We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too pricey for what you get”
Review of Lake Louise Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Lake Louise Inn
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Lake Louise
Reviewed July 24, 2012

Stayed July 2012. The room was dated, not very clean and worst of all smelled of urine. I think we were in the area that they reserve for pets.

We chose this hotel because it was listed in the AMA tourist guide. We didn't book in advance so we may have gotten one of the only rooms available.

I paid more to stay here than I have every paid for a room before and it was probably the worst I've stayed in too.

I wouldn't stay here again and I wouldn't recommend to anyone. If you're spending $175 a night for a room you should at least get one that doesn't smell like pee.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Marlene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,933)
There are newer reviews for Lake Louise Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,224 - 2,230 of 2,933 reviews

Reviewed July 23, 2012

Situated in the small township of Lake Louise, it is close to a few other dining options, but has a lovely restaurant of its own downstairs beneath reception. The room had a pleasant asymmetrical design which was a nice change from the rectangular boxes of other hotels. It was clean and very comfortable, It had a well equipped kitchen, a balcony with a view of snowcapped Mts and best of all, an open fireplace with wood supplied. I gather not all rooms had the fireplace but it’s worth asking for as it created a delightful cosy atmosphere. I thoroughly enjoyed staying here and would recommend it.

Room Tip: Ask for a fireplece
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Melinda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

If you are looking for decent and economical stay in a premium location, this inn would satisfy most. Room and amenities are clean, but very old. It has a historic touch to it and you can feel the age in almost everything. It is in an excellent locaton, right in the middle of Lake Louise town, minutes away from breathtaking scenery. So, if you are looking to spend most time outdoors, with a decent place to sleep, swim (has an indoor swimming pool and hot tub, which we found great), and eat average food (has couple of restaurants), without spending too much, this place is great. But if you are picky about the perfect mattress, new amenities, this inn might be a bit worn out for your taste.

Room Tip: We were able to find the best price through Priceline. If you goto priceline and select Lake Louise...
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Majid S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

This is one of those aging hotels that is still enjoying business because it is in the middle of one of the world's scenic wonders. If it were in Calgary or any other North American city, I'd have demanded my big rental fee back and looked elsewhere. I'm not sure that there IS an elsewhere in Lale Louise....all these National Park places seem to be basking in a sun that dimmed decades ago.
Peeling wallpaper, dripping faucet in the "kitchen", two out of three reading lights not working, roaring water pipes through the thin walls when showers are turned on next door or overhead...sound familiar? It's just like any number of tired places that still draw busloads of tourists because they're lucky enough to be in a fabulous locale.
It's not a dive, it's not filthy or in need of vital repairs. It's just tired, and it would probably take a lot of cash for a substantive makeover.
It may be worth the price to spend some time in such an awesome, inspiring area as this.
But if you do, and you get a unit with a little kitchen area, bring your own food.
The pizza/pasta cafe is dread.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank peripatetic43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

After just coming from Glacier Park and staying in all the lodges with tiny rooms and zero amenities, Lake Louise Inn was a step up - but just one step. Still no A/C here, and no fans available, and very limited open window area, so if it's hot you may have issues.

A fridge was supposed to be available if we asked, so we asked and we were told "We don't deliver fridges to that building." It did have a coffee maker, small-screen TV and wireless internet that worked. The bathroom was actually pretty nice, and looked like it had been recently re-done. We had no problems with musty odors or anything in the room. No problems getting ice from the machine in the building.

Good location - walking distance from Samson Mall, and at least one good restaurant on the property. Expensive for what you get - but it's Lake Louise.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RJay4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2012

The rooms was small Clean. Stuff was ok. Location was good.
The kitchen was poor. We will look for a better place next time

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
2  Thank Aviluvaton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

In the 4 block, otherwise known as The Pinery, no elevators, the sun is streaming directly in the window at 9.00 at night. This room is very hot. I would give the bathroom a 7/10 but the rest of this room is horribly depressing, right down to the 32 inch old style TV. Worst part is this is the first night of two that I am booked here. Please note I am here with my 84yo mother and this hotel is not wheelchair friendly, on the contrary stairs everywhere.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gayle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Louise hotels
0.4 mi away
Mountaineer Lodge
Mountaineer Lodge
#4 of 5 in Lake Louise
1,397 reviews
1.4 mi away
Deer Lodge
Deer Lodge
#5 of 5 in Lake Louise
1,723 reviews
1.7 mi away
Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
HI Lake Louise Alpine Centre
HI Lake Louise Alpine Centre
#5 of 10 in Lake Louise
285 reviews
1.1 mi away
Paradise Lodge & Bungalows
Paradise Lodge & Bungalows
#1 of 10 in Lake Louise
741 reviews
7.4 mi away
Baker Creek Mountain Resort
Baker Creek Mountain Resort
#3 of 10 in Lake Louise
864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Louise Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Louise Inn

Address: 210 Village Road, Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta T0L 0E0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Lake Louise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Lake Louise
Price Range: $104 - $380 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lake Louise Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 247
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lake Louise Inn has the perfect guestroom or suite for your Rocky Mountain getaway. All guest accommodations provide the comfort and convenience of modern amenities like FREE Wi-Fi in a beautiful and rustic mountain setting. Individual room and suite styles may feature kitchens, balconies, patios, fireplaces or Jacuzzi tubs. You can also take in the spectacular mountain scenery through floor to ceiling windows as you relax and unwind in our heated indoor pool and whirlpools. Guests can also enjoy our many dining options, from cozy fine dining at Legends Restaurant to delicious pub style food at Explorers lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lake Louise Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Louise Hotel Lake Louise
Lake Louise Resort
Lake Louise Bed Breakfast
Inn Lake Louise
Lake Louise Hotel Banff
Lake Louise b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing