that one TV is very small. But, chances are, you will be doing very little TV watching.
There is one shared bathroom between the rooms. There is also another sink in the kitchenette area between the rooms. The kitchenette consists of a small refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker.
The rooms very clean, the buildings are well maintained and the grounds are immaculate. The grass was like velvet with "Stay off the Grass" signs scattered around. At check-in, I was asked to initial the fact that there is a $200 fee if you smoke in the room and a $300 fee if you are too noisy.
A continental breakfast was offered in the main building. This consisted of bagels, breads, pastries and some very good apple turnovers.
The location is great since it is right between the Lake Louise townsite and Lake Louise.
I would definitely stay at Paradise Lodge again although I would stay in one of the cabins at the rear of the property. Their back decks offer a mountain view (just ignore the powerline).

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank nancycinti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2008

just got back after staying in the cabin(s) for one week...our cabins were in the very back of the property, so there was absolutely no road noise and the view off the deck was spectacular! The cabins were in great shape and the furnishings were what i call rustic chic...very nice bed linens...the shower had a Grohe showerhead and you had tons of hot water...there was a clawfoot tub in the larger cabin, but did not use it...nice to have the kitchen...the tv got excellent reception (watching the NBA game was great!) we supplemented the muffin/pastry offerings with cereal and fruit we had picked up in Canmore...housekeeping was excellent...reception staff was helpful and pleasant...

i have stayed at the Post and the Chateau on prior visits to this area and can honestly say that this lodging is excellent for the price point...

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank boxerfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2008

After one horrible night in Banff my family and I came to this idyllic place at Lake Louise. Not a noise around, the most wonderful setting and a great breakfast buffet. Stay in Banff if you want crowds and shopping -come here for relaxation and the feeling of being isolated from it all.

  • Stayed: June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank nhnatives
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2008

This is a beautiful & relaxing place to stay.

Close to Lake Louise & the magnificent Moraine Lake (we canoed on this wonderful lake)

Very comfortable, clean, friendly staff - top spot.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2008

Just got back from 5 days at the Paradise Lodge. We were in a Fairview Suite, which was perfect for the two of us. Nice clean rooms and the grounds are very pretty. The kitchen is fully equipped and there is a nice gas fireplace in the room as well.

Staff was great and very friendly. If you are not up to a full breakfast there are pastries and coffee from 8:00-10:00 every morning. I would definitely stay there again! It sure beats the crowds at the Fairmont down the road. You can get to the Lake in less than 5 minutes by car.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank lvstotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Louise hotels
1.0 mi away
Mountaineer Lodge
Mountaineer Lodge
#4 of 5 in Lake Louise
1,439 reviews
0.6 mi away
Deer Lodge
Deer Lodge
#5 of 5 in Lake Louise
1,761 reviews
0.9 mi away
Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Lake Louise Inn
Lake Louise Inn
#3 of 5 in Lake Louise
3,107 reviews
6.2 mi away
Moraine Lake Lodge
Moraine Lake Lodge
#2 of 10 in Lake Louise
788 reviews
7.2 mi away
Baker Creek Mountain Resort
Baker Creek Mountain Resort
#3 of 10 in Lake Louise
900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradise Lodge & Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Lodge & Bungalows

Address: 105 Lake Louise Drive | Box 7, Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta T0L 1E0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Lake Louise
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Lake Louise
Price Range: $238 - $385 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Paradise Lodge & Bungalows 2.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Paradise Lodge and Bungalows offers a unique setting of individual cabins and suites in the heart of the Canadian Rockies. Located only 1 Km from Lake Louise and 20 time Alberta Housekeeping Award winner, Paradise Lodge and Bungalows exceeds expectations. Attention to detail and a welcoming atmosphere makes a destination to come back to. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Paradise Lodge & Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradise Lodge & Bungalows Hotel Lake Louise
Paradise Lodge And Bungalows

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing